We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antico Podere Propano
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saluzzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last week and would certainly stay there again. The way that the hotel has been created in this farmhouse is an excellent fusion of old and interesting architecture with modern interiors that offer every comfort. The staff were very helpful and always pleasant. The hotel is also an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sceptered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuly1, Proprietario at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your time and positive comments. Just to update you that now we offer WIFI free and only 3 rooms don't receive it due to their position so if we know before arrival we always assign rooms with this service if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 166 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is set in a nicely renovated old building, on a working farm, on the edge of town. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfasts good and the owners and other staff friendly. The staff provided us with great ideas on how to spend our time in the area. "Old" Saluzzo is lovely, with cobbled streets and medieval buildings. It is a short drive to a castle with wonderful art and to a beautiful Abbey. Several alpine villages are also nearby,with hiking paths along the Po river.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful small city. It is right on the edge of town, within walking distance, but offers the feel of being in the countryside. The hotel is very modern, but retains a traditional atmosphere. Our Jr. Suite was large, very clean and bright, with tasteful, high quality furnishings. The room had two small balconies and overlooked the courtyard of the old farm, where a dog and his three geese "friends" roamed. Breakfast was very nice and was served in a cozy, atmospheric room. The English-speaking owners were gracisous, welcoming and very helpful. On a clear day you have a beautiful view of the Alps from the parking lot. We stayed here only one night, but wish it had been more. We have stayed at many hotels across Europe, and this was one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BooSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I know that you can’t always expect a bath in your hotel room, but as I paid for a deluxe room I wrongfully expected it. There was certainly the room in the bathroom to fit one. I was also disappointed that my deluxe room had a view of the car park rather than the better view of the courtyard. You do get views across the fields, but as the windows aren’t exactly sound proof this is regularly interrupted by the sounds of cars arriving across the stones at various times of the night and day. As the curtains are not black out either, this also meant the headlights would stream into the room during the night.

Although I would have to say that the owner was very nice and the room was very spacious and clean. I also have an issue with hotels that imply I might run away with the hangers by having those ones that are fixed around the rod. Not a problem you might say, but when the rod is not round and the fixing is, so you can’t move the hangers too easily along the rod, I just get a bit annoyed.

There wasn’t a lot going on in the town and it’s not a usual tourist destination, although there are a few really nice villages to visit around and about, Cuneo being one we really liked.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuly1, Proprietario at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

I would like to offer you some advice for future stays in hotels: if you were not satisfied with the room you could have come to the reception and asked for a change of room which if there is availability of course we are more than happy to do as we always like to satisfy our guests. Regarding wanting a bath again what I advise you to do is to request on booking a room with a bathtub or if this is not done on seeing the room you can again go to the reception and request the possibility although we have guests who request showers and not baths - we just need to be informed. I should also like to underline two points:
1) most small family run hotels value their guests requests and if possible are more than willing to help with any made.
2) if complaints are made after the guests stay they can not be rectified and this is a shame for the guests involved.
Please take this as a constructive reply also to help you enjoy future stays in hotels.
Direction Hotel Antico Podere Propano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

My wife and I along with our 3 year old daughter staying in this hotel for 3 nights in the middle of a 2 week France/Italy trip. We had the only suite in the hotel which opened in 2006.

Our overall take was that while the hotel doesn't try to be a 4 star, it is about as good as you are going to get for a 3 star in Italy. Our suite was reasonable size with a nice general view of the courtyard. It was extremely clean and had a very large bathroom.

The staff was great especially the English owner. Get recomendations from her as to good dining as we did.

We liked Saluzzo quite a bit. It is not a large town but seemed to us to have a lot of character.

One little thing to be aware of - we kind of expected per the website to be staying in a hotel on a farm in the country. Yes, it is on a farm but you are withing close walking distance to Saluzzo and next door to a couple of supermarkets. It is very quite and the ground are beautiful but don't expect to be in the middle of the country away from civilization.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

I stayed at Antico Podere Propano in for two nights, in mid-September 2006, prior to my wedding in Saluzzo. A bunch of my friends and family visting Saluzzo for the wedding also stayed there.

Overall, the experiences of myself, my friends and family were excellent. We found the owners (Jean from England and her Italian husband) and their family/staff delightful, efficient, helpful and relaxed. The hotel buildings are stunning. An old (but very well modernised) monastery, I think. Beautiful, with a courtyard, an old well, geese, dog, stables and a horse adding to the lovely, peacful and rural atmosphere. Rooms beautiful & spotless, with lovely modern bathrooms & mix of old/new interior design etc.

They went out of their way many times to deal with a busy, confused(!) and changeable wedding party with good humour and grace. The hotel's prices are comprable to any other similar establishment in the area (and as groom I got an upgrade to a suite for free). They also threw a lovely aperitivo the night before the wedding so lots of guests could get informally acquainted. Lots of delicious local wine etc. at their little bar in the lovely lobby as well.

Saluzzo, the Langhe and Piemonte are beautiful and Antico Podere Propano is absolutely the place to stay, while visiting the area. The only (minor) criticism I could offer is that the owners have yet to build-in a full time restaurant to the facility. Not really an issue when there are so many lovely restaurents around, but a nice, reliable restaurant would definitely push the hotel into the "Excellent" category. Sometimes, perhaps, a tired (and non-Italian-speaking) guest might appreciate the safe option of a hotel restuarant for a stress-free, easy-option, evening meal.... only sometimes however....


Kilian Kennedy
Dublin
Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KilianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We had a wonderful stay at Antico Podere Propano this summer. The hotel is a renovated farm and is a combination of being modern on the inside and full of character from the outside. Our room was great and we had a fantastic view of old Saluzzo and the Alps.
The service was absolutely excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff - who provided us with directions, guide books, restaurant guides etc. On a couple of occassions when we woke up too late for breakfast, they still served us croissants and cakes outside in the beautiful central courtyard of the hotel!
Saluzzo is only an hour's drive from Turin and a great base to explore Piemonte. The nearby Langhe wine region (like Tuscany but less tourists) and the Alpine villages are definitely worth visiting.
Highly recommended hotel and destination

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SalGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saluzzo
0.8 mi away
San Giovanni Hotel Resort
6.3 mi away
Castello Rosso
Castello Rosso
#3 of 5 in Saluzzo
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Griselda
Hotel Griselda
#4 of 5 in Saluzzo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Superga
Hotel Royal Superga
#1 of 7 in Cuneo
658 reviews
13.5 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
665 reviews
22.1 mi away
Ristorante Albergo da Maurizio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Podere Propano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere Propano

Address: Via Torino 75, 12037 Saluzzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Saluzzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saluzzo
Price Range: $110 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Podere Propano 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm Propano, that was owned by the Marquis of Saluzzo, has been transformed into a country hotel “Antico Podere Propano”. It is a charming hotel situated on the edge of Saluzzo surrounded by meadows, the mountain chain of Monviso and the fertile Po plain.The Hotel, placed in a peaceful country setting with all modern comforts, offers an ideal combination to make your stay both relaxing and enjoyable. All the 30 bedrooms are no smoking with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini bar. WI-FI is available in public areas and in almost all rooms. The elegantly furnished junior suites have been designed to maintain the characteristics, dimensions and features of the original building and a ground floor one has been adapted for the disabled. The suite, which has a beamed ceiling, offers a delightful bedroom, a sitting room with a balcony and spectacular views towards Monviso and Saluzzo. The large bathroom has both a walk in shower and bathtub.All the rooms are large and well appointed, most overlook the courtyard and are situated either in the sunny south wing, where the old hay lofts were or in the west wing which was home to the farm’s granary. The south wing rooms are decorated in a refined country manner and have terra cotta flooring; the west wing rooms have a more contemporary style and pure wool carpeting. All the rooms have large and well equipped bathrooms the majority with bathtub and overhead shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antico Podere Propano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Podere Propano Saluzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing