We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and good”

Trattoria l'Oca Bianca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Interesting and good”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've been twice and enjoyed it both times. The menu is a fun combination of goose and more traditional items, and quite tasty. The parking is convenient and the building is a good combination of rustic and pleasant.

Not excellent, but likely the best you can do in Salsomaggiore Terme.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    217
    30
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
250 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“What to say? Give it a try..100% certainty!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have had the pleasure to have a Sunday lunch at this restaurant.
A better choice couldn't be done. amazing!
Excellent atmosphere and location details.
Food: magnificent - torta fritta / gnocco fritto + salumi : one of the best I have ever had
Mezzelune all'oca, if I am not mistaken: exquisite
Dessert: home made cakes and whatever other dessert: cannot be commented...they need to be eaten!!! ,-)

To get back and already recommended!!!!

Your 2012 award was more than deserved!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelersAngelsTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I really loved this little and charming restaurant. The pictures on the website relly don't serve it justice, it's really cosy and perfect both for a romantic dinner but not pretentious so I would go with my kids as well. I had the ravioli with porcini mushrooms... Honestly I was laughing and crying at the same time, I never had something so good! Which went down really well with this wine 'la Borbona', really a revlation. Starter was some goos ham and salami, nice, would have been nicer with some cheese next to it. Had goose as second course, also lovely, but still raving about the ravioli! My hisband had the traditional ravioli, also outstanding despite the pasta was a bit thick. I was there in occasion of a spa weekend at Salsomaggiore, I willdefinitely make the point of going again and highly recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PalliWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant review”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is an up market Fine Dining Restaurant which would not be out of place in Mayfair! Beautiful interior with a covered terrace which extends from the inner restaurant which is split into several smaller dining rooms. The Chef owner Graziano & his wife Cinzia are very gracious Hosts & the food impeccable. The wine list is extensive & reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mario c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“You'd Hardly Know..”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

You'd hardly know that L'Oca Bianca ( the White Goose) is a restaurant at all. It's on the Carpaneto Road between Salsomaggiore and Torrechiara,and from the outside it looks like a nondescript cafe. However, inside the door there are 3 very smart separate rooms followed by a bigger veranda-type space overlooking fields and trees. Very calm ambiance with lots of space around the tables.; We found it because a local wine producer pointed us in its direction.

The food is very good indeed. The star of the show is pressed marinaded goose breast offered as an appetiser/antipasto. It melts on the tongue. Can't be missed. After that there is a menu of inventive dishes, both pasta and mains, based on Parmagiano cuisine but offering interesting culinary twists in ingredients and sauces. Everything is beautifully cooked and presented.

Owned and run by a husband & wife team - he in the kitchen, she on the floor of the house, with good trained staff. Very welcoming too. A decent selection of local wines at reasonable prices, with the addition of more established wines from Toscana and Piemonte.
3 courses add up to about 35 euros without wine or coffee - so your bill should be about 45 euros per person.- and it's worth it.

Good parking directly opposite the restaurant. Well known and popular amongst local people, so it's wise to book in advance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandloretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria l'Oca Bianca also viewed

Salsomaggiore Terme, Province of Parma
Salsomaggiore Terme, Province of Parma
 
Salsomaggiore Terme, Province of Parma
 

Been to Trattoria l'Oca Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing