We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not really a 4 star, rather a 3 star.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Besson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Besson
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
schilde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not really a 4 star, rather a 3 star.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very average standard; small basic rooms, not well maintained spa (is not part of hotel), no bathrobes in the room; you cross the lobby in swimming suits! Food very average. Hotel needs major refurbishment and better maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    75
    27
    15
    4
See reviews for
49
94
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really nice hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, 5, minutes walk to the centre of town,the shuttle service to the ski lift was really good, the spar was also very nice after a day of skiing. I would defiantly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Summary - Great hotel - especially if you can get a deal.

Rooms - Our room was a little small but adequate. From the fire chart it was probably the smallest on the 2nd floor.
Food - Excellent food with good variety. They try to push bottled water but we managed to get tap water. No complementary wine but we bought a couple of bottles each night which proved to be very good..
Other facilities - Bar area was nice with TV which mainly had football on it. The keyboard player could do with broadening his array of songs he can play. Complementary spa facilities well worth using.
Staff - All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, couldn't ask for more.
Location - Stunning panoramic views from hotel. Short walk to the centre of Sauze. Option to take hotels mini bus to Sportina lift or as we did we left our Skis by the Clotes lift and walked up there each day (6-7min walk).
Skiing - Enjoyed the skiing, some very nice tree lined runs and an extensive amount of skiing. Only complaint was that some of the resorts aren't quite as well linked as your multi-village resorts in france.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londerzeel, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Let's start with the positives : excellent and helpful staff; free wellness centre and gym room.excellent location for skiing. The hotel shuttle drops you at the ski lifts. It is only 5 minutes trip. The city centre is at walking distance.

Minors : rooms are clean but too small and a little outdated. The food is not bad but is not what you expect from a 4 star hotel and during tour stay no ambiance in hotel nor in the village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOMINIQUE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week and our first time in Sauze but had come recommended by a friend. From the minute we arrived and I struggled to talk to the cab driver, the first member of staff was out in an instant and translating for us. From the reception staff, to the fantastic people in the restaurant and bar, we were looked after every minute. Hotel wasn't too bIg so felt really cosy. Good location for town and Salvatore the mini bus driver was incredibly helpful and flexible. Rooms were quite small but we didn't spend too much time there. More food than you could consume. Only criticism would be more a reflection on the age of the spa. Great facilities but really needs a refurbishment. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for one week. We got a very good deal as did most people we spoke to at the hotel. The location for us was great. You could get the transportation which the hotel laid on in the morning up to the Sportina Lift or get them to drop you off at the lift in the Centre. We we're told about the option of leaving our ski's for 20 euro's at the bottom of the lift in the Centre which we were going to do but never did as the transportation was much better because it was door to door so to speak without any carrying of ski's and walking in boots! A couple of days we did however ski into the centre for some Apre's and after a few beers we heading back to the hotel with boots and ski's tow.... it was all down hill and took 5 mins to walk and had we had to do this everyday this wouldn't have bothered either of us...

The rooms are ok but more wardrobe space would have been better as our room for the whole holiday did look like a hurricane had hit it... The bathroom was clean and a good size. We did have to request more pillow's because the pillows are very hard and after first night I woke up with neck ache but the hotel was great and we got them straight away.

Food was good... you had a choice each evening and when the food came the plates were just enough to satisfy but if you like massive plates of food you will had better stock up on the salad and desserts....

Drinks... Gino the bar tender was great... really friendly and a pleasure to be around. Drinks are really well price for a 4* hotel.. five and half euro's for a pint was great... we have been going to France for years now and we were amazed at how cheap the drinks were in Sauze!! Cocktails in the bar were 6 euro's bargain!! In the town you would pay 4 euro's for a pint and during happy hour you we're paying 2 1/2 euro's!! Plus most of the place we drank we're bring out free pizza's and nibbles to keep you going....

The pool and spa were really nice after a long day on the slopes. The sauna was fantastic and one of the hottest ones I've been in. The steam room is different and could do with some type of scent plugged into it as it did smell every time I went into it and the jets that shoot in the pool from all angles were great.

We had a great holiday in Sauze and being a Meribel and St Anton lover I have to say that the range of skiing was great with over 400 km of skiing. For intermediate and begineers this is a dream location but if you are an expert and wanting to challenge yourself this is not the place to go. I did find the wanting to get a difficult challenging run but these were hard to find and what they call a black run is pretty much a steep red. We covered the whole range whilst we we're there going from Italy to France and this in itself kept my need for difficult runs at bay as we went out on a ski safari each day and because of the vastness of the range I can only recommend this as a great location to go skiing.

So in summary, Good hotel with good amenities, fantastic range of skiing and Sauze is great value for money location and so much so that we go skiing twice a year and we are seriously consider going back in March because of the value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front as the views are fantastic to wake up to in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Grand Besson is a very nice and clean hotel. Private minibus to and from the slopes is a great bonus. Free spa. Cosy bar with mountain view. Good size bedrooms, not so comfortable beds with rock hard pillows. The only negative for us was the food. Breakfast mid ok, each day same choice. The worst scrambled eggs I ever had- eggs mixed with flour ( cheap trick to use less eggs!!). Poor choice of bread ( not everyone is happy with toasts). Dinner was a bit of a joke. Salad buffet was the worst part of it. If you are happy with boiled, cold potatoes, carrots, greens, etc , then you will be pleased there. There was no effort from the kitchen staff to prepare any salads, everything was cold , separately on the plates. Desserts were also not to our taste. Our 4 course meal was in fact only 2 (eatable) course meal! If you expect fine , italian cousin you will be disappointed! Ahh! and be prepared to pay €2,50 for water at dinner time (they will kindly offer this without saying the price!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella Alpina
Hotel Stella Alpina
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#7 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#4 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#12 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Besson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Besson

Property: Grand Hotel Besson
Address: Via del Rio 15, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Besson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive hotel where you experience the mountains in all seasons, in the splendid setting of the western Alps, for an intense week of skiing, a romantic weekend or to unwind in relaxing the body and spirit in the exclusive Besson Spa re-generation.The Grand Hotel Besson has 44 rooms, elevator, common areas, lounges, bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, panoramic terrace, solarium, ski room, private parking, garage, spa and stunning views over the valley and mountains.Un albergo esclusivo dove vivere la montagna in tutte le stagioni, nella splendida cornice delle Alpi occidentali, per una settimana di intensa attività sciistica, per un week-end romantico in assoluto relax o per ritemprarsi il corpo e lo spirito nell'esclusiva SPA Besson Re-generation.Il Grand Hotel Besson dispone di 44 camere, ascensore, ampi spazi comuni, saloni, bar, ristorante, sale meeting, terrazza panoramica, solarium, ski room, parcheggio privato, garage, centro benessere e splendida vista sulla valle e le montagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Besson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sauze d Oulx
Grand Hotel Besson Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing