We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb all round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Besson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Besson
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb all round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We cannot praise enough the hospitality shown to us by all the staff. Our daughters are vegan; we expected this to be a problem and arrived armed with soya and tofu products in our suitcase. We needn't have worried - not only were they catered for fully, but for the first time ever, they actually had a choice of vegan cuisine at every meal, including cakes and desserts.
All the staff are lovely people and extremely professional - they manage that fine line between being over-effusive yet friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Most rooms have mountain views but it may be as well to specify this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    86
    35
    18
    5
See reviews for
58
101
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We wanted anywhere in Italy and ended up here on a great deal.
My experience of Italian hotels is friendly helpful staff from the moment I walk through the door to the day I leave and this was no exception. Spa was another bonus a great way to unwind.
Excellent food. Plenty of choice from the buffet at breakfast plus a cooked option. Dinner, several options only a painfully fussy eater could struggle with.
The bar is pleasant enough but it is such a short walk to the lively town centre the only time I spent there was an early evening beer sat outside enjoying the sunset,
The Hotel minibus will take you to the ski lift and I think will also pick you up but. We found it easy enough to walk back through the town.
If I return cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistols12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in feb 12 and can i say what a fantastic holiday and hotel, The staff couldnt do enough even down to the receptionist washing some clothes that had got dirty for us. From the front of house through to the bar and restaurant staff every single one made our stay a pleasure. Rooms are clean and tidy and the location is good for both the slopes and the nightlife. All of us (6) who have been snowboarding for many years agreed that this was the best holiday we have had and would love to go back. Personally cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissymox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

stayed at this hotel 3 night in august 2012, i think is a really fantastic hotel is not to far from the town very nice places for walk in summer. The hotel is very welcoming at the reception there is the general maneger is very helpful as also in the restaurant there is Gaitano the head waiter is very professional helps a lot and always nice with diners. The restaurant food was excellent and good menu choice. The rooms we had was nice and warm,I am sure i come back there again

Room Tip: front rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdg1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights skiing trip in Jan 2012.Located at the bottom end of town with approx 10 min up hills walk to the center through the old town streets .Food was excellent and had a nice but quiet bar .Barman Geno was a good friendly guy .Spar was good but there is a charge for its use .Ski bus was very good going up but coming back was very hit an miss ,and always ended up on the main scheduled ski bus which after a 20min tour of the town stopped right outside the hotel .Rooms where clean but small.Overall a good hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stopped at this hotel several times, it is always warm and welcoming.
The rooms are not large but warm and cosy which is what you need after a days skiing.
Food is always good and staff very professional.
When we come to Sauze we would not use any other hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor can have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location! just outside the hotel is a free shuttle bus service which will take you to the bottom of the slopes. It isn't too far to walk either even with skis. It is right next to the beautiful town of sauze d'oulx (1 mins walk) In the town there are some great shops where you can get some fantastic crepes. There is also two ski rental places so not far to go at all to get skis. Breakfast was a bouffet with a lot on offer, unfortunatly nothing much suited my tastebuds so i ended up eating toast every morning. Dinner was better providing a three-course meal. All the pasta dishes was superb but not much else lived up to expectations. Range of pudding choice and varying on niceness. The lounge was very nice and a friendly environment, a perfect place to relax or play cards with a bar right next to it. The rooms were nice all with an en-suite. On arrival we were given no towels but reception was very helpful and 5 minutes after complaining towels were brought up. The shower was decent but rather small and not too powerful. It also ran out of hot water quickly so not great if there are lots of you in a room. The mattreses were also of not great comfort some being camp beds so had huge dents. The hotel had a nice pool but not too much enternainment in the hotel but good entertainment nearby. The hotel in all was very nice and in a superb location but defianetly a low four star. Perfect for skiing though and i would reccomend this hotel to any skiers or snowboarders but not if you weren't going to be out alot of the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perdierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#13 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Gran Bosco
Park Hotel Gran Bosco
#15 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Assietta
Hotel Assietta
#10 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#23 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Besson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Besson

Property: Grand Hotel Besson
Address: Via del Rio 15, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Besson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive hotel where you experience the mountains in all seasons, in the splendid setting of the western Alps, for an intense week of skiing, a romantic weekend or to unwind in relaxing the body and spirit in the exclusive Besson Spa re-generation.The Grand Hotel Besson has 44 rooms, elevator, common areas, lounges, bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, panoramic terrace, solarium, ski room, private parking, garage, spa and stunning views over the valley and mountains.Un albergo esclusivo dove vivere la montagna in tutte le stagioni, nella splendida cornice delle Alpi occidentali, per una settimana di intensa attività sciistica, per un week-end romantico in assoluto relax o per ritemprarsi il corpo e lo spirito nell'esclusiva SPA Besson Re-generation.Il Grand Hotel Besson dispone di 44 camere, ascensore, ampi spazi comuni, saloni, bar, ristorante, sale meeting, terrazza panoramica, solarium, ski room, parcheggio privato, garage, centro benessere e splendida vista sulla valle e le montagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Besson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sauze d Oulx
Grand Hotel Besson Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing