We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Martin
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Enjoyed my stay with friends in March 2012 so much I am returning in late Feb 2013 with my wife. Excellent value hotel. Small and friendly with excellent link via the Jovenceaux lift and Grand piste between Jovenceaux and Sportinia. Only downside is the long steep walk up the hill if you want to venture up into Sauze proper at night- however Max, the owner, does provide a shuttle service up 3 evenings a week. The walk back down is no problem after a few beers!!!!!!! Visited Sestriere prior to the Turin Olympics and skiied Sauze- lifts much better now although still a few drags. Quiet pistes and minimal queues and great Italian ambience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviep_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    43
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
64
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is the highlight with a four course meal every night. Close to the slopes but it is a bit of a hike in ski boots. For 5 euros for the week they will drop you off and pick you up from the chairlift, bargain. Ski accomodation tends to be basic but this is one of the few I would seek out to return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Another fantastic stay at Hotel Martin. Max and the family make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. The food was again up to the very high standard that we have received in previous years. Great location, just a short walk to the Jouvenceaux lift.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went to sauze for a week with my parents and sister and some friends. We stayed at the hotel Martin and it was one of my best holidays! It is a lovely family run place and that makes it so personal! Max is a great guy and he gave us ski lessons as well. The rooms were perfect for what we needed and very clean. There was a safe in the room as well and the rooms were nice and warm when you got back from the slopes.

The food was amazing! Proper Italian food, although maybe too much of it! Always felt stuffed after dinner! The waitress was lovely too. As for getting to sauze, the walk is pretty steep and it does get cold but I don't feel like I've missed anything being a bit further away. There's a free bus that runs every half hour up into the town and max gives lifts up on a Monday, Wednesday and Friday nights. Although we stayed at the hotel because it was such a great atmosphere! The first ski lift is only a 5 minute walk away as well and that lift takes you right up to the heart of the slopes in sportinia. And if you pay 5 euros for the week, Max's dad will give you a lift up to the lift with all your equipment and pick you up at the end of the day.

There's a little shop opposite that will literally have anything you need! Just ask and I can pretty much guarantee she has it hidden under the counter!

I had the most amazing week there and it was so much fun. The atmosphere was great (all of us guests even had a snowball fight with Max's boys), the room was great, I don't think I could fault the hotel at all!

Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmatodd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stay at the hotel martin from 27/01/23 to 03/02/13 where the staff were helpfull food was amazing rooms were clean what more could you ask for on your ski holiday my girl friend is very fussy with her food they accomidated her very well also she broke her wrist whilst on holiday the hotel were more than happy to run her to throw the medical centre when we go sauze d'oulx next this hotel is a definate

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Hotel Martin is one of the best I have stayed in.....the location, and the service were brilliant, but the food especially was better than most high class restaurants. The hospitality and comfort was second to none. Sitting in front of the log fire after a days ski ing was just perfect. The icing on the cake was the fact that guests were driven to and from the ski lift everyday. Thank you to Max and his family for an amazing week. (The ski ing was pretty good too)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family and I have just had a superb week staying at this comfortable and well run family hotel. Max cold not have been more helpful and a mine of information as regards facilities and skiing in this area. The food was amazing first class ilaian cuisine. We also frequented a small bar just a hundred or so yards from Hotel where we were welcomed by both the locals and the lovely lady who runs it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#14 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Besson
Grand Hotel Besson
#13 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Assietta
Hotel Assietta
#9 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Martin

Property: Albergo Martin
Address: Frazione Jouvenceaux 113, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a friendly family run hotel. It is located in the Jouvenceaqux area of Sauxe Doulx which hosted the 2006 Olympic Games.The hotel boasts very fine traditional Italian cuisine cooked to perfection by the experienced chef.The friendly bar has a large selection of italian wines, many of which are sourced locally. It also has a large selection of beers and speciality cocktails.All this can be enjoyed in the atmosphere of the cosy bar which has a roaring fire….The perfect end to a perfect day on the slopes which has a run to suit every level whether you are a complete beginner or enjoy the challenging higher slopes suited to the more experienced skier.It is within 200 metres of the new 4 man chair lift which brings you to the centre of the Sportinia ski school and all surrounding areas of the Magnificent Milky Way…Private skis and snow board lessons can be arranged with Max or Riccardo at the hotel.Hotel Martin can provide a private Mini Bus from Turin Airport direct to the hotel. A direct booking can be made with .Bookings can also be made with Crystal holidays.We look forward to seeing you!!!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Martin Hotel Sauze d`Oulx
Albergo Martin Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing