We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stella Alpina
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were a party of 20 staying here 26 January for one week. We were 3 families and friends. We had a few new people with us, as some of us had been before. We book our trip independently, and Caroline books all our skis, passes etc. Nothing is ever too much trouble at this hotel, Caroline and her staff are all very friendly, which makes for a lovely welcoming atmosphere. The Hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and the hotel has everything you need. There is a boot room just next door to the hotel, so you virtually ski in and out, as the hotel is situated at the bottom of the slopes. We have half board. Breakfast is great, with fresh fruit, muesli, cereals, toast, cheese, ham, yoghurts - basically lots of choice. For evening meal you get a menu with a choice, always good! As I said we were 20 - and there wasn't a moan - but I must admit if you don't fancy something Caroline will get the chef to cook you an alternative. There are games in the bar and a lovely open fire. The girls in our group visited a spa one afternoon, Caroline recommended this, it was great, well worth a visit. The new people in our group also want to return to this hotel, they all had a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have beautiful views of the slopes.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgibbonsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stella Alpina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 235 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fantastic all round hotel. You cannot want for more at the Stella Alpina, the best location in Sauze with the best hosts and the best ski hire as well. The food and bar are brilliant as well. We have visited Caroline and her family at the Stella for 18 years and it gets better and better. Sauze has had recent investment on the slopes as well, mostly for the better, a vast and varied ski area. The Stella offers skiing back to the door in nearly all conditions. We are going again later this week and cannot wait to get to the Stella Alpina again, it is like going away to your home! Over the last decade the resort has calmed down quite a bit, the nights are not quite so rowdy and a good nights sleep is easy as the revellers are no longer out and about all night. Enjoy a taste of Italian cuisine in the hotel, great food every night and Caroline will do everything to cope with all diets and tastes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Stella Alpina between Jan 20th - 27th 2013, and what a hotel!! The hotel is set at the foot of the slopes, where there`s an excellent beginers area with a magic carpet to stand on, so no walking in ski boots, and the hire shop rents out Sleighs which is great fun for the kids and adults! The Ski area is massive, and if you are a beginner there is plenty to learn on and if you are intermediate/advanced there are literally miles and miles to play on! by far one of the best Ski areas i have been too.The hotel has a really cosy Bar called Scots Bar which serves hot food for lunch and is extrememly reasonable and fantastic quality. We stayed Half Board at the hotel, Breakfast was simple continental with cold meat, Bread, cereal and yogurts. Eggs can be ordered each morning if you wanted. Evening meals consisted of Fresh salad bar, starter, main and desert (if you could fit it in). The food was absolutely fantastic!!! excellent quality, hot and delicious. If you found there was a meal that you didnt fancy, just let Caroline know in the day and you can order an alternative, which we only needed to do once. The rooms were perfect for what we needed, comfortable beds and quiet, My only negative is that we only had a shower and no Bath which i do like on a skiing holiday, but this will not stop me going back to this place! The Eydolin ski shop next door which is run by caroline`s family, has great ski`s and boots for hire and i would advise you to book them direct with them and not through your tour operator. If you haven`t already booked to go hear, i would advise you to contact Caroline and her team direct as you can book this way and not have to go through a tour operator. if we hadn`t already booked to go to Tignes next year for a Ski wedding we would be returning here, but instead we will be returning in 2015!!!! cant wait!!!!!

Room Tip: you can get local lift passes only if you are a beginner, so dont listen to any lies that tour opera...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lewisfamilywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have just returned from a week at the hotel with my wife, brother and sister in law. What a brill place to stay. My wife and I stayed in 215 which was a very good sized room with a great speerate shower and toilet room. The location to the slopes was first class with either a short walk up to the Clotes lift or catching the bus (not a great service) directly outside the boot room.

The food was of good quality and the bar facilities are first class with a good apre ski crowd in between 1600-1800 hrs. Heated boot room was a bonus as are the great staff. I would recommend this hotel for its excellent position, 1st class staff and good accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a great view of the slopes but may incure some noise during the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elovabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned after staying 4 nights at the Hotel Stella Alpina. We booked the trip independently and had great communications with Caroline (Hotel Owner) before our visit. We stayed in the hotels annexe which was clean, comfortable and quiet, and just like the hotel, very conveniently located. Situated at the foot of the slopes and the Clotes chairlift, and only a stones throw into the town centre it was practically ski in/ski out without the isolation of being stuck up a mountain. Caroline can arrange everything you'll need from airport transfer to a small discount on lift passes. We stayed half board and found the breakfast and evening meal to be plentiful, varied in choice and in a peaceful and relaxing environment.

We hired our ski equipment from Eydallin Sport (Caroline's husband). We booked the equipment online via the shops website prior to flying out, which was very simple. The equipment was of exceptional quality and competitively priced. The shop is located next door to the hotel and after a days skiing you can store your equipment in the shops locker room (which incidentally has boot warmers/dryers).

Overall we had a great trip and putting to one side the plentiful snow and clear blue skies, this was mainly down to the professional operation of Caroline and her staff. I would not hesitate for one moment to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P41l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a great hotel in one of the best locations in Sauze. Great bar downstairs, good food and warm and comfortable rooms. Bathrooms a bit cramped - but probably not much they can do about these and realistically how much time do you spend in there! Great food and really reasonably price local wines available which are superb. All in all a great choice! Just a pity we feel we've done Sauze now after two visits & another visit when staying in Sestriere - that we will have to wait a few years before going back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zigzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great stay at the Stella Alpina, good not ask for better hospitality, very friendly and helpful staff, great price with discounted lift pass made this a very affordable snow trip for all of us and to get fed well too was a great bonus. We will be coming again most definitely with a few more mates next time. Thanks Caroline, family, Christel and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#12 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petit Bed & Breakfast
Petit Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#8 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Alpina

Address: Via Miramonti 22/24, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#10 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run hotel, suberbly situated at the foot of the slopes. We are happy to arrange everything for you to make your holiday as easy as possible, from transport from the airport to ski hire from our own shop, ski lift passes and ski school. Weekly and short break bookings accepted on both half board and bed breakfast basis. Very family friendly, not suitable for big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Stella Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Alpina Hotel
Hotel Stella Alpina Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing