We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly, helpful and happy place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Colby, Isle of Man
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very friendly, helpful and happy place to stay.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed a good time in the Hotel Splendid during the New Year week. I booked this hotel directly after receiving a competitive quote from Fabiana for 3 of us staying in a balcony room, which when combined with other independent arrangements managed to total a fair deal less cost than booking the package through Crystals Ski. I can also recommend using Roberto from Sauze Taxis for a reliable, pleasant & competitively priced transfer service between Turin and the hotel ... door to door, saves the walk up & down the hill.
The room (309) was nice & quiet thanks to being at the far end of the corridor. It spacious enough, with a great view from the balcony, a good bathroom with a good shower...always with hot water, and warm. It was kept clean every morning by hard working, friendly girls. The same girls work as waitresses in the evening. Despite the long day, the staff were always friendly, smiling, energetic, efficient and well presented. Besides the waiting-on & cleaning staff, I must give a special mention to the special barman, Eddy, who gave quick & friendly service throughout & freely offered advice & information. Also Fabiana continued to give friendly service, help & advice from beginning to end.
The food was plentiful, especially the New Years Eve buffet! Good choice at breakfast and most evenings, although strangely rather bland tasting on a few occasions & served warm rather than hot.
The pool was nice, but the sauna was too small. The location of the Hotel Splendid was fine for us, and overall the 3 of us were very pleased and comfortable staying there, it represented good value and had very good service from all. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rainmann33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    86
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
61
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed over Easter 2012. We found the staff attentive and helpful, particularly Ed in the bar, the rooms were clean and spacious. We left a pair of ski boots at the hotel and the hotel shipped them to us in England free of charge

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DeeQuealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

clean and basic hotel which did the job for our holiday. quiet week in the hotel and always had good service from staff, fellow guests were good fun. Room was large and good hot showers and always clean, shame the balcony didn't have a table and chairs because view was lovely and weather so warm! easy access to slopes, walk up the hill wasn't a huge problem, (good exercise!), although can imagine would be hard with snow on the roads! only main issue for us was the food, it's not usually a massive part of where/why we go away, just want food to do the job and that you can enjoy...breakfasts were as you would hope, plenty of contintental type food (rolls/cereal/fruit/jams) and great choice of tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Dinner however was not so. we are 2 unfussy twentysomethings who are by no means into gourmet cuisine, but like simple, tasty, healthy and fresh food. never quite figured out the huge portion sizes for starters...lasagne AND ravioli on one plate...just for a starter?! for a hungry boy to find that overwhelming says it all!just seemed to be a bit too much cheese on everything, meat was disappointing in quality and there was lack of hot fresh veg. if you are happy with chips or potatoes cooked in oil on your main most nights then you might be ok, but we found we were either having to fill up on bread rolls or went back to our rooms hungry and looking forward to breakfast! apart from that, no complaints at all with the hotel and would be happy to recommend on a bed and breakfast basis!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lkw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Really nice hotel,friendly staff, 100 yards from access to slopes, food very good and free wi-fi. I've stayed here two year on the trot and would recommend it. It is on a hill but its easy my 11 year old did it easily, if you can't manage it you shouldn't be skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deanparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for the second time at the Splendid last week. I'd forgotten how long and steep the hill is up from the village, but no problem by the end of the week. A shortcut behind the houses opposite takes you straight on to the Clotes run, and coming back at night means no waiting for buses. The rooms are basic, but clean, although the walls are a bit thin and you can hear the people next door talking. Small swimming pool, tiny (2 person) sauna is good for kids, or relaxing after a hard day on the hill. Never used the weights gym, but looked well kitted out. The food is pretty standard for Sauze, and plenty of it! Decent range of meals, and good if you like Italian food. Only problem was our bed was rock hard, so didn't sleep too well...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony, facing the village. Not above the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank igeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here with 5 friends all snowboards, the hotel is family run, the family also own a restaurant and a bar in town which you get discounts if your staying at the hotel. The rooms are cleaned every day, the food was good and lots of it so you never went hungry. The staff were very good eddy the bar man was great, the only bad thing is there is a steep walk back to the hotel in the evening. There is a short walk to the slopes if your new to skiing there is a bus that stops right outside the hotel. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spudspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in the Splendid in Jan 12 as part of a group of 19 and had a terrific time. The rooms were great, spacious, very clean and modern. The food plentiful and simple, the bar was always open and prices were realistic. The only downside was the hotel was at the top of a hill, okay for going into town but it was a good 10 minute hard slog back after a few beers!

Room Tip: There is only 1 small lift so avoid going higher than the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GilbertSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#12 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biancaneve
Hotel Biancaneve
#10 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: Via Clotes 71, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#11 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing