We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected for money, food a bit hit and miss!”
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As expected for money, food a bit hit and miss!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hermitage through inghams. The hotel is really convenient for the clotes lift, the ski hire shops and for drinks in town. We paid for a standard room and got one with a balcony which was nice to air clothes. The rooms are basic but perfectly fine. It can be a bit noisy from within the hotel through the floors and walls and from outside but if you have skied ask day you'll probably sheep through it!
The food in the evening is cold appetisers, soup, pasta, main and pudding with a bottle of wine every night. So there's lots of food but it was a bit hit and miss. I am vegan and sometimes they dealt with this really well, other days I didn't get a main course/ pud at all and on the last night I got 2 boiled potatoes!
Overall I would recommend the hermitage but only if you're not too gastro...

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    16
    17
    5
See reviews for
26
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northchapel, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a good week snowboarding at Sauze D’Oulx and the Hotel Hermitage is ideally placed (although the magic carpet to the side wasn’t working for most of the week). I would say the hotel offers value for money for what you get – close to the chairlift, 4 course dinner with wine and water included, afternoon tea and away from the noise of the main street. However, we felt the room was quite small compared to other resorts we have stayed in (especially considering the amount of extra gear for snow holidays) and had a stale / musty / cheesy smell. We soon understood why this was – you wouldn’t want to open the window to air your room even when you popped down to dinner once you realised the heating was more miss than hit. This was the same with other guests’ rooms, although strangely, the radiators in the hall were usually on – our gloves lived there for most of the week. We found it quite unacceptable to not have working radiators in the room given the need to dry wet/damp ski clothes (to be expected!) The same was also true of the boot room; there was a radiator there but was apparently never on. The boot racks are also only wooden pegs, not the heated type, resulting in complaints from everyone each morning as they put their feet into cold boots. The food was plentiful with a good selection of salads and appetisers, but otherwise nothing to write home about (tinned fruit twice in one week is never a good sign). I was also a little put off that we had the same table cloth for most of the week with previous nights’ spills on it. They are not very good at replacing toiletries, although were happy to clear away a half used miniature of shower gel (and not replace). We ended up having to go to Reception to ask for supplies – including on one occasion toilet paper which was really unacceptable. If you are likely to get upset with the above, don’t stay there. However, if you are on a budget and can put up with these things, it does, as I said above, offer some value. We will probably look to pay a little extra and stay somewhere else next time. By the way, the snow, lift connections and Milky Way are fab!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from one of the best week's skiiing in 34 years in the mountains. The Hermitage has to be about the most convenient location for the main Clotes lift out of Sauze and skiing back almost to the door. Adrianna and her staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was warm and comfortable, with a firm bed. The shower was (eventually) hot both in the morning and after skiing, if not the most powerful. The food was plentiful and varied if not Michelin std. The coffee machine at breakfast is awful, and the tea urn after skiing tepid, but neither persistent faults spoilt our week - the breakfast chocolate was OK, and there's always coffee etc. from the bar (which is next to the tea urn). Ingham's rep. Graeme gave us a lot of good and useful advice and information about Sauze and the skiing, and his three days guiding was a great introduction to Sauze, Sansicario and Sestriere. The Sauze nightlife is obviously good enough to keep younger people out until 2 or 3 in the morning, when their return to the hotel can disturb the deepest sleep. For a more tasteful and mature wind-down after skiing I recommend Il Lampione wine bar in the old town. I would certainly consider going to Hermitage again, particularly if I knew there would be decent Italian coffee at breakfast, and a tea urn that actually boiled the water (I do understand Boyles law - boiling point @ 1,509m altitude WILL be less than Brits are used to). Another signiicant improvement would be a warm-air boot warming/drying rack, but now I'm taling luxury...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 8 just spent a week at this hotel with Inghams. Having read some of last year's reviews I was a little worried as I'd booked the holiday. My husband I were lucky enough to have one of the larger rooms but none of the group had issues with their rooms. Most were warm enough (some too warm) and any requests for extra bedding or pillows were dealt with promptly. Hot water was plentiful. Food is best described as mediocre but there is lots of it. As mentioned in most reviews the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and given the chance try to address their guests' complaints. The hotel is ideally situated next to the slope and a short easy ride on a travelator takes you to the first chairlift and access to a great ski area. It's not a 5 star hotel, but then neither is the price, and for a skiing holiday I would stay at The Hermitage again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel hermitage for christmas t. 2013 and had a great time - the hotel staff were really friendly especially Adrianna the manager and would go out their way to please - the hotel itself isn't five star but you get what you pay for !! It was comfortable and clean and food was ok, not the best but again for what we paid we can't complain. Although not ski out there is a conveyer belt that takes you up level to lift but didn't work every day but still not too bad to get to slope - you can ski back practically all the way - I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrafagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 21-28 December at this hotel. What it lacks in fancy decor it made up for in wonderful friendly staff, ski in (not quite out - via a magic carpet and traverse across to a ski lift - not ideal for beginners first day) Our 2 teenagers had a tiny room which was OK for a week but the towel rail was broken and the shower a bit dodgy. We had a very spacious quiet disability adapted room but the shower cubicle was flimsy and took a couple of days to make watertight. It smelt stuffy but we combated that by having a window open at all times which suited us. The first evening was awkward as our keys did not work but we simply could not fault the helpful, willing staff who worked so hard to make our stay so welcoming. The hotel was full but quiet and slopeside meant the occasional pistebasher waking us up at night but the view from our room was awesome which more than made up for it. The food was plentiful and we had a choice of 2 mains every day - prebooked. Breakfast was plentiful and relaxed but the hot drinks machine was temperamental. The other guests were so nice that we all mucked in and this made for a very friendly atmosphere for staff and guests alike. Christmas Gala dinner was a bit of a mystery but again Adriana and staff spoilt us all so much no one missed traditional food - after all this is ITALY not Marks & Spencer dinners. Cake and tea was provided every day at 4 in the lovely airy scenic lodge style bar area. Unless you went round the bars and some shops in town there was really not much to do in the hotel at all. We read a lot and enjoyed watching the sledging and antics of others on the lower slope right outside the hotel window. It was nice not to have scheduled events - Inghams had evening events if you wanted to take part but were a bit expensive for all 4 of us to do. Probably best to take your boots to your rooms to dry out as all had soggy feet by the end of the week. Plenty of room in boot room for everything. All in all we felt that we were in excellent hands and will seriously reconsider rebooking for next year. We are not precious fussy travellers - I have stayed in a lot worse and far superior hotels over the years but the Hermitage was very easy and relaxed and suited us very well. It is memorable not for the occasional hitch but for the huge welcome and hugs that we got and fabulous scenery and the feeling that you were like family. You cant put a price on that.

Room Tip: rooms slopeside have awesome views and more to look at. Dont be worried about pointing out things in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mendesmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I would concur with the reviewer over the Christmas period regarding the food, as we have just got back from skiing over new year. Didn't go hungry and was a reasonable quality. The coffee machine for breakfast kept on breaking down and the urn struggled to get to boiling point but did improve over the week after we mentioned it to our Graeme our rep. I would advise you to tKe your own tea bags with you!, we had no hot water on our 1st night in the hotel and the heating seemed to have broken down too. This was fixed by the Sunday evening thankfully as we were not looking forward to cold showers post skiing.

Rooms -. I had to ask for extra pillows and covers as I got cold. Our bathroom was covered in mildew but this was due to a lack of ventilation. Be warned in the newer rooms the radiators are a mere few cms from toilet seat as so you often had a very hot seat to sit on!

The lighting in the corridors is on a timer and so frequently you were walking down completely dark stairwells. Slowly and carefully is the key,

Boot room - ample space. Boots not warm but were dry by next day.

Staff work exceptionally hard 7 days a week.

Travelator outside the hotel- would stop quite regularly. On 1st day saw two people fall off it when it suddenly stopped. One boy fell off and cut his lip open and another lady stayed down for an awfully long time. It was no struggle really crossing the piste and climbing the stairs to the chairlift. I seriously think more accidents happened on this lift than on the slopes.

We skied the whole of sauze, sansicario, part of sestriere and then did the ski away day for €20 euros to montgenvre & claviers. The Milky Way is an excellent ski area.

Having stayed at the mirvalle with crystals last year & gran baita the year before that I would rate the miravelle the best value but furthest distance, gran baits best quality with the hermitage closest to the slopes and therefore excellent location.

Wifi is paid for and can be intermittent.

I would recommend the hotel but would still prefer to visit the other hotels again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flanners80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Gran Bosco
Park Hotel Gran Bosco
#16 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#23 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia Debili
Hotel Savoia Debili
#22 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Chalet
Hotel Piccolo Chalet
#28 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#14 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Assietta
Hotel Assietta
#8 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Property: Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Miramonti 7, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing