We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget ski hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Cary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Cary
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed as part of a college trip with a large group.
Hotel is basic but well located, clean, tidy and has everything you require.
Free wifi was a bonus that went down well with the students.
Food was very good. Initial portions were quite small but with 3 courses (usually with a pasta starter) and seconds always available nobody will go hungry. They also cooked different meals for people who didn't fancy the menu of the day.
However the best thing about this hotel is the family who run it. Really good people.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed for a week at villa cary in late February and, let's be honest, it was a cheap deal and you cannot expect the ritz at the price we paid for our week in sauz'e.I had forgotten what a bind sauz'e can be when you arrive, as coaches are not allowed in resort due to the very tight roads.
So, from the off, we carried our luggage up the road to our hotel which was the first challenge. On arrival, we were made welcome by our english host.Sadly, our room was on the top floor which was a second challenge, after walking up the road with full ski kit.
To be honest the rooms are very basic. Our bathroom was in the corner of the roof space and was very cramped. If you are tall this is definitely a issue.The beds were a tad uncomfy and small although there was a free safe in the room which was a bonus.
The evening meals were of a good standard, but if what was on offer was not to your liking sadly the menu was the menu.
For what our party paid for our holiday it's hard to complain about the villa cary although it's fair to say, as others have, it is definitely time for a refurbishment

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DioRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

stayed here in febuary in a group 14.On the whole it was in a good location for the lski bus and the Bars.Staff and owner were all helpfull and friendly.Breakfast was basic but the dinner was good for the price.The ski locker was more than big enough.We had a double room,the bed was more than big enough .Hot water every night.All in all,good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARRY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

A group of us stayed in this hotel last week for 4 nights and had a fantastic short break. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners even though we were a little bit "lively" on occasions!! We were met at the airport by the son, Davide (at an extra charge) and driven straight to the hotel. The hotel has numerous games (Connect 4, Monopoly, Scrabble etc.) in the "communal" area which is great if you want to kill a few minutes whilst waiting for dinner or if you want to have a quiet evening rather than "boozing it up" in the resort. The Hotel is in a great location for both apres ski and the slopes. Marilyn provided good advice for ski hire and lift passes and even a little discount! The evening meal was tasty, and plenty of it. The soups were lovely and the ravioli. There was always plenty of fruit, the oranges were really tasty and juicy! It's a 2* hotel, so don't expect Raymond Blanc style! Breakfast was a little disappointing, I would have been happier with toast rather than a sweet croissant and roll. It would have been nice to have the option of eggs and bacon, as some of our group did have hefty appetites and needed to be full for a days ski-ing! The rooms I saw were adequate, typically Italian, but perfectly comfortable, infact, our bed was extremely comfortable. There did seem to be a smell of drains in the bathroom, but I think this is a problem in Sauze in general? I seem to remember the last place I stayed in, in Sauze had the same problem...!? Finally, a BIG thank you to Marilyn and family and staff for a lovely stay and perhaps we'll see you next year?!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starkey-Vickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Me and my husband spent a week in Hotel Cary. Location is excellent. It is in the middle of the village, 1min. walk to Carefurre Express (shop) with own private free of charge parking.
Staff is very friendly and everybody seems to smile all day. However, rooms require renovation. Furniture looks very old. Bathroom should get new tiles. Generally the whole room should be renovated (paint, furniture, TV, bathroom). It does not look modern at all, even not in typical highlander style. However, there is free of charge safe deposit and hairdryer. No tea or coffee facilities.
Food – do not expect a lot. Breakfast is really basic – continental. For skiers definitely not enough. You are getting lovely fresh coffee and tea however the only choice you have are cereals, small roll with honey or jam, and croissant. No eggs, no cheese, no ham, nothing to keep you full for skiing. Evening dinner is served to the table – no buffet. It is nice but nothing special. I was feeling like eating in the school canteen. Starter is mainly pasta or soup, second meal usually small piece of meat,etc. Dessert is a disaster. Everyday ice creams, no tiramisu, no tarts, no typical Italian desserts. I did not expect a lot but just some Italian cuisine. I know that their prices are good but you expect something more for those money.
Water – it seems that water is hot after 5pm. Try not to take shower before that time.
Village is very nice, with typical highlander atmosphere. However, in the winter you need chains to reach this place. Apre ski is brilliant, lovely places to go for a drink. Also many night clubs taking under consideration the size of the village.
Slops- Sauze d’Oulx, Sesstiere, Claviere etc. are mainly red and are not for beginners. Some blue slopes are in fact more dangerous than red. If you are looking for nice, wide and flat slopes go to France – Montgenevre. You will find it much nicer then all Sauze d’Oulx district.
Overall, nice stay but I will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balcony if possible, otherwise you will have dark room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just returned from a ski trip based in this "HOTEL"

EXCELLENT POINTS
Ski Instructor Essio (Husband) was a patient kind and very reasonably priced Ski Guide/ Instructor 10 out of 10 for him

GOOD POINTS
Good local advice for ski hire lift passes etc,
Good location for nightlife, Cheap WIFi, Free Room Safe, Sensible Bar Prices, Generous Bar measures, Beds made daily, Towels changed daily

BAD POINTS
Ridiculously Small & Uncomfortable Beds that are too small to turn over in -Child size infact Sky TV in rooms was a 14" portable up in the corner that you needed binoculars to see
Showers are so small you can hardly stand without the curtain sticking to your back let alone bend over if you drop the soap Also a bit mouldy around the edges
Unloved and tired decor badly needs tending to
Bar shuts early 11pm
Ski & Boot locker has no heating - Thus in the morning your boots are sometimes frozen
Radiators are only on for a limited time so can get cold at night even though we had warm temperatures of about -4 at night

MEALS
Basic Breakfast consists of Cereal, Yoghurt ,Croissant or concrete roll with Jam, Tea or Coffee so you are hungry by 11am
Evening meals are no more than bad school dinners so we ended up eating out 5 times out of 7 . Meat :The one slice is lazer cut and undetectable, veg sloppy and tasteless - puddings are ice cream in a steel kids bowl or a decent bowl of fruit

STAFF
When the lady owner requests something she barks at you a bit and you generally feel you are there at her convenience. Sometimes she can be nice but generally she is a bit stroppy bordering on the rude.
If you arrive on time for breakfast you will watch the owner set all the unused tables BEFORE she will serve you drinks so you are nearly finished and ready to go before you get your Coffee, if you dare to ask for your Coffee, you are bluntly told to "wait a minute" A frustration as it can be 20 mins before the other tables see their first guests.

SUMMARY
Whilst this seems a cheap and cheerful 2* on the face of it, when I consider the two hours a night I had to sit in the chair to stop my back aching and that I paid to eat out on 5 nights, it would not be a place to recommend or revisit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

A group of five of us stayed at the Villa Cary the last week in January this year. The main reason for choosing this hotel was one of our party was on their own so we didnt want to pay a single supplement.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner who made check in incredibly easy. A great bonus was arriving first thing in the morning and having access to our rooms straight away.

Bearing in mind it is rated 2 stars, we found the rooms small but comfortable. They were charactfully furnished and there was plenty of hot water.

The food is ok and the main thing is there is plenty to eat.

We found the staff and owners very friendly and it felt more like staying in a chalet than a hotel.

Just a small thing you may need to be aware of it there is no lift so you have to carry your luggage upstairs. The staff did offer to help though.

I would certainly return to this hotel because I thought it was excellent value for money, very friendly and a comfortable stay and in a good location

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Besson
Grand Hotel Besson
#18 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#8 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biancaneve
Hotel Biancaneve
#16 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia Debili
Hotel Savoia Debili
#23 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petit Bed & Breakfast
Petit Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrazza
Hotel Terrazza
#29 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cary

Address: Via Monfol 13, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range: $83 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Cary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Cary Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing