We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good three star ski hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Baita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Baita
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good three star ski hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Booked through Crystal Ski and was allocated room 108.Great room for a couple,large with a double and single bed.Good sized bathroom with bath and very good shower.The room has ample storage for all ski kit.We also had a lovely balcony which caught the last of the sun setting over the mountain view.For a change the TV in the room had some british channels.
Good but not great food.Pork features heavily on the menu.The starter pasta dishes were a meal on their own and always very good.
Hotel decor a little tired but very clean.
Friendly staff.
Ski room is basically a garden hut adjacent to the hotel although it served its purpose.
The Hotel is a fair walk from the Clotes lift and we found that the easiest option was to pay for ski and boot deposit at the hire shop(30Euro a couple for the week)

Room Tip: The northwest rooms a very quite with great mountain views.Worth getting the family room for the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    88
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited Sauze for the first time with my daughter on a Crystal trip.
The Gran Baita is a fabulous, family run hotel with excellent friendly and helpful staff. Although it is dated the hotel is warm and comfortable with well appointed rooms. I had a top floor room. Ensuite bathroom and toilet. Television with some UK channels. No kettle provided so bring your owning required. Good storage and room safe.
There is ski and boot storage provided with wall boot driers. Due to the distance to the lifts there are storage facilities on top of the slopes for about €20 a week. Saves a walk with equipment in ski boots.
There is a well stocked bar and large communal lounge. Loads of games and cards are provided for entertainment. Wifi is free throughout the hotel but it is not always reliable. Good enough for checking emails and light usage.
The food is excellent.and provided every night. A large continental buffet breakfast is provided. Evening meal is initially a help yourself buffet starter. A three course served meal is then served. Every meal we were given was excellent and covered vegetarians as well. Faultless.
The hotel is situated about two minutes walk to the town centre so accessible but away from the late night noise.
There are two main lifts nearby. The Clotes which is about 5-10 mins. Most people use this lift due to its position but is not too busy at peak times. The main lift is Sportina which is about 20 mins walk but a free bus gets you there. However be aware that at peak times the service is erratic and buses can be full.
All in all an excellent hotel and thoroughly recommended. If I returned to sauze I would definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tonyshergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a group and had a great stay. Little dated but clean and cosy. Staff were excellent all round. We had a room with a huge balcony and views. Food was great. Great location. Walk to the lift was easier by the end of the week in ski boots. Overall, very happy. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Burtingales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for half term week and the hotel was full. Our rooms were very clean, comfy, warm and spacious and the hot water for showering was plentiful and with good pressure. The food was great- generous portions, tasty and fresh. My daughter didn't like the choices some evenings and had a pasta dish whipped up for her with no complaints from the staff. The staff are a delight- friendly, helpful and attentive. We enjoyed staying here and would certainly return.
With ski boots etc it is a bit of a walk to the lift but there is bus (usually full at the point we walked to!) and there are options to leave boots etc in the lockers available- we didn't.
Paulo was very helpful when our daughter injured her knee, collecting her from the medical centre and dropping her to the coach on the morning we left. He waved away my offers to pay for his trouble- which was kind of him, a really decent bloke.
We had a great week on the slopes - there is so much to ski, loads of snow, different resorts to visit, generally super weather, a nice village feel to the resort. We have been to Sauze 3 times now and will, I hope return. We booked the holiday with Crystal - the resort rep Greg was frequently at the hotel, a pleasant chap and helpful. We did not book lift passes, ski school or equipment through Crystal as it is cheaper to sort this out independently.
All in all a great holiday-I would recommend both the hotel and the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Absolutely brilliant. Everything from the ideal location close to the restaurants, shops & bars, to the incredibly helpful staff, Hotel Gran Baita is honestly fantastic. The 3 course dinner (including anti-pasti) we were served everyday was tremendous and the chefs deserve a special mention. The staff would go out of their way to make sure you have everything you require. For my first ski trip, i could not have wished for any more and i'm sure my family & friends would say the same. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicktalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great hotel, Paola and all his team are friendly and helpful. Tasty food and a special focus on gala night-best food ever for half board. Really cosy fire in lounge area-great for après ski and after dinner drinks. Very homely and cosy hotel, helped by friendly, warm and clean surroundings. Made some great friends chatting by the fire over a few drinks! Would highly recommend this hotel. Good attention from Greg, our Crystal ski rep-gave us all great time and attention. He was there if we ever needed him. Amazing tuition on the slopes from Sergio. See you next year Paolo and faithful dog, Sheila!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had family holiday at end of February.

Room was a good size for the family and bathroom was very large. It was nice to relax in a deep bath after full day skiing.

Food was great, the buffet is a meal in its own right. My children loved the selection. Staff were always very helpful.

Bar, very cosy but chimney needed a sweep! Plenty of good board games to play and it was great to see children making full use of them.

All in all we would go there again. Very happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Artists4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella Alpina
Hotel Stella Alpina
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#9 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Assietta
Hotel Assietta
#8 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#6 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Besson
Grand Hotel Besson
#10 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Baita

Property: Hotel Gran Baita
Address: Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#4 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gran Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Baita Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing