We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“March 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Baita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Baita
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“March 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Absolutely brilliant. Everything from the ideal location close to the restaurants, shops & bars, to the incredibly helpful staff, Hotel Gran Baita is honestly fantastic. The 3 course dinner (including anti-pasti) we were served everyday was tremendous and the chefs deserve a special mention. The staff would go out of their way to make sure you have everything you require. For my first ski trip, i could not have wished for any more and i'm sure my family & friends would say the same. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicktalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    88
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great hotel, Paola and all his team are friendly and helpful. Tasty food and a special focus on gala night-best food ever for half board. Really cosy fire in lounge area-great for après ski and after dinner drinks. Very homely and cosy hotel, helped by friendly, warm and clean surroundings. Made some great friends chatting by the fire over a few drinks! Would highly recommend this hotel. Good attention from Greg, our Crystal ski rep-gave us all great time and attention. He was there if we ever needed him. Amazing tuition on the slopes from Sergio. See you next year Paolo and faithful dog, Sheila!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had family holiday at end of February.

Room was a good size for the family and bathroom was very large. It was nice to relax in a deep bath after full day skiing.

Food was great, the buffet is a meal in its own right. My children loved the selection. Staff were always very helpful.

Bar, very cosy but chimney needed a sweep! Plenty of good board games to play and it was great to see children making full use of them.

All in all we would go there again. Very happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Artists4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here in the last two years. Location is close to the resort centre and a 200 Meter up hill walk to the ski lift. Ski storage at the hotel or if you don't want to carry daily you can leave them at the shop by the lift for 3 Euro a night.
Hotel food was very good again with usual cereals cold meats etc breakfasts. Choice of 3 evening meals every night except Gala night which is a set menu. Food is good but can get a little monotonous especially if your not keen on deep fried breaded meat/cheese fillings but no complaints really. There are some nice restaurants in the town if you want a change.
Night life is ok but really bouncing. Ski area is very good suitable for intermediates with lots of good runs. Nothing really challenging most of the Black runs are really Reds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin-carmarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We too enjoyed our stay,yet again, at the Gran Baita. The hotel is a bit dated but perfectly adequate if your reason to be there is a ski holiday. The food, cleanliness and staff all met our requirements and with 23 of us that is saying something. We had the basic rooms which are perfectly good value for money, hence our 3rd visit.
The Vialattea ski area is vast but would be even better if the uplift system was optimised. A main chairlift out of SanSicario wasn't working and other Pomas were not in operation unless at weekends. Although better than previous visits, some mountain restaurants offer poor service compared to ther resorts. On the other hand the first restaurant above the first Clotes Lift employ the happiest girls who give free paninis with rounds after about 4pm. Our final resting place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

A well run and comfortable family hotel. We were a group of friends who were well looked after and impressed with the size, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms and also the quality and presentation of the food. Access to the slopes is as good as any in Sauze d'Oulx and better than most.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent a great week in Gran Baita. Really nice hotel, staff looked after us very well. Food was good, I especially loved the variety on the salad buffet table. Being a vegan I always expect a limited diet when travelling. The staff here were keen to offer alternatives if the menu did not offer a suitable choice. Our room was great, spacious and with a balcony with mountain views down the valley. We had paid a little extra for the larger room, so we had a corner bath with shower over. There was an endless supply of hot water and the shower had very good pressure. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day.
The location is ok, we walked to the Clotes lift most days and left skis and boots in the ski deposit there. This enabled us to walk up to the lift in normal boots! It is not too far if not in ski boots, carrying skis. The Sportinia lift is not a walkable distance as far as I am concerned, but the ski bus stops close to the hotel. All in we really enjoyed Sauze, we are not party animals when on a ski holiday, can only stretch to apres ski and some wine with dinner then a wee nightcap! Needless to say there is plenty available for those looking for more nightlife. Just be careful and look after your ski jackets, two guys in our hotel had theirs stolen (including ski passes) when they were out one night.
We had great weather and wonderful conditions. I just love The Milky Way, it is so varied with loads of pretty tree-lined runs as well as some nice blacks.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fii59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella Alpina
Hotel Stella Alpina
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#8 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Assietta
Hotel Assietta
#10 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#6 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Besson
Grand Hotel Besson
#9 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Baita

Property: Hotel Gran Baita
Address: Via Villaggio Alpino 21, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#4 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Baita Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing