We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Loved this place, a little gem full of the authentic character that most hotels lack!
Located right on the slopes, this is a very charming old chalet, very well appointed with great rustic woodden furniture, old beams and a magnificent old woodden staircase.
Staff is great, food is excellent. A lot of details well looked after, welcome amenities, complimentary water, etc... very appreciated.

The only disappointment is the uneccessary excess of little ceramic dolls that decorate the restaurant and some cheap stuff on the walls.
The chalet is so authentic that these are out of place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qoehncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odense
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We have had the most nice and beautiful ski holiday ever.
7 days with sun and very good slopes.
7 days with the best service from very nice and familar staff.
7 days with fantastic italian food and italian wine.
We will come back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kromanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

It was an interesting trip - booking Capricorno was a good move. Really great refuge and super excellent food and wine - a wonderful place to say. Sadly our skis were stolen and we were made to pay Eydallin 600 Euros to replace them with new ones! Don't hire your skis there (hire them at Clotes lifts where they include insurance). Will not go back to Sauze to ski, but would stay at Capricorno again. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-non-o-mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We arrived after the heaviest snowfall in 3 decades for a snowboarding holiday, how lucky was that? The hotel organised all our land-based transport, including the unexpected extra of an exciting skidoo ride from town to the hotel in the middle of the piste. The owners welcomed us, then we started a week of being looked after and fed with classic and delicious N Italian food, home-made pasta daily (you're in trouble if you chose something else on the menu), and high quality fresh meat and veg, home-cooked desserts, we must have put on pounds. This really is ski-in-ski-out (or skidoo-in...), ideal for those wanting to be first on the slopes, which were in absolutely perfect condition, suiting cruisers and powder-hounds alike. OK, so not ideal for those wanting to stagger home late from the apres-ski in town, and not by any means a bargain (this place boasts a michelin listing, and awards from Touring Club of Italy), but a great treat for someone looking for a quiet, romantic, gourmet wintersports holiday. The town of Sauze no longer majors on "Club 18-30" visitors, though is a substantial town, largest on the Milky Way (Via Lattea) circuit.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greyonatray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. The location is superb, the rooms very comfortable, and there is a great chef in the kitchen. Vince is a wonderful host, very warm and helpful in every way. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bebe38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauze d'Oulx
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stella Alpina
Hotel Stella Alpina
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Assietta
Hotel Assietta
#9 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#7 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#4 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Case Vacanza Perron
Case Vacanza Perron
#15 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel

Property: Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Address: Via Case Sparse 21 | Loc. Les Clotes, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A portrait of a bygone age framed by mountains, woods, fields and ponds, nestled between the ski slopes of the Cottian Alps, in the upper Val di Susa. In the midst of this, you'll find IL CAPRICORNO, a charming mountain hotel which was opened in 1966 by the Sacchi family. Since then it has been the jewel in the crown of Piedmontese hospitality, whose longstanding reputation is now in the hands of the Carezzana family of Turin, longterm devotees of the area. It's the perfect place for those who love old-style hospitality, where every detail and aspect has been carefully planned without ostentation. Here you'll experience that special Alpine ambiance, so unique and so inimitable, and a tangible sense of calm and tranquillity. Located 1,800 metres above sea level, it is the perfect destination for lovers of sport and winter activities, as well as those who love walking in the fragrant silence of forests in summer and enjoying the seasons as they come and go, transforming the colours of nature, nature that seems to reveal new secrets with every step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing