We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer In The Mountains”
Review of L'Ortiche

L'Ortiche
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: L'ortiche situated in the centre of the village, intimate restaurant with approx 55 covers, Italian cuisine with an extensive wine list, booking recommended.
hanpshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Summer In The Mountains”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Whenever we visit Sauze D Oulx we always visit this restaurant in summer or winter or sometimes off season when open. Great to see a new menu with a varity of choices depending on ones taste and how hungry you are.We were lucky enough to visit for more than one meal so delighted to be able to pick a number of different dishes for our large family. Their Black Angus steak is to die for cooked to perfection and maybe one doesnt need a starter or anything else. Great pasta dishes with fresh ravioli cooked with sweet cherry tomatoes and morzerella. Lamb shanks one of their best dishes, and so much more.Their desserts are all homemade and change on a daily basis but are all delious.A fantastic restaurant with great service friendly staff and well run. Not forgetting the wide selections of Italian wines.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hampshirehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    123
    39
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food, great service, great atmosphere and lovely wine (and such a huge selection of wines too). Could not have asked for more from a nice meal out on our last night in Sauze D'Oulx.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a amazing little restaurant 5star”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Amazing staff, great food and wine. The best find on my holiday. Visited the restaurant on my last night with two friends, I wish we had found it sooner. Best steak in sauze.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pittdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gem of a find”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a lovely place L'Ortiche turned out to be. We went as a family of four. Two adults two young children. The food was amazing. I tried a salt fish cod starter, sounded strange however did not disappoint when it arrived. Fab flavours with just the right amount of sauce. My husband had the salmon which he throughly enjoyed. Gill was fantastic host. She was great with the girls bringing them colouring pens and paper to keep them occupied. She made them a pasta dish which was not on the menu and a wonderful spag bol for my younger fussy one. For the mains I had the lamb shank which was such a large portion that I could not finish it. It came with a fantastic tasting
mint sauce and some vegetables. My husband had fish which came in a bag, but was steamed to perfection with some vegetables. We had to have the dessert as it was all home made by Gill herself. I had the very yummy tasting apple cake with ice cream. The wine list was extensive and Gill chose for us on all the nights we visited. On one of the evenings we took a friend along with us as we knew they did a great steak. He said it was cooked just how he wanted it and tasted fantastic. The restaurant has a family feel to it. The staff are very friendly and service impeccable. Gill even arranged for us to meet another family for dinner. We've gone away making some great friends who we plan to keep in touch with, upon our return to London. We will definitely return again for the food and service. Thanks Gill for a great experience. Sheila

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, food & surroundings.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Saw it was No 1 on Trip Advisor and fancied trying their Black Angus steak so went for it. The English lady proprietor is great, nothing is too much trouble. Food was excellent with nice attention to detail in presentation and taste. The Black Angus strip steak was beautiful and really did melt in your mouth. Would recommend and would go back on my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rth32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ortiche also viewed

Sauze d'Oulx, Province of Turin
Sauze d'Oulx, Province of Turin
 
Sauze d'Oulx, Province of Turin
Sauze d'Oulx, Province of Turin
 

Been to L'Ortiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing