We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Hotel with a difference”
Review of Ciao Pais

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauze d'Oulx
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ciao Pais
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you like peace and quiet, excellent food, a friendly family-run hotel with spectacular views in Piedmont, Italy, you won't beat this hotel! It is a bit of a bumpy ride to reach it standing above the small town of Sauze d' Oulx but the effort is more than worth it. I could not recommend it too highly!

Room Tip: Try Room 22 for a good size and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ciao Pais is a wonderful little hotel situated right next to the piste.The thing that makes it so wonderful is the staff,Mirko picked us up in the skidoo with a smile and from then on we felt like part of the family ! Erica always busy but always with time to talk to you and laugh and joke.I asked jose and erica if they could help with celebrating my girlfriends birthday and they ordered flowers and made a cake for us ! sad to leave such a friendly place,will visit again soon
andy and esther

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Following a recommendation of our ski instructor we visited this restaurant on Saturday or a family lunch. Arriving by ski from Prageato, with powdery conditions, it was beautifull to find Ciao Pais between the trees. We had a great starter of freh meats, cheeses and chestnuts followed by the day pecial of Wild Boar ribs. The ribs were truly amazing and memorable! For Dolci we had the pannacotta, simple but irressitable. All accompanied by a recommended Barolo a super Saturday lunch. Our 7-year old son left saying, I love this restauant, can we come back next year?
Also have to add that the service was very good and staff super friendly!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizdiscovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Refugio Ciao Pais is a small and private owned hotel next to the piste. The rooms are few, basic and rather small, but after a few hours stay among so friendly at nice people, it dont mean a thing. Everybody made us feel at home, at the moment we arrived at Ciao Pais. We stayed six days and loved every minute of it. Thanks to all the staff in Ciao Pais, especially Renato for helping us with the snowchains for the car at departure, Mirko for allways being helpfull and smiling, Erica for her kindness depiste allways "very busy", Juicy for being such a warm and wonderfull person and finally thanks to the kitchen staff for always fantastic local food. Everything is possible at Ciao Pais, its just a matter of asking for it. Everybody are ready to make your stay unforgettable. It will not be our last trip to wonderfull Ciao Pais.
Kim Werther, Hanne Gjerløff Roed & Frederikke Werther

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimwRoskilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

arrival, pick up with the ski doo, check : very quick, professional. Absoluteley no remarks, the owners are super friendly and will do everything they can during your stay.
we booked the hotel with half board so first breakfast : more than correct for the price you pay. If you stay in a 4 star hotel in austria you get more, but you also pay more. Eggs, bacon, fruits..everything was there.
Dinner was so so for me, could 've been better... as a guest you have to eat a la carte every evening. The menu is rather limited so you end up every evening with pretty much the same plate...(I know it is also my fault, but you stick to what you know).
You could not choose the appetizer and if you see what the chef made every evening : very, very good (restaurant-worthey )
main course was a bit of a let down.
rooms are small and very basic, the same with the bathroom ( shower has not that much pressure, it's not that comfortable if you have to wiggle around in the shower to get wet everywhere)
The best thing happens in the morning : you can start your day with downhill skiing instead of taking a ski lift !
Price-qualtity is very nice, people are very friendly an the ski area is also very good ( don't expect modern ski lifts - no plastic bubbles and no heating) so overall a nice short ski !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Two of our travelers had met Mirko (the co-owner) on a trip in Arizona. They exchanged business cards along with an invitation by Mirko to stop by his hotel, Ciao Pais, if we were ever in the north of Italy, where we found ourselves in early October 2012. We did not call ahead, and only made contact with the hotel when we arrived in Oulx, in the dark and in the rain. Johnny gave us directions to Sauze d'Oulx (up the mountain - REALLY up the mountain), where we again called to get further directions. Johnny told us to, "Watch for a white Panda, and follow it up the hill." Minutes later Renato wheeled up and led us on an exciting ride up a wet gravel two-track to the hotel. The trip up the mountain is well worth the absolute jewel that is Ciao Pais!

We were treated like royalty and family from the moment we stepped out of the car. Even though we had no reservations, Erica put us in wonderful rooms immediately, and then insisted that we join them for dinner in the dining room. It turned out that the hotel was hosting a group of 50 local friends, co-workers and associates who all live and work on the mountain. I can tell you that it was a magical night. We met everyone and had more fun that we can tell you. This is one of those places that "you will plan to go back to", and we've already planned our next trip, which will be in the winter so we can enjoy the skiing.

I can't say enough about the hotel, the food, the hospitality, and most importantly, about the wonderful people who make this place magic. You'll arrive as a guest, and leave as a family friend. Lyle, Joann, Vicki and Phil.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were picked up by car and driven to a skidoo and then sped up the hill to the hotel. It was the perfect arrival. Ronato and Mirko were so welcoming and the sun was shining that in the end we exchanged our first afternoon on the slopes for food, drinks and more food. We couldn't have been happier. It was nice that so many skiers visit for lunch and dinner - the restaurant has a great reputation and we met some English people who had been coming to Ciao Pais to eat for years and years. We had offers to be taken into town for dinner, but we didn't want to leave the comforts of the hotel. We'd sit outside in the sun, then move to the bar, eat a our supper and then move to the lounge to play games by the fire. The food was amazing and the service fantastic and so friendly. This is not luxury accommodation if that's what you are looking for - the rooms are basic and the single beds on the small side - but it is a lovely, family run hotel which is fantastic value and I highly recommend it and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank connie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
#18 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#7 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Stella Alpina
Hotel Stella Alpina
#4 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
249 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#6 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Gran Bosco
Park Hotel Gran Bosco
#16 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciao Pais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciao Pais

Address: Via Case Sparse 17, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#2 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range: $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet known as "Rifugio Ciao Pais", built in 1930, maintains all its mountain refuge characteristics even though it has been rebuilt and renovated on several occasions, and is an ideal winter or summer base for mountain lovers. It is run by current owners, Mirko and Giusy, who have retained the chalet's style with the greatest respect for the area's traditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ciao Pais Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing