We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant !”
Review of Chalet La Petitta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet La Petitta
Ranked #10 of 14 Sauze d'Oulx B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Another superb stay with Elena and her family at Chalet La Petitta during February 2012. Tasty home cooked food, and plenty of it. Comfy clean rooms. Perfectly positioned to access the Milky Way, with a good Ski Hire shop close by. Brilliant for families and friends. Ideal for a week or a short ski break. Many thanks to Elena's friends: Sylvia and Nanni for sorting out Ski School for the children.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VSB1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at La Petitta - an old converted farmhouse with only 8 bedrooms - situated in the heart of a quaint, old village with cobbled streets and plenty of character. The chalet is only a short walk from the ski lift, which is always very quiet (never any queues!) This lift takes you up to Sportinia - the main meeting point, ski schools, other lifts, etc. Back to the hotel - it's excellence is all due to the owner, Elena, and her daughter Anna. Together they offer exquisite cuisine (with special dishes made specially for our fussy teenagers!!) and wonderful service! Nothing is too much trouble for Elena and Anna - we found our ski passes ready on the first morning of our skiing day; dinner every evening was a pleasurable experience - Elena is a brilliant cook! Elena even got out her car at 5 am to help take our baggage to the coach around the corner! The hotel rooms are spotless and very cosy.
For those who want to relax in noisy bars, this is not the place to be, as it is a quiet old village. The nearest town is Sauze - we went on foot a couple of times - once it took us about 30 mins on foot, another time about 20 mins because we took the short cut, up Mount Calvary!!! - you can get the bus (but they are not as frequent as we would have liked). Once in Sauze, it's a pretty village with plenty of restaurants and some nice shops. The skiing around Sauze is brilliant - it's so vast! Sauze is not excellent for beginners, although there is a ski school, practice slope and a couple of blue pistes. It is mainly a paradise of red pistes. We spent a couple of days skiing in Sestriere - there it is brilliant for children and beginners. ~We took the taxi there - no trouble whatsoever. Elena's son Matteo was our taxi driver too! An enjoyable evening was when we hired skimobiles - you go in the evening after the skilifts are all closed and the mountain is dead, dark and scary!! It's two to a snowmobile and there are two instructors with you all the time - one in front leading the way, and another behind! The men especially loved driving the snowmobiles. I would recommend Jouvenceaux and Chalet La Petitta any day!! Thank you Elena & Anna for everything! Your Maltese friends xxx

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is our third visit to La Pettita, normally for a long adult ski weekend, but this year three families, six adults and seven children.
Elena who owns the chalet is a lovely warm person, who goes out of her way to help, she arranged children's ski lesson's, lift pass's and nothing is too much trouble.
Elena's breakfast's have always been superb, but this year we took the half board option and enjoyed her equally superb evening meals.
The chalet is full of character with clean simply furnished rooms in Jovenceaux, a lovely old hamlet just below Sauze, it's also a short walk to a chairlift with no queues.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VSB1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in this pleasant guest house where the cook owner is just so nice and teh food so good;it si located close to a sksilift and the hamlet is renovated with art, the 15th c chapel and its painted walls, the sundials, the elegnat restorations of old houses, teh fountains, everything was delightful far from the madding crowd: barflies keep away as you need a car to go to the happy hour pubs !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceejaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

An excellent guest house in the heart of Jouvenceaux, 10 minutes walk from the main centre of Sauze D'Oulx.

The chalet is run by Elena, an extremely friendly and helpful local woman who makes the place feel warm and welcoming to all guests. Whilst the actual building is very old, the chalet business is relatively new and therefore not obvious when searching for accommodation.

However, we had luck finding it and enjoyed an excellent five night stay at the end of February. The room was large, comfortable and very clean, breakfast was a relaxed affair with excellent choice, and with only six rooms Elena knew each guest personally and had time to help everyone.

There was an cosy bar, pizzeria and restaurant no more than 20 metres away, and the new chair lift up the mountain was just a little further on.

The main centre of Sauze D'Oulx is a 10/15 minute uphill walk (so you earn your food!) but there is a regular bus service. Sauze has many bars, restaurants and shops, but turned out to be far quieter than many reviews suggest so don't let the party town reputation put you off. However, the lift up the mountain is busier and older than the lift at Jouvenceaux, and friends staying in the centre commented that it was noisy in the mornings.

Which makes La Petitta an excellent choice for those who want quiet, comfortable and good value accommodation in a village close to Sauze, which has all the facilities and nightlife you need. Perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goinforawander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 780Cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank rock1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet Chez Nous
Chalet Chez Nous
#3 of 14 in Sauze d'Oulx
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Torre SPA & Restaurant
Hotel La Torre SPA & Restaurant
#7 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#28 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Chalet
Hotel Piccolo Chalet
#23 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
#14 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet La Petitta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet La Petitta

Address: Frazione Jouvenceaux 39, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range: $90 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet La Petitta 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chalet La Petitta Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing