We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collective space and services, noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sabaudia
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel has a beautiful and relaxing garden by the lake. The staff is very kind. Services are great: chair and umbrella available on the beach, bicycles - everything without charge.
The location is also great: not close to the city center, near to the beach.
Good breakfast served in the garden.

But we had a bad luck: our room was noisy (207). It looked like the guests in the next room were inside our room. Once we woke up in the middle of the night because of the noise. The acoustics of some rooms should be improved urgently!

We had problems also with the shower: the flow of water was bad and the drain was clogged - in minutes the water was about to boil over in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms that are not facing the garden, like the 207! I think they are all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenaMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 408 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are from Germany and stayed this year the end of May almost a week at this fantastic place. The name doesnt promise too much. It is really fantastic. Bella, bella, bella. Once you drive in the surroundings coming from the countryside you dont expect an exquise place like this. Getting at the entrance, with all its white curtins, you would expect maybe in Miami beach...Elegancy pure. Very if not extreme friendly personell, food: fantastic and worth dining in. We did every night and loved it. A beautiful garden, also with white furtiture and the best: 2 access to a small lake, with a place to sit and dream away. If you have the chance the rowing folks pass by. (the sixties olympics were here) They even service here. The walk to the beach is 15-20 min. We highly recommend this secret (still) between Roma (1h) and Napoli. Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank amidutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived at this amazing spot and felt immediately very welcome.
We got lots of documentation of the national park we wanted to visit. They gave us info on hiking trails,...

In the morning after an extremely quiet night they treat you to a lovely Italian breakfast.
A place you have to visit when you are in the area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marietta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very elegant, very kind service, but above all amazing and magic location on one of Sabaudia's lakes. Perfect to rest and to be inspired. But also very close to the sea, and with very good breakfast and dinner.
The selection of furniture, its special architecture and its distinctive white/green dominant colors make this place hardly forgettable.

Room Tip: Not mandatory, but front lake view and a terrace make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel sits on the lake and just 10 mins bike ride from the beach - and the bikes are complimentary from the hotel. The area is beautiful and very pleasant for biking and walking.
The hotel is small with some 20 rooms. We came off-season in January and there were very few guests. The staff was most welcoming. They have started a fireplace for us in the lounge and prepared the hammam.
Perfect for romantic getaways and family trips.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meTatyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The name says a lot, it is a charming hotel indeed! The hotel is located on the lakeshore a few hundred yards from the sea. The property is hidden from the street, and once you enter the gates, you are greeted by a classy building with on its own gorgeous park, green meadows, flowers, trees casting the shadows where you can relax on comfortable day beds.

The hotel is new, well run, elegantly appointed, all consistent with the 4* rating. The service, however, is easily 5* or possibly more. Here are just two examples:

The first night at the restaurant we asked to try a sampler of appetizers. Instead we were served four full portion appetizers as a compliment, an the owner explained that since we were the new guests, she wanted us to sample the dishes that her chef was preparing.

The second one happened when we went to the beach (the hotel has a number of front-row beds at the nearby private beach that are included in the room rate). We took a shuttle and forgot to take the beach towels. It took us a few minutes to explain the beach worker that we did not have the towels and he left to fetch some for us. As we were waiting, Konstantino from the hotel came by with two towels: the staff at the hotel realized that we left without the towels and sent him to take care of us.

Truly a delightful experience at a truly charming hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had aperitive and dinner at the restaurant of this hotel. The location is just great: from the garden to the tables, the candles and (fresh) flowers decoration all had an elegant touch. There is a lake nearby and the restaurant is under an elegant cover. Personnel were professional and kind, the food excellent. We stayed until late and could order drinks even when the last client had already left. It's a great location for a romantic dinner or with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabaudia
0.4 mi away
Oasi di Kufra
Oasi di Kufra
#1 of 9 in Sabaudia
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Dune Hotel
Le Dune Hotel
#6 of 9 in Sabaudia
325 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Maga Circe
Hotel Maga Circe
#2 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Circeo Park Hotel
Circeo Park Hotel
#4 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casino'
Hotel Casino'
#4 of 9 in Sabaudia
148 reviews
22 mi away
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Virgilio Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Sperlonga
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il San Francesco Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Francesco Charming Hotel

Address: Via Caterattino, 04016, Sabaudia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sabaudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sabaudia
Price Range: $93 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il San Francesco Charming Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Sabaudia, within the National Park of Circeo and flowing directly into the sea, is a place where the expression, “immersed in nature” has a profound significance. Here the main attraction is Nature itself which once you arrive slowly takes over. San Francesco charming Hotel is situated on the shore: a whitemodern building whose imaginary appearance is that of a ship ready to set sail to the winds, but that, in reality, is anchored to the calm of the large garden facing the lake and where, moving in the wind, are only the numerous drapes framing the façade. From the privileged views of the hotel, the protagonist is the lake itself, with the numerous villas appearing alongthe shores, while right in front of the San Francesco hotel is the small but evocative Sanctuary of the XII century, S. Maria of the Sorresca. The story goes that this is the actual spot where fishermen had placed the statue of the Mother and Child “fished” from the lake, where now, the little church (almost entirely rebuilt) shows few traces of ancian medieval character. A touringboat offers visitors the possibility of taking a cruise along the curved borders of the lake. This is an experience to savour at The San Francesco, located only 500 meters from a private beach and sea, just over an hour from Rome and an hour and a half from the jet boats to Ponza Island from S. Felice Circeo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Il San Francesco Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing