We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massively overpriced in summer”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Dune Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Dune Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sabaudia
Rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Massively overpriced in summer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We booked a "suite" which cost a fortune and turned out to be pretty spartan and quite shabby. The worst thing was the food, which was almost inedible. I thought it was impossible to find really bad food in Italy, but I've just been looking in the wrong places!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    80
    79
    45
    32
See reviews for
81
118
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

Hotel is alright, rooms are clean and large, though the noise from the highway just outside the fence is quite annoying. The stuff is very unfriendly and seems to have very little desire to make the stay there enjoyable. Apparently, they were not happy with the rate of $87.75 that I got online so they tried to charge a bit more (like twice more) just because it was two of us (me + my wife) in the room. My impression was that they must be hurting for business (there were only about 4 cars in the whole parking lot), so they'll try to rip you off the best they can.

Might be one of my worst hotel stays ever. Beware.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank npugypok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sabaudia hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

We spent 3 nights at this hotel just before Easter 2007 having booked via the hotel website as we wanted to ensure a room with sea view.

The hotel is about 1hr 30 minutes south of Rome and is very Italian, but with lots of English speaking staff which was perfect for us with our tourist level Italianl. Our room was on floor 3 (which is the same level as reception) but nicely situated above sea level as the hotel is built into the dunes, hence the name.

Of themselves, the rooms are not really special, but they are clean and pleasant. We had a double bed and a single bed for our 5 year old son, which cut down the space a bit, but was still fine. The bathroom actually has a bath which is a nice treat in the euro shower zone. The balcony was great and a must have to get the the most from the hotel's location. It overlooks the beach (and windsurfers at this season), and gives great views south towards San Circeo mountain. The room also offers a minibar and central heating (we had to leave the balcony door open at night as it was too warm for us).

The buffet breakfast was very nice, continental of course, but with lots of choice of pastries, fruit, meats, cheeses etc.

We ate in the restaurant all 3 nights and enjoyed some very good food. The staff are very attentive and again speak good english, and even did magic tricks for our son!

There is a set 4 course menu for 43 euros (antipasti, pasta/risotto, main course and dessert - we never managed all four!). The prawn risotto was a particular favourite of mine, but all the seafood was excellent, and antipasti with artichokes and buffalo mozzarella were superb as these are the area's most famous produce. If you can, try and squeeze in dessert if it's the tiramisu. The Lazio wines from San Circeo were also excellent, very fruity whites and robust reds. And don't forget to finish with a grappa.

We had some great fun playing on the sandy beach. The hotel was quiet at this season except on Good Friday when lots of families arrived. Sabaudia is a pleasant town offering some good shops, and San Circeo is a nice excursion (lighthouse, mountain etc). The whole area is a national park, important for migrating birds, and we greatly enjoyed its chilled out atmosphere.

We would certainly stay at the Dune again and recommend it to anyone. It is one of those places that is even better than the sum of its parts - great for kids and adults alike.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Saying goodbye
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham. UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2005

Had a great time despite the weather being poor, the rooms were great, but get a sea view. The very best thing was the staff, very very friendly and helpful, the restaurant manager was the best. Food great, spotlessly clean. Great views, locals in Sabaudia spoke very little English, but it didn't matter they were all so very helpful, good shops too, large market on Thursday with lots of fine Itatlian fresh produce, just wished we had better weather.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harry_Brunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabaudia
0.5 mi away
Oasi di Kufra
Oasi di Kufra
#2 of 9 in Sabaudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hotel Maga Circe
Hotel Maga Circe
#2 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#3 of 9 in Sabaudia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Rossa
Hotel Punta Rossa
#1 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casino'
Hotel Casino'
#4 of 9 in Sabaudia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dune Hotel

Property: Le Dune Hotel
Address: Via Lungomare 16, 04016, Sabaudia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sabaudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sabaudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Dune Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Dune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing