We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding cosy accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garni Il Riccio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garni Il Riccio
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Roccaraso
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding cosy accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 1 night only (as we could not stay longer unfortunately) in this lovely, top clean, modern pleasant place. This is a real gem in the Abruzzo region!!! The owners go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a wonderful experience - we shall B back.

We also dinned at the restaurant "Da Gioccondo" in Rivisondoli (5 minutes drive from the Garni).
It was a lovely experince, food was delicious, authentic and inexpenssive. Raphael's cousin went out of her way to explain about every dish and cater to all our needs. It is located in a charming village in a beautiful spot. The price was very reasnobale and we could not finish the food which was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    56
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
246
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sorry Monia and Raffaele for the late review. Garni is over the top in customer service and attention!

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights beginning of December at the opening of ski season in Roccarossa. We read all the comments on TripAdvisor and took the chance that it would be as good as the reviews reflected.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Monia, whose family owns and runs the small and oh so very cosy, Garni. With the help of her good friend Raffaele, we had simply the most wonderful hosts the entire time we were at Garni. The night we got there, she realized that some of the restaurants near the B&B were closed and she proceeded to provide a bottle of wine and food and snacks for us by the fire so that we would not go hungry. Unbelievably, the remainder of our stay was no different. There was no request too small to be taken care of by Monia and Raffaele. For example, we wanted to get to the ski hill one morning after a heavy snow, but realized our tires were not rated for the conditions. We asked Monia whether there was a bus or taxi and found out that there was one, but it would be expensive just for the two of us. Raffaele said he would be happy to take us and drove us the 20 minutes to the hill and came back for us when we finished!

I could go on with more examples of exceptional service and attention, but you will have to experience it for yourself. This is a newer B&B in Roccarosso with a small number of modern rooms and a small bar and lobby adjacent to the front desk. Breakfast is included and is a pastry lovers dream - oh I forgot to mention Monia also bakes all breads, cakes and pastries herself!

If you are looking for a super level of service, a comfortable room and a very warm family atmosphere you will not be disappointed. We cannot say enough nice things about Monia and Raffaele. They are absolutely amazing.

The main street was tiny, but Garni made this a very special part of our overall two week trip to Italy. A definite MUST visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We came to Roccaraso for a 3 day skiing adventure. We arrived at the hotel at 11o'clock, in the hope that we could check in early! The staff were fantastic, showed us our room right away. First impression was the immaculate presentation of the room and the rest of the hotel. The service given by the staff was excellent, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. For this standard of hotel the value was excellent, so good that we have booked to stay again next month! The location is perfect and an easy stroll up to the town takes about 7 minutes! There is a fantastic restaurant across the road from the hotel too. The drive to the ski resort takes about 15 minutes. There is a facility to dry your boots and the staff are more than happy to sort this out for you after your had day on the slopes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet0873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a beautiful, new facility with a lovely sitting/reception room. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a spacious bathroom, but unfortunately the building is not well insulated as we heard other guests returning, closing doors, conversations and scraping chairs. The room was warm and the air conditioner didn't seem to cool it down, so we had to sleep with the window open, which was fine until a dog started barking non stop. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and they serve a delightful breakfast. The location is close to town and roads to access attractions in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, comfortable room and a wonderful host!!!. Everything is immaculate and clean. The perfect place to stay if you don't want to be in the center of town (4 min walk). The room was very spacious and had a great balcony. The bathroom was also very spacious (for Europe) and everything seemed new.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here for a full week to snowboard and search for local property. Perfect location, just a 5 min walk into the town. Welcome was fantastic, relaxed, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was lovely every day. Room even nicer than the website suggests (as is the hotel as a whole). Although the hotel is 3 years old, it looks like its only a couple of months old- well kept, pristine condition, comfortable yet funky. The log fire always roaring in reception after a long day in the snow! Fridge in the room is also a real bonus.
Our only crticism would be the room we had was right next to reception/main corridor entrance/lift. This in itself wouldn't have been a problem had it not been for some other guests selfishly dragging suitcases along the tiled floors early in the morning, stomping along the corridors in heavy boots and shouting down the corridors. The hotel is also very family friendly but again, this was abused by parents not keeping young children from running up and down the corridor and shouting until past 11pm, despite signs requesting otherwise. Not really the hotel's fault I guess though. All in all a thoroughly fabulous place, would also happily visit in Summer.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 as this is right next to reception/main corridor entrance/lift/back door entrance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Very refined hotel (B&B but they have an agreement with a restaurant just the other side of the road), cosy and charming in neo-Alpine style. Ideal for families with children and aged people (lift and big terrace where grannies can spend the day reading and young children can play in enchanting backyard garden). Very friendly and discreet welcoming. Ideal to discover hiking in the nearby parco nazionale d'Abruzzo and ideal to get there with own car in winter (spacious parking space with direct connection to garage and lift). Cherry on the top: small library and traditional games in the spacious living with fireplace! Maybe the best hotel facility in the Abruzzi.

Room Tip: Some rooms at sunny terrace level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sinisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccaraso
0.2 mi away
Garni Le Ortensie
Garni Le Ortensie
#2 of 25 in Roccaraso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Holidays
Hotel Holidays
#15 of 25 in Roccaraso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Montis Spa & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pizzalto
Hotel Pizzalto
#4 of 25 in Roccaraso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#13 of 25 in Roccaraso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petite Fleur
Hotel Petite Fleur
#12 of 25 in Roccaraso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Il Riccio

Property: Garni Il Riccio
Address: Via Napoli 85, 67037 Roccaraso, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Roccaraso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Roccaraso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Il Riccio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garni Il Riccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing