We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Giuliana
Ranked #61 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed July 27, 2011

we stayed in this hotel as part of a coach tour holiday.hotel and our room was spacious and clean although the shower cubicle was quite small but adequate.breakfast continental and vening meal mainly italian,soups very good,meats always tender and there was lots of fresh salad selection.the waitresses friendly and always busy.
location approx 15 mins walk into the old town of riva,overall a good value holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank longstockins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Giuliana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2010

Was part of a coach tour which in itself was most enjoyable and very inexpensive. Happy to say the services of the coach driver and courier made up for the let down of this 3* Hotel. Our room was clean and on 2nd floor, however others in party expressed concerns about rooms on 3rd floor being damp and dusty with cobwebs.
Breakfast was ok but nothing to really look forward to. Thought the orange juice in the dispenser became more watery as the week progressed. Took until later in the week to find the eggs!
Evening meals were extremely poor, turkey roll and mashed potato from a packet with a film of water around the edges were served up one night. You have to choose the meal for the next night the evening before at dinner. Soup was ok but not much else. First night the dessert was tinned fruit. An omelette arrived one evening which looked as if it would be better used to scrubbing pots and pans rather than being eaten. There is basic and there is almost inedible.
Whilst staff were attentive and polite, there was no sense of pride in their job and looking at the management I can understand why. The evening meals became the subject of a majority of jokes for the week as it was the only way to take things.
We even cancelled our meal the last night and walked the distance into the centre of Riva De Garda for a decent meal, a problem for anyone who can't walk far as whilst it is just off the main road into the centre of the Town it is a good 20 minutes walk to the majority of shops and restaurants.
Have to say the pool area was lovely but in October a dip was not very enjoyable as the pool was unheated.
This whole Hotel appearred stuck in the 1970's from the brown blankets and candlewick bedspread in orange to the decor in the restaurant and bar/reception areas.
Would not return to this Hotel as enjoy food and would prefer to spend more money and get somewhere that give you food which is more like that which I would expect of Italy.
You get what you pay for but the quality of food was even below that of 3* accommodation. By having to go out and eat decent food at lunchtime, the holiday was far more expensive than it was imagined. Thank goodness for good weather and fantastic coach team in a wonderful country, they made it an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BodgitBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Very clean hotel of a very high standard. Rooms comfortable with all the usual and expected items included. Good size T.V. receiving some english programs. Good continental breakfast. Evening meal Italian style and taste. All food good quality and most of the fresh salad, grapes and eggs are from their own land adjacent to the hotel.
We were on package tour but the hotel was well used by the passing trade. Only 5 minuites walk to the lake, 15 to the old town but there is a bus service. Would use again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hastings24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Lovely hotel which was very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and the owner was very pleasent however I would not like to cross swords with her. The food was to a very high standard and plenty of it. Plenty of sun chairs and tables around pool, which were all spotless. 10 minute walk to the lake and another 10 minutes walk to the ferrys. Shops and bank about 5 minute from hotel Overhaul a very nice stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dobbomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Having read the reviews, I was rather apprehensive about this hotel - I need not have worried. It was spotlessly clean and room service was excellent. To take up points raised in previous reviews I would say:
This is a three star hotel - if you want five star treatment go to a five star
Beds were firm, not hard, and suited us fine.
The 'dragon lady' was perfectly pleasant and amenable, but I would say she wouldn't suffer fools gladly
If you want evening entertainment, check it out first.
Food was not brilliant, but what's wrong with ordering in advance? It saves time. Yes, breakfast was disappointing but plenty of it. We found the waitresses very accommodating and pleasant.
Hotel was about ten minutes walk from the beach, which is lovely.
When I mentioned that I was going to write to Tripadvisor in praise of the hotel, everyone said 'include me in'
I read Tripadvisor before I go on holiday, and I go abroad a lot, and am convinced that many people are never happy unless they are moaning about something.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marnie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Good location, fantastic welcome by both owners and staff.Hotel spotlessly cean and food fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandkaren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

My friend and I stayed here as part of a coach party in May. The position of the hotel was quite good though a long way from where you get the boat to other parts of the lake and the old town - about a mile. The rooms are really basic but very clean. We were lucky to have a corner room with large balcony but some rooms are at the back and quite gloomy. Everywhere was very clean. The most disappointing things were the food and the lack of 'holiday' atmosphere. The breakfast is exactly the same every morning, there was never any fresh fruit. the toaster was so slow you had baked bread not toast. The dining room is not what they describe - elegant? No. Dinner was ok - the food was tasty and quite well cooked but the pasta courses were stodgy and filled you up (starters) and there was limited choice (only three choices per course). And....you had to decide the night before what you wanted the next day. Just like in hospital! The lady owner is very unfriendly and quite rude at times. Not a hotel I would return to in a hurry......

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiloMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brione
Hotel Brione
#35 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#49 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Giardino Verdi
Hotel Giardino Verdi
#48 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#25 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#57 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Giuliana

Address: Via Belluno 12, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $119 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Giuliana 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Giuliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing