We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seniors Beverley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Antico Borgo
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seniors Beverley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just spent a very pleasant stay here and the location excellent. The room was a little on the small side with very little staorage space - small wardrobe with a few shelves. A vanity unit in front of the mirror accompanied by a stool would be nice, and also a stool in the bathroom a necessity as nowhere to put clothes when changing. Apart from this very clean and the bathroom decor very nice. The air conditioning was very hit and miss and in fact the room was cold during the night. We found the breakfasts the same each day. Dinner was OK most nights but not top notch- vegetables were mushy and not palatable! The staff couldn't do enough and very accomodating - nothing too much for them. Reception was also excellent. Think the rating should be 3* as I have travelled around the world considerably.

Room Tip: Room 207 was very quiet albeit not much of a view. This was the one we were allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    138
    38
    11
    0
See reviews for
52
225
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I really don't know how often some of the other reviewers get out or where they travel, they must be easily pleased. This hotel is rated 4 star in this country it would just about get away with 2. There was inadequate storage facilities in the rooms,this was also picked up by our fellows "guests" . The rooms where badly designed, no comfortable chair available, air conditioning either not switched on or not working the whole week despite numerous complaints. We had to stay on a half board basis despite my forebodings which were sadly proved correct. Evening meals were generally way short of an acceptable standard to the downright VILE.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. \if it is any consolation the Centrale is far worse.

Room Tip: Try rooms in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captaintrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just stayed a week here and overall were happy with the accommodation. The hotel’s location in the old town is great, being so close to the port and many good restaurants. Our room was very smart, modern and clean though rather stark and lacking in decoration, pictures etc. The bathroom was extremely smart and modern and the shower was good and consistently hot. The room was at the back and very quiet and even had a view of the mountains, which we hadn’t expected. Having a fridge was very useful as we bought fresh milk for our tea (we always take a small travel kettle).

However, there were a few minor irritations: the TV switched on to the hotel chain’s publicity channel every time we put the room card in the power slot, there were no drawers in the bedside tables and the sliding wardrobe and bathroom doors wouldn’t stay closed. More serious was the fact that the laminated floor was very slippery and potentially dangerous if wearing only socks.

We had declined the half board option so I can comment only on the breakfast. This was fine with a good selection of items, though virtually the same every morning. The 3 cereals on offer never changed. The fruit juices were disappointing, looking and tasting very artificial (perhaps powder and water?). The restaurant, like the bedroom, has a stark, minimalist décor. The dinner menus looked interesting enough and the food is probably fine but I can’t imagine that there would be much atmosphere, certainly not comparable with eating in one of the lively, cosy nearby restaurants, 6 of which we tried and enjoyed.

I used the exercise bike on the roof twice and this is a good quality machine, which is nice to use. I never saw anyone else using this or the treadmill.

The reception staff were charming and extremely helpful, always being able to provide bus timetables and other information.

Although it’s a nice hotel, I don’t believe it merits 4 stars; 3 would be more appropriate.

Room Tip: If renting a pedalo, do it in the early morning before the wind picks up and the lake gets choppy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from a relaxing week stay at the Antico Borgo. Great little hotel ideally situated in the heart of the old town. We stayed in room 404 which appears to be the only room in the hotel with a balcony large enough to accommodate 2 sun beds as well as a table and chairs. The staff were brilliant , reception staff very helpful and cheerful. Tujktim the head waiter is a gem and is a credit to the hotel. Nothing is too much bother for him. The food wasn't always to our taste but we never went hungry.
We only found a couple of little niggles about the hotel. It is quite a hike up hill from the coach drop off point. They do collect your luggage but it would be ideal if guests could be taken up to the hotel by golf buggy as some of the other hotels do. The other niggle is the lack of any drawers in the room.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break in a centrally situated hotel which offers great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neenie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fantastic location just off the busy main square of beautiful Riva Del Garda but nice and quiet on a night.Spacious rooms which are very clean and modern.We stayed half board but found food to only be of an average standard.Dining room a bit cramped where you are virtually sat with the table next to you but other than that a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianbyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 5 nights last week. The location is spot on and its in a wonderful part of the town. Its great if you a cyclist cause its theres tracks for mountain bikes and road bikes, the views are amazing and would recommend it. However the hotel is good but not great. When we first arrived the bus was over booked so we had to wait for another 2 hours while they came back. The goood thing was the driver left us 40 euro so we had a few drinks which made the time go a bit quicker. The hotel food is lovely and the evening meal was 4 course meal which would test most hearty eaters!. We had a few issues with our room, for starters you would expect from a 4 star hotel to have an iron or tea making facilites, they had neither. The fridge didnt work and it took 2 days for them to fix it, the toilet when flushed would keep running which meant it was a bit noisy when trying to sleep.
The staff in the hotel were very nice and tried to help as much as they could.
Overall we had a great time but if we were to come back we would not stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: If you do stay here check your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading other reviews I was not sure about our choice, but was very pleased with the location, the staff were so helpful ie printing off maps explaining all local attractions, and the food was excellent, I am also quite fussy about the food I eat. There was a full buffet salad as the 1st starter then 2nd starter, then main & dessert, portions were not large but very nice, the room was very clean on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Property: Hotel Antico Borgo
Address: Via Armando Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#24 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel
Hotel Antico Borgo Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing