We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antico Borgo
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Booked this with hotelsbooked.com as it seemed a bargain especially as we flew from our local Leeds/Bradford. Transfer from the airport was a shambles but no problem with the hotel. Nice central location in a traffic free area so very quiet. No lake views but only a few minutes walk to the ferry. Food reasonably good and staff generally very helpful. Small bar area in reception and generally very clean and well run. Thinking seriously of returning this September but with another tour operator. Have stayed on Lake Garda about 8 times but never up in the north. Riva is far more pleasant than we originally thought and will be going again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank gordon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    139
    40
    11
    0
See reviews for
53
227
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for a week in September and would certainly return. The hotel has been recently renovated from top to bottom in a minimal and contemporary style and was clean as a pin.

We had requested a double room with balcony, and recived a twin with huge balcony overlooking the very quiet back street - fine by us. Since there are only a handful of balconies we felt lucky, regardless of the type of bed.

The package that we booked through Newmarket Holidays included HB (although we usually prefer to book BB) but the food was so good that we ate in every single night and just enjoyed lunches out at local restaurants.

The old town of Riva where the hotel is situated is beautiful. A minutes walk to the main square and boats. We saw some of the hotels in the newer more industrial part of Riva and were delighted that we'd chosen the Antico Borgo. Rather be next door to an Italian leather shop than a petrol station!

The only tiny hiccup was that on arriving after midnight, although our bags were collected from the coach (a great help) we were tired and perhaps didn't listen properly to the directions so got a bit lost! The welcome was warm when we arrived however, and a cold dinner had been saved for us.

All staff that we encountered were helpful and friendly.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A few rooms have balconies, so it's worth making the request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank bectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had difficulty finding the hotel,but when we did so we greated by welcoming staff.
The rooms were modern,clean and well maitained. The meals in the restaurant were typical Italian, well prepared and very taste. Also there were many choices on the menu.
The hotal is in a central location in Riva,which is a lovely town wth lots of bars and restaurnts situated at the top of lake Garda. It had a bus station and you can catch a ferry from there to other towns on the lake.
Its a place and hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank luckett2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Antico Borgo Hotel Riva we booked with thomson holidays and we were both very pleased with everthing flights and transfers all went well, the transfer from verona to riva was about 1 1/2 hours and was a very plesant coach ride. The hotel was clean and comfortable and staff very welcoming and very efficient i could not fault it and the breakfast at the hotel was buffet style and was more than enough to fill you up for the day. I went with my mum for a week september 24th 2011 the weather was great! and we were so pleased with the hotel we may not of had a balcony but the roof terrace on the 5th floor more than made up for that, with lovely views of the surrounding area and the lake, there are also a treadmill and fitness bike on the terrace also.Our room had a fridge which was empty on arrival which was ideal for you to fill up with water or wine.We stayed bed and breakfast but did eat in the retaurant for one night we had to choose what we wanted to eat from a menu given to us at breakfast that morning. We settled up our bill for the evening meal on checkout it came to 65 euros that was for a 4 course meal for two a bottle of wine and a bottle of water, the meal was very nice and if i would stay at this hotel again i would probably book half board. There was a lovely walk from riva to torbole which took about 1 hour but it is a fantastic walk all round the shoreline with plenty of places to stop and have a sit down or to paddle your feet. Riva is a great place with lots of fantastic restaurants one particular restaurant we ate at was the Osteria La Contrada and if you are staying in riva is well worth trying food great!! Overall i would say that the Hotel Antico Borgo is a clean, comfortable friendly and well presented hotel and well situated just a couple of mins walk to the lakeside and i will be looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank caroline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary in Riva Del Garda and could not have wished for a better hotel the staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble We stayed on a half board basis and the meals were enjoyable with four options to choose from.
Hotel is in a central location in Riva and within easy reach of all attractions. We travelled to other resorts on the lake on the local bus service which was reall cheap.
Met some lovely people on our stay and would especially like to congratulate Ken and Helena who were on their honeymoon, with a special mention for Phil and Carol.

Really enjoyable stay at a wonderful hotel would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Use the local bus service very cheap and easy to get round
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Mike800879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and could not fault it. The hotel is in a perfect position just minutes walk from the lake side.The rooms were clean spacious and comfortable.The staff were so efficient and friendly. The meals were lovely very italian just loved the pasta dishes was also lovely to have an outside area to relax in after a busy day.Would certainly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 201 which overlooked the shopping street - Very quite at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank raymondo644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Antico Borgo Hotel in Riva. I cannot compliment the hotel highly enough, it was excellent in every way. We had room 404 and at first sight were a little disappointed with the terrace we had paid extra for so asked for another room which they managed to show us the next day. After consideration we stayed put. The view from the small terrace was over the old town and bell tower towards the lake but you had to stand to see it. In the end it mattered not as we were out all day! The holiday was a birthday gift for my 70th birthday and a few weeks prior to going I sent the hotel an email requesting a nice room and when we checked in Carlo the receptionist mentioned this as they had taken note. Nothing was too much trouble, the service was impeccable and Luca the restaurant manager ran the dining room like clockwork. We had to choose our evening meal at breakfast which we were unsure of before we went but it presented no problem whatsoever to us. The dining room tables are close together and we were fortunate to get to know some lovely couples who we had many laughs and exchanges with. We really would recomment this hotel to anyone who enjoys the local atmosphere of their destination rather than the big hotels at the other end of Riva, as it was just a very short walk into the square where all the cafes are and the ferry port. We walked from Riva to Torbole along the lakeside walk/cycle path which was a delight but do make sure you watch out for speeding cyclist who seemed to disregard walkers along the way. All in all we had a fabulous holiday.We did find the ferry charges quite expensive but prices in the cafes and restaurants were about the same as you would pay here in the UK.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lainey1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Property: Hotel Antico Borgo
Address: Via Armando Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#24 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel
Hotel Antico Borgo Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing