We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Everything we'd hoped for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antico Borgo to your Saves list
Hotel Antico Borgo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via A Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Everything we'd hoped for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I'm very tempted to give a poor review simply to stop the secret of the Antico Borgo getting out into the wider public domain and making it harder for me to get back there again, but that wouldn't be fair. The Antico Borgo is a superb boutique style establishment, perfect as a base for exploring Lake Garda and beyond.

A ten minute stroll to the ferry terminal can get you to most places on the lake, although the southern reaches mean that you’ll probably be on the ferry most of the day with only an hour or so at your destination. However just sitting on the ferry in the sun with breeze on your face is one of life’s great pleasures in my book and not to be sniffed at.

We also picked up a car for a few days and drove around the lake as well as taking into the mountains via the Liedro Valley to see Lake Liedro and the awe-inspiring Lake Idro. The mountain roads, hairpins and tunnels can be daunting but with a bit of confidence well worth it.
Going back to the hotel, we stayed in Riva last year but decided that we’d like to be more central this time around and the Antico is just that, situated a couple of streets back from the main square and slap in the middle of the old town. The hotel itself is an 18th century building which has undergone a very sympathetic contempory modernisation.

Our room was on the second floor and while having no balcony was quite big enough for our needs with two comfortable beds and a modern bathroom with large walk in shower. The room had a safe deposit box and TV as well as a very handy fridge for storing water, wine and beer for late evening drinks on the roof terrace.

There was a large modern reception area with bar which was staffed by very friendly and knowledgeable young ladies, leading to the restaurant. We booked the B&B option as we like sampling local fare (the little restaurant in the courtyard behind the hotel (Alpino), was excellent and well populated by locals), so couldn’t comment on the evening meal option, but breakfasts were acceptable and well presented by an efficient waiting team, even if at the end of two weeks, they were a little repetitive (I’m not sure when I’ll be able to face scrambled eggs again!).

As mentioned earlier there was a rooftop sun terrace which did get very hot during the day, but was open in evenings and we often took a bottle of wine up there later in an evening to take in the sights and sounds of Riva and the lake.

All in all we were delighted with this hotel and intend to stay again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or a room at the back of the hotel which in fact looks out over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SteveWatling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    118
    36
    10
    0
See reviews for
47
195
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday in this hotel. Although situated in quite a busy street it is very tranquil. Our room was comfortable. The only slight problem was lack of drawers, so we had to keep some clothes in the suitcase. On the other hand, when it came time to pack, we didn't leave anything behind, because there was nowhere to put them! There is a lovely area on the top floor terrace with stunning views all round. Near to the lake and lovely town of Riva, with excellent food. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the whole hotel seemed to run like clockwork. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms do look out onto blank walls due to the location of the hotel being in a narrow street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We booked with Thompson for this hotel and we were delayed by 3 hrs because the "old plane" broke down. Only 1hr 20 mins flying time.
When we got to Riva we were told that our cases would be picked up for us, great service I thought, I was wrong !. When we got off the coach the Thompson rep gave us a map and pointed us to the main square, "go up there and round the corner and up the hill" we was told. it was dark and we got lost,
We arrived at the hotel and what a great place to be, at least the cases had arrived safely you could not be in a better place for the main Riva shops, Bars and Restaurants. Large clean rooms and spotlessly clean, modern bathrooms, we stayed in 212. The staff were fantastic, Sabrina, Daira, and sabine, Luca and the manager, thank you all very much.
Both my wife and I thought the breakfast was poor, very little choice and the only eggs available were so called srambled eggs, and the continental breakfast was not much better.
We had booked on a B&B basis but resorted to coffee and toast for 3 mornings but then the very nice coffee was served almost cold so opted to go the the excellent coffee shop next door for even better coffee and fab pastries.

In summary, if you like to be in the main town for bars and shops but in a nice qiet hotel this is the place, but if like me you like a full cooked breakfast this hotle does fall a little short in my opinion.

The only other feature I missed was a private outside space, no balconies the tearrce on the roof did not have any shade available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penicuik
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here the last week of August, and what a wonderful holiday. This is a really great hotel and would recommend it to anyone. I am 'in love' with Italy!! Lake Garda is beautiful and after travelling around and seeing almost all of the lakeside towns, Riva was definately my favourite town. Old charming, and beautiful. And the shops, wow, so many great shops i didn't expect!

The hotel was spotlessly clean and ultra modern. The staff were very nice. I would agree with previous reviews in saying that the only slightly negative thing to say is the rooms are on the small side but absolutely no complaints. Really very comfortable beds, and great air conditioning. There was a view of a brick wall from our window, but then we never were in our room very long.

We did bed and breakfast at the hotel which was great. Maybe slightly repetitive towards the end of the week but overall really very nice.

We hired a car which we did on a previous italy holiday and found fantastic. This is obviously not for everyone and it was my partner only that did the driving. This gave us the freedom to see more places and spend as much time in places as we wanted. However other people we spoke to found the ferries excellent.
We spend a day in Venice which can be done as a tour through most rep's which I just loved!! Venice is so beautiful, and not smelly at all! Definately will return for a weekend and you must have a gondola ride, out of this world! Venice is about 2 hours from Riva but well worth it.
We also did Verona, which is equally beautiful. We saw romeo and juliet's houses and the famous balcony, which was lovely. We saw the opera at night too, absolutely amazing!! The Arena is a fantastic venue, a must i'd say if you visit Verona.

We spent a day on bikes too, hired from a shop nearby from the hotel which was great. We rode into Arco, a fair cycle but another beautiful old town with more fab shops!

I could write a novel on how much we enjoyed the holiday and this hotel!
We will definately come back here, can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gem-urban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I booked the hotel back in October 2010 for Lou's birthday 6/9/11. I did the usual and check other places but settled on the Antico because of the reviews by other people. We travelled with Inghams and from the arrival everything was great. I had requested a bottle in the room as a surprise and also a cake on the 6th, both were done along with an extra bottle given by the hotel. We asked for a good room and was given 404 which had a big balcony with 2 sunbeds. Nothing was to much trouble by any of the staff, the food was excellent from buffet breakfast to the 4 course evening meal. You are given the evening menu at breakfast which gives you a salad starter then a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and then 4 deserts. Yon need to visit "Cristallo" for an ice cream and for a special meal go to "Al Volt". Riva is something from a film set you can spend hours people watching and just chilling out. There are plenty of shops and eating places, the bus service is easy to use and the ferry's are just as easy. I would say this has to be one of the friendliest hotels we've stayed at, go and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrjonrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Lovely hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were kept very clean.
We found the location was excellent as you literally walked out the hotel door and were in a narrow cobbled street in the town, everything was within 5 minutes e.g. the lakeside, museum-fortress, cafes, restaurants. We used a cafe which was only about 50yds from the hotel (you can see it in the photo) for some of our lunches and sat outside watching the world go by--really nice.
Even though we had a first floor room on the main street I was surprised how quiet it was.
We booked half board thinking it would be expensive eating out (previous visit to Sorrento proved very expensive) but found the prices not too bad in the town.
Breakfasts were nice with a choice of breads--scrambled eggs--bacon or sausage--fruits--cereal. Evening meals were 4 courses--you complete a form in the morning to tell them what meal you want that night, no rush to try and get a particular table--you get what they give you and keep it for the duration of your holiday.
The food was generally good with some main courses better some nights and Starters were excellent .
We did feel at times that meal time was like a production line for certain staff who seemed to take your plate away as soon as you finished and get the next course straight to you (this was only maybe 1 or 2 staff who were friendly but maybe a bit too enthusiastic!)
rooms are very clean and have a fridge and safe.
A previous review commented that the air conditioning goes off at 11.30pm, this was not the case for us, it was on whenever we needed it.
I would definitely 100% recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Riva and would have no problems staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teluk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We flew from Manchester and firstly we couldn't believe how fast we got there! Only an hour and a half on the plane, even then the pilot announced he'd try and get us there faster. So just 1hr 20m all in all to Verona.
When we got to the hotel, we pulled up beside the harbour and our bags were unloaded into a little tow van which took our things up to the hotel. We were met by the harbour by our lovely rep Jenny who was very pleasant and helpful. She walked us past the harbour, through Riva square (beware of the pigeons!) and up the little cobbled street which took us to the Antico Borgo nestled between quaint Italian cafes, shops, ice cream parlours and restaurants. Beautiful! With the Antico Borgo and Riva YOU KNOW YOU'RE IN ITALY! You see we've been to many places and we've always thought we could be anywhere it's all so 'same'y' but not this place, it's Italian and chic.
Lake Garda is breath taking, stunning....fabulous, it so very pretty. We had some beautiful walks to Torbole and Arco, some of the views are amazing on the lake front. We took some fabulous pictures as I'm a photographer and was in my element!
I highly recommend getting a FERRY timetable, we got given one by our rep but as far as I know they are available from the ticker office which is on the harbour opposite where the transfer coach drops you off. They are quite difficult to understand, think lots of numbers and times, many many ferrys going to here, there and everywhere. But our rep talked us through it and we were fine. We got the ferry to Malcesine, Limone and Torbale. Nice places, Italian beauty again but all in all very similar places. Lots of leather shops everywhere! my daughter was in her element armed with her euros!
We did want to go to Garda and the beautiful Sirmione however they were too far (for us) to travel by ferry. I think it was a 6 hour round trip but well worth it if your willing to get up very early and get home very late. I've heard Sirmione is fantastic, so well worth a day out.
There is the chance with Thompson to go on a trip of the south of the lake for around 200 euros which we opted out of but when we return next year we'll definitely do.

Room was lovely, beds were THE most COMFY beds I've ever slept in on holiday...really. Usually I'm very fussy when it comes to beds too! We had a standard twin room, a very high view room - we were room 407 I think. Lovely partial lake view and no noise from above. We were disappointed not to have a balcony as we like to have that extra space but Thompson don't list them as an option even to pay a supplement. We also missed our English TV (SAD! but true) We did have a world news channel bbc....so we were all very informed that week what was going on!! Rooms were spotless and super modern which we loved, maid was fab not a speckle of dirt anywhere!
We phoned home from our rooms and this worked out on the hotel bedroom phone at around a euro per minute. We did look at the pay phones in the area but we couldnt work them out. Apparently you need to load them with credit at the shops and use a phone card?? Far too complicated for us digital immigrants.

We did bed and breakfast at the hotel which was perfect. Breakfast was fab, wide selection to cater to anyone. I grew fond of yoghurt and oats! But there was cooked breakfast, a selection of breads, cake, croissants, jams, cereals, juices. The waiters come round asking if anyone wants tea / coffee....the coffee is fabulous, a must have!! Yum yum, we could have sat all day drinking it. Very strong but Italian through and through!

In the evenings we dined out. Top pick for restuarants was the Leon, it is fabulous, great food, great service, fair prices. You couldn't want more. We ate here 3 times. It is on the same street as the Antico Borgo as you walk towards to square. White front and it run by an older lady who was lovely, she was always working when we walked past...a grafter! Fresh fish was fabulous in Riva as you could imagine, where ever we ate. Salmon, trout, lobster, muscles, clams....all wonderful.

BEWARE lake front restaurants are a lot more expensive and the quality isn't always what you think. We had a bad meal one night at a restaurant on the square, literally a microwaved meal that took 5 minutes to come. Yuck! Never went back. Cant remember the name....Bella something maybe. The red place!

We had lovely ice cream from Hotel Sole by the harbour. The Flora hotel also did ice cream although quite a walk from the hotel, which was nice. A lot of people raved about the ice cream being the best in the area from there, but we thought it was average. Satisfied the sweet tooth!

We were lucky to have beautiful weather. There was a thunderstorm and rain on the last evening of our stay so we did very well as I heard Riva could be temperamental. It was always sunny and warm with a lovely breeze in the air especially by the lake which was really refreshing. Nothing worse than it being too hot to breath!

A moan was Thompson picked us up FAR too early on the way home, pro we didn't miss our flight but it meant killing almost 3 hours in Verona airport which was perhaps the most tedious boring time of my life, well, almost. Take a book and get a seat as soon as you can...because there aren't many around and you don't want to be sat on the floor for hours.

All in all, great holiday. We'll go back!

Room Tip: High view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank littlebitofsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici
Hotel Portici
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Property: Hotel Antico Borgo
Address: via A Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#24 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel
Hotel Antico Borgo Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing