We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyableholiday”
Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antico Borgo
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We travelled with Newmarket Holidays from Blackpool to Verona, the coach trip from Verona to Riva taking about an hour. A van took our luggage to the hotel from the coach drop-off point and we were directed on foot where there was a very pleasant welcome from the receptionists. We were given a first floor room which was a good size with the 2 windows set back from the street which meant we were often unsure of the weather until we went out into the street. There was an excellent shower room with an excellent shower (which never fluctuated) and the water was lovely and soft. The room was cleaned well by a pleasant young woman from eastern europe and towels and sheets were changed regularly. There was a trio of girls in the next room who obviously found the nightlife in Riva as it was 4:00am when they got in one day which was very disturbing but apart from that we had no problems with noise. The breakfast selection was very good with a token gesture of some cooked but mostly fruit, cheese, yoghurt, cooked meats, different breads and pastries and a good selection of tea, coffee, etc. The evening meal was good but not gourmet and we were asked to choose at breakfast what we would want in the evening.
We found the hotel was in a good location in the centre of the old town within walking distance of the ferry terminal and bus station. There was a lovely walk alongside the lake to Tarbole but beware of the bikes who share much of the path. We used the ferry to get to most of the rest of the lake but then found the buses were cheaper and easy to use once we learnt where and when they were going. A bus journey to Verona takes 2 hours 10 minutes along the eastern side of the lake but they are very comfortable and only cost 5 euros each single. Just check what time the last bus returns.
A street map from reception will show you the way to the Bastion which overlooks Riva. It is a good walk up the hill with benches along the way to rest and take in the view and a nice cafe at the top. It is possible to walk further up to the wayside shrine which is lit up at night and looks like it is suspended in mid air.
We had most of our last day to spend in Riva but there is a luggage store in the hotel for use after checking out. Again, the receptionist was very helpful when there was confusion about what time we should meet the coach and a van was on hand to transport luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 404 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel after the initial hick-up of arguing over the fact a cot wasn't in our room and they wanted to charge us 58 Euro's, I wouldn't of minded but we paid £30 to Thomson for just that, anyway moving on the bed was comfy. Our room on the third floor was very quiet when it came to Outside noise but unfortuantely the walls couldn't muffle the man snoring (who was unbeleivable loud!!) but after he left we couldn't hear a peep from our neighbours.
Our room was always kept immaculate by the maid and although as we didn't have a balcony there was plenty of light let in by the two huge windows. The furnishings are nice enough although quite simplistic but then it is "small & friendly".
I found the lift to be quite small (think 1 pram and 1 adult and its full or 2 adults and 2 suitcases - TIGHT SQUEEZE), the lift is slow so use the stairs where possible beacuse I got up the three flights of stairs before my husband arrived with the pram.
I loved Lake Garda and found our rep; Jenny to be very pleasent. Although be aware that they are advising the trip to Venice takes 2 hours - it doesn't it takes 3 hours 20 minutes by the time you dock in St. Marks Square, this is mainly beacuse they like to have a 15 minute rest stop on the way.
I can only give HIGH recommendations for the Centrale Restaurant which faces the like, I never got the name of the Manager but he MADE our holiday, after giving my 15 month old ice cream on the first night every other night we visited we where presented with sparkling wine. Also the highchair there is a good one suitable for a toddler unlike some restaurants which only offered one's that fasten to the table (not a good idea with a wiggly 15 month old). I really enjoyed the Seawolf and would recommend trying it.
I also have to recommend the ice cream at the Sole Hotel Ice cream parlour and the Restaurant around the corner who again served up fabulous food - HIGHLY recommend the swordfish or any fish here as its all good.
How the Italians eat 4/5 courses I don't know as we had one main and a couple of complimentary breadsticks and it was more then enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband needs a wheelchair to get around. We were slightly anxious as this hotel is not adapted for wheelchairs but we need not have worried. Because we had told them in advance, we were allocated a room on the third floor (the lift accepts a wheelchair and a squashed in wife!) which had loads of room to navigate around. All the floors were either tiled or wooden which made everything simple. There is a ramp to the dining room and waiter service which was great. The manager even fixed the wheelchair when a tyre became loose. The food was pretty good but very regional. The location was fabulous but there is a slight incline up from the Lake to the hotel but I managed to push the old man up to the hotel without too much trouble. Staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. Delightful stay in one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Italy. The Cafe Troiani just a couple of doors up from the hotel serves the best cup of (Tetley or PG Tips) tea in Riva! The roof terrace at the hotel is fabulous when the sun is up or watching the moon rise over the mountains with a bottle of wine at night.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem, talk to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkeypetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Had a fab holiday, views of the lake are stunning. The hotel was in a great location, right in the heart of the town in Riva, room quite basic, but clean and tidy, no self catering amenties at all, cleaned daily and towels changed regulary. Hotel staff polite, not overly friendly but ok. they did help arrange our car hire as our rep was unable to help. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, breakfast was basic but nice, didn't have an evening meal there so couldn't comment, although heard alot of other guests say how nice they were. The hotel has a small bar area (in the reception area) and a nice small roof terrace, which had lovely views, you can also take your own drinks up to the terrace which was much cheaper than purchasing at the bar, they seemed quite relaxed about it. Riva was lovely, very relaxed and chilled as was all of the other towns we visited, if you get the chance the Venice trip was fab, long day but worth it, the local boat service was brilliant - not to expensive either - (15 euros x2 return to malcesine and 30 euros x2 return to limonie), which were lovely villiages and well worth visiting if you can. We walked to the next town in Torbolne which was also very nice and a lovely walk along the lake. We travelled with Thomsons, have to say great service from start to fininsh. Its not a place for late night bars and clubs, but we didn't go there for that reason, but would probably be livelier in the main months.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and would recomend the hotel and area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrscUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in the summer & found it to be in a great location with very helpful & friendly staff. The rooms are quite small but have more than enough space for all your things. I would recommend this hotel to anybody & thought that it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constance23187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Neither my partner nor I had ever been to Italy before so it was with some trepidation we took this trip. However, there was no need to have worried. This clean and comfortable hotel located very close to the lake yet in a typical Italian cobbled street was friendly and welcoming. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and maintained so throughout our stay. The views from the roof top terrace were stunningly beautiful, and a lovely place to relax with a drink. The staff were efficient and understood English.

The breakfasts had an excellent choice on offer for all tastes, and there was a good selection for the evening meals. However, I would say that the food in the evenings was not quite up to scratch, and would have preferred to have eaten out.

We would certainly return to Riva again and would have no problems staying at the Antico Borgo again either.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Just returned from Riva. We stayed at this lovely hotel and was very impressed by the service we received. Our room was on the first floor over looking the front of the hotel. It was small but met our needs. It was clean, had comfy beds and a lovely bathroom although the shower was a bit small. Although we overlooked the street it was surprisingly quite and with the added bonus of the rooftop terrace we felt we really didn't need a balcony which we normally request. Although the terrace was advertised as only open till 9pm we had no problems with sitting up there till very late with a bottle of wine purchased very cheaply from the shop around the corner. The food was really lovely we had stayed on a half board basis and had a choice of 3 or 4 options for each course which we picked at breakfast time. All the staff were extremely friendly and professional making us feel very special. We had heard other people from various hotels in Riva saying they felt rushed at dinner time this was not the case here. The hotel is central to everything. A great place to stay We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CaroleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#38 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Address: Via Armando Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $102 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing