We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable - service with a smile (even for a wheelchair user)”
Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Antico Borgo
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
North West
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbeatable - service with a smile (even for a wheelchair user)”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband needs a wheelchair to get around. We were slightly anxious as this hotel is not adapted for wheelchairs but we need not have worried. Because we had told them in advance, we were allocated a room on the third floor (the lift accepts a wheelchair and a squashed in wife!) which had loads of room to navigate around. All the floors were either tiled or wooden which made everything simple. There is a ramp to the dining room and waiter service which was great. The manager even fixed the wheelchair when a tyre became loose. The food was pretty good but very regional. The location was fabulous but there is a slight incline up from the Lake to the hotel but I managed to push the old man up to the hotel without too much trouble. Staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. Delightful stay in one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Italy. The Cafe Troiani just a couple of doors up from the hotel serves the best cup of (Tetley or PG Tips) tea in Riva! The roof terrace at the hotel is fabulous when the sun is up or watching the moon rise over the mountains with a bottle of wine at night.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem, talk to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkeypetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    143
    42
    11
    0
See reviews for
54
237
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Had a fab holiday, views of the lake are stunning. The hotel was in a great location, right in the heart of the town in Riva, room quite basic, but clean and tidy, no self catering amenties at all, cleaned daily and towels changed regulary. Hotel staff polite, not overly friendly but ok. they did help arrange our car hire as our rep was unable to help. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, breakfast was basic but nice, didn't have an evening meal there so couldn't comment, although heard alot of other guests say how nice they were. The hotel has a small bar area (in the reception area) and a nice small roof terrace, which had lovely views, you can also take your own drinks up to the terrace which was much cheaper than purchasing at the bar, they seemed quite relaxed about it. Riva was lovely, very relaxed and chilled as was all of the other towns we visited, if you get the chance the Venice trip was fab, long day but worth it, the local boat service was brilliant - not to expensive either - (15 euros x2 return to malcesine and 30 euros x2 return to limonie), which were lovely villiages and well worth visiting if you can. We walked to the next town in Torbolne which was also very nice and a lovely walk along the lake. We travelled with Thomsons, have to say great service from start to fininsh. Its not a place for late night bars and clubs, but we didn't go there for that reason, but would probably be livelier in the main months.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and would recomend the hotel and area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrscUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in the summer & found it to be in a great location with very helpful & friendly staff. The rooms are quite small but have more than enough space for all your things. I would recommend this hotel to anybody & thought that it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constance23187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Neither my partner nor I had ever been to Italy before so it was with some trepidation we took this trip. However, there was no need to have worried. This clean and comfortable hotel located very close to the lake yet in a typical Italian cobbled street was friendly and welcoming. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and maintained so throughout our stay. The views from the roof top terrace were stunningly beautiful, and a lovely place to relax with a drink. The staff were efficient and understood English.

The breakfasts had an excellent choice on offer for all tastes, and there was a good selection for the evening meals. However, I would say that the food in the evenings was not quite up to scratch, and would have preferred to have eaten out.

We would certainly return to Riva again and would have no problems staying at the Antico Borgo again either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Just returned from Riva. We stayed at this lovely hotel and was very impressed by the service we received. Our room was on the first floor over looking the front of the hotel. It was small but met our needs. It was clean, had comfy beds and a lovely bathroom although the shower was a bit small. Although we overlooked the street it was surprisingly quite and with the added bonus of the rooftop terrace we felt we really didn't need a balcony which we normally request. Although the terrace was advertised as only open till 9pm we had no problems with sitting up there till very late with a bottle of wine purchased very cheaply from the shop around the corner. The food was really lovely we had stayed on a half board basis and had a choice of 3 or 4 options for each course which we picked at breakfast time. All the staff were extremely friendly and professional making us feel very special. We had heard other people from various hotels in Riva saying they felt rushed at dinner time this was not the case here. The hotel is central to everything. A great place to stay We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaroleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Great hotel - clean, central, nicely furnished, good breakfast and perfect staff. Thanks Federica.

Also visit Leone D'Oro restaurant round the corner - awesome food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucianoAnastasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have been going to Riva since 1996 and this was our first stay at the Antico Borgo. We took our eldest son this time as he had never been to Italy. From the moment we arrived our welcome was outstanding - reception was very friendly, our rooms where great 412 and 410, very clean, great bathroom and oustanding views over the town. Dining was good with a fantastic salad bar in the evening and attentive staff. Riva is just as good as when we went the first time and we reccomend the Bar Cristello by the ferry point for value and service.
On the downside we reccomend that when you depart from Verona Airport that you do not go through to final departure until it is time to start boarding. There is no room to sit, very hot and lack of organisation.
But overall we had a great holiday and will certainly go back to the Antico Borgo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonedgeLymeRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Property: Hotel Antico Borgo
Address: Via Armando Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#24 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel
Hotel Antico Borgo Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing