We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect to be under impressed.”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed October 21, 2009

2 friends and I stayed at this hotel with Leger Holidays. Their brochure described the hotel as 3*, this we think is over generous and would suggest a 2* or even 1* would be more appropriate. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean but the rooms we were allocated were very small and shabby. I had a single occupancy room and had to make a conscious effort not to stub my toes when moving around the bedroom. The double room shared by my friends was a little better space wise but not much. The furniture in both rooms was very tired and basic. The air conditioning in our rooms was so weak it made absolutely no difference and as a result very uncomfortable to be in and sleeping at night was a real struggle. The air conditioning in the dining room also was totally ineffective - no chance of lingering over a meal. The food was edible but of poor quality and lacking in variety. Only on a couple of occasions were we served what could be considered Italian dishes and even then the pizza was almost inedible. Deserts appeared to be made from packet mixes. Apart from melon no fresh fruit was served. Tinned fruit was served at breakfast.

I wrote to Leger with our comments after the holiday in July and, apart from an acknowledgement and promise of a response within 28 days, am still waiting almost 3 months later.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pj1Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

Have just returned from a Leger holiday at the Royal, and can not fault the place. Staff were friendly very helpful and hard working. Our only gripe was the air con needs seeing to.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

no air conditioning we went with leger because we trusted them to use a good hotel but the room was that hot one night we slept as close to balcony as possible spoilt holiday shower door wouldnt shut, bedrooms a bit grotty but food ok

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willywebbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just home from a pleasant stay at this hotel. We were A,O,A in Verona booked a month earlier, travelled up the Brenner motorway arriving 3hrs later, delayed by an accident/roadworks other tourists etc.
Most of the previous negative reviews have a valid point, e,g, rating etc, but this did`nt stop us from having a good time!!
The food was adequate, afternoon coffee and cakes. Staff very helpfull.
The rooms could do with a good refurbish. Not a 4* (had to settle bar bill with cash as cards not accepted) No pool towels provided so take your own!!
The hotel is situated about a 2 min walk fom the lake edge and 20 mins to ferry point in the old town.
" You get what you pay for"

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ledjutlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Recently returned from a stay - also through Leger. Not sure where all the complaints below have come from.

Firstly - star ratings on the continent are different to what we're used to in the UK. Their standards are lower - remember that it was not rated by Leger but by an Italian tourist company (hence the stars on the hotel's sign).

Secondly I want to address the food issue. As our English tour guide (who's lived in Italy for 30years) pointed out to us - any food you get is as a result of many years of foreigners going over and asking for omelette's. Italians (especially hotelliers) are aware that many people visiting their country don't want to eat Italian food - heaven knows why someone wouldn't want Italian food!!!!! They are trying to cater for us but don't understand what WE eat - hence the rather bizarre food choices some nights. Still I don't think many people could complain having a 4-5course meal served for them every night. We certainly didn't experience anything re-heated or re-served. Everything looked pretty fresh and, as a vegetarian, I'm normally the first to complain about food but the staff were lovely and made me pasta without meat and omelette's if I wanted one.

The staff are lovely and speak very good English. They're also super-efficient.
Our room was comfortable and spacious (2 single beds to form a 'double' and another single bed if we wanted to utilise it). TV with CNN and a sports channel after 6pm. Nice view of the mountains. Very good location for town and the lake. Residents also have the option of using the Health and Wellbeing Centre at the nearby Hotel Oasi.

I honestly have no complaints although meat-eaters would complain that they didn't understand what was being served to them. Which I guess is fair enough but the hotel does a nice tiramisu!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenmedusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Stayed here with Leger holidays having paid a single room supplement of £139. On arrival thats what I got, a single room with a single bed. When I complained to the receptionist the reply was straight out of Fawlty Towers, "but its got a lovely view". About 20 minutes later I was given another room which was the same size but with a double bed which restricted any movement in the room. The room could have done with a lick of paint and the shower screen was broken . I don't know how this hotel was given four stars. Prior to arrival we had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Rheims which had a French classification of two stars and was far superior to the rooms at this hotel. From Looking at the latest from Leger, they are now describing it as a 3 star hotel. Perhaps they should go down even further. On the plus side. It is in a very good location, the staff are very friendly and helpful but it doesn't make up for the overall standard. Beware of eating in the hotel on a Friday. Its all fish dishes most of which is carp (anag).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithfromPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I agree with the reviewer below on most points. These include the breakfast (yes the eggs are cold and have black in them) and the dinner. How many ways can the food be re - served the following night. Left overs were put into a salad the following evening. (Including fish!) We had pork every night apart from one. The food is served buffet style and is cold and tasteless.
Yes the walls are very thin.

Want to go on a diet then go to this hotel as you certainly wont eat much. Some people did not even visit the dinning room after the first two nights.

The good points very clean. Very friendly staff. Beds very comfortable The location is only a 15 min walk along the lake to the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsPoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Villa Miravalle
Hotel Villa Miravalle
#30 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#53 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#19 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#45 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via Longa, 8, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#19 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $93 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CULTURE OF HOSPITALITY The Royal Hotel boasts a warm welcome and a central but quiet; located just 100 meters from Lake Garda, its beaches and the pedestrian promenade and bicycle path along the lake for 1.5 km until you get in the historic center of Riva del Garda. The hotel has 54 standard rooms with classic style and very comfortable and offer many services: mountain-view balcony or pool view, safe, wi-fi, telephone, television, minibar. It enjoys pleasant common areas such as bar, restaurant serving breakfast and dinner with rich buffet, outdoor swimming pool surrounded by greenery of the garden, whirlpool, beach chairs and umbrellas, a garden where you can relax in the sun or shade of beautiful pine trees; parking point with information, bike rental. All staff are like a big family and is always attentive to the needs of customers to be able to spend the best holiday. The Royal is waiting on Lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing