We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Albergo Ancora - Not an anchor to stay in Riva Del Garda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Ancora
Ranked #29 of 32 Riva Del Garda B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Albergo Ancora - Not an anchor to stay in Riva Del Garda”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

Albergo Ancora is located in Via Montanara within the walls of the old town - in fact most of it lies "Intra Mura". It is well located and close to shopping and the main sights and the ferry. The rooms either face Viale Dante or Via Diaz. Those facing Via Diaz can be noisy from the restaurants in the area as well as those in Via Disciplini and Piazza Cavour (the noise carries). It is close to Piazza delle erbe where there is a small fruit and vegetable market in the mornings. There is a small lift to the rooms. A small lounge lies between the outdoor restaurant and the main restaurant. There is also a covered rooftop restaurant which is probably used in summer or on special occasions. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and is not particularly good. The ham, salami and cheese were all tastless and the bread and toast inedible. Yoghurt was only 2 flavours - vanilla and straberry. Hardboiled eggs and cake were sometimes provided. There was no choice of beverages and if one did not drink tea or coffee hot chocolate was a chore for the staff to organise.
The rooms were small but reasonably furnished. The toilet was clean though somewhat dark. The toilet lid collapsed on you when you used the toilet. There was no air conditioner or fan and in hot weather one had to decide whether to sufficate or sleep with the windows open and contend with the mosquitos and the noisy restaurants which seem to go until the early hours of the morning.
We would not stay at this hotel if we revisited Riva Del Garda.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasputin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    22
    11
    22
See reviews for
17
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

If you are considering booking this hotel, contact them directly rather than using a third-party website. They passed the commission fee on to us, meaning we paid more than the maximum room rates we later found displayed in the hotel. I don't know whether this is strictly illegal but it certainly strikes me as sharp practice and they would not be swayed when challenged. Certain facilities promised by the website we used, such as early check-in, were also not available. These irritations overshadowed our impression of our stay at an otherwise OK hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overcharged
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kfg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

London
Level Contributor
284 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

Two-star Albergo Ancora is in a quaint cobbled alleyway beside a historic gateway to the Old Town. It's a quiet location - a pleasant two minute walk from the busy harbour.

The hotel is in a pedestrianised zone and has no parking of its own. If you're coming by car, you'll need to grab a two-hour space on Viale Dante and carry your bags from there. The only free long term parking we could find was a ten minute walk away on Via Monte Oro, where we were lucky to get a space.

The Ancora's cave-like reception area oozes charm. The staff didn't speak much English, so I had a chance to practise my rusty Italian. We were unhappy that our passports - which we handed over for the staff to copy down our details - were kept in a piegon hole on open view to anyone walking through. And we later had some difficulty finding the hotel boss to complete the formalities and return the passports to us. He didn't seem particularly friendly. Why on earth can't they copy down your details on arrival and give you the passports back there and then?

Our comfortable and spacious room (number 310) on the top floor was on the north side of the building. Our balcony looked down over the terrace of the hotel's popular restaurant. There was a faint rumbling from the kitchen extractor fan during the evening, but it wasn't a major nuisance. The room had a TV with Italian and German channels.

The huge bed was effectively two singles zipped together, and very comfortable. The bathroom was 'compact' but clean. The shower lacked water pressure and was prone to cut out when other people in the building were using theirs.

The breakfast buffet was OK but not particularly memorable. The coffee provided in a communal jug was desperately weak but the staff are happy to make people a decent cappucino. Music played in the restraurant at breakfast was way too loud.

The doors of the hotel lift jammed whenever it arrived on the third floor. To get round this on our departure morning we took our bags down a level but ended up getting STUCK in the lift on the second floor! Fortunately our muffled cries were heard by a passing British guest who summoned help.

We paid 80 Euros per night for our room during a two night stay. Overall it was reasonable but not outstanding value for this popular resort.

  • Liked — Charming location
  • Disliked — Weak shower and indifferent service
  • Tips/Secrets — If you're bringing your own car, don't choose this hotel due to lack of parking
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

Albergo Ristorante Ancora - Attached to a very good restaurant in Riva, this small B&B offers nice clean rooms that are well decorated.

Tucked away off one of the main shopping streets and literally a few minutes from the ferry terminal and bus station, this B&B is handy for all the main areas in Riva.

Rooms are nicely done out, and the proximity to the restaurant means getting a table is never a problem!

Would have no problems recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giardino Verdi
Hotel Giardino Verdi
#46 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Montanara
La Montanara
#16 of 32 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Alpino
Casa Alpino
#14 of 32 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Residence Trieste
#24 of 36 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Alle Porte
Albergo Alle Porte
#9 of 32 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Ancora

Property: Albergo Ristorante Ancora
Address: Via Montanara 2, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Ristorante Ancora 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiny butmost valuable details,intense and fascinating atmospheres,still functioning and active settlements have maintained the ancient characteristics of medieval city.The Hotel Ancora lies discreet on the pedestrian precint inside the ancient walls of Riva,just 150 metres away from the banks of the lake garda and a few minutes from Congress Centre.Rooms teeming with history and conforts are furnished to recreate the old magnificence in pursuit of suspending the time.Typical italian cuisine,gastronomical varieties from seafood to meat assortment,to the traditional Pizza everything accompanied by excellent local wines in its inviting and cosy restaurant "Ancora" or in its splendid terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Ancora Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing