We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Ancora
Ranked #30 of 33 Riva Del Garda B&B and Inns
Whidbey Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stumbled across the Ancora and are glad we did. The location is perfect--built right into the old city wall and above the pedestrian only street Via Dante Aligheri. Our room was right above the upper terrace of the restaurant, but even on Saturday night the party sounds (which were quite pleasant, mostly) were over by 10 or so. The room was fine, but the big selling point is that it was one of two with a balcony overlooking the town, where so much of the daily life is in the streets. It's convenient to the lakeshore (though the swimming beach is a 10-15 minute walk away), close to the ferry dock, and about 1 km away from the bus station. Close to many restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Service wasn't great, and we were a little concerned that there was rarely anyone at the front desk--leaving all our room keys at risk of being used by someone else.

Room Tip: 11 and 12 have the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhidbeyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    22
    11
    22
See reviews for
17
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here two nights on walking trip, management difficult booked a twin room got double didn't help change it. Smelt on 3rd floor. Dinner awful, breakfast ordinary. Guests not allowed to sit at tables to have drink and do internet. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

Soenderborg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Did not stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. Food was nice BUT service was totally unacceptable! We are a family of four and we ordered our meal - some had pasta with a side salad and some had a main course salad. We asked for all dishes to be served together. Well first one main course salad and the side salad arrived. After having clarified that we ordered two main course salads the second arrived and then nothing.... after about 20 min and with the salads long finished we asked for our pasta. it took another 20 minutes or so before this arrived and we certainly did not feel that we had received teh experience that we had expected i.e. to enjoy a meal together. Waiting staff and owner were apologetic, but I did not feel that I got value for money even though they took 10 percent off the bill (only after being asked for compensation several times). I would never eat there again as I really feel that staff and management were indifferent and inefficient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneClerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I loved the location of this Hotel. It was right in the middle of the historical centre and everything was on the door step. It was good value - nothing too fancy but everything you needed. The biggest disappointment was some of the staff. The yound girl doing breakfast - Kate i think, was lovely but the other young girl on the dinner shift and young guy were very unfriendly and rude at times. The owner has a gorgeous Jack Russell dog called Marly who made the stay a little more pleasant. It was the end of the season but no excuse to be rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastTakingOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We booked Hotel Vittoria for one night, but there were some overbookings, so the man at the reception offered us to find another hotel. He took us to this hotel. It was nice, but not so big rooms, parking for 5 euro, clean rooms. We had a great food in the reasturant. It was 80 euros per night with breakfast. The tv could have more channels, but in holiday is okay :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andiii11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel is well situated in the town of Riva del Garda but not lakeside. It is above a very popular restaurant but no noise was evident in the room. As with many European hotels, the rooms and access lifts are small and double beds are two singles held together by sheets so the beds tend to part after a short amount of use. It has an ensuite bathroom but no hairdryer. Hot water fluctuates at peak usage times. Rooms are carpeted, have TV with CNN, phone but no wi fi or internet, They are tastefully furnished and serviced daily. Breakfast is quite good and there is a nice fruit shop just outside the back door. Towels were not changed for the duration of our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Albergo Ancora is located in Via Montanara within the walls of the old town - in fact most of it lies "Intra Mura". It is well located and close to shopping and the main sights and the ferry. The rooms either face Viale Dante or Via Diaz. Those facing Via Diaz can be noisy from the restaurants in the area as well as those in Via Disciplini and Piazza Cavour (the noise carries). It is close to Piazza delle erbe where there is a small fruit and vegetable market in the mornings. There is a small lift to the rooms. A small lounge lies between the outdoor restaurant and the main restaurant. There is also a covered rooftop restaurant which is probably used in summer or on special occasions. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and is not particularly good. The ham, salami and cheese were all tastless and the bread and toast inedible. Yoghurt was only 2 flavours - vanilla and straberry. Hardboiled eggs and cake were sometimes provided. There was no choice of beverages and if one did not drink tea or coffee hot chocolate was a chore for the staff to organise.
The rooms were small but reasonably furnished. The toilet was clean though somewhat dark. The toilet lid collapsed on you when you used the toilet. There was no air conditioner or fan and in hot weather one had to decide whether to sufficate or sleep with the windows open and contend with the mosquitos and the noisy restaurants which seem to go until the early hours of the morning.
We would not stay at this hotel if we revisited Riva Del Garda.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasputin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura
Antiche Mura
#31 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#40 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canarino
Canarino
#36 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Alle Porte
Albergo Alle Porte
#8 of 33 in Riva Del Garda
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Ancora

Property: Albergo Ristorante Ancora
Address: Via Montanara 2, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Ristorante Ancora 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiny butmost valuable details,intense and fascinating atmospheres,still functioning and active settlements have maintained the ancient characteristics of medieval city.The Hotel Ancora lies discreet on the pedestrian precint inside the ancient walls of Riva,just 150 metres away from the banks of the lake garda and a few minutes from Congress Centre.Rooms teeming with history and conforts are furnished to recreate the old magnificence in pursuit of suspending the time.Typical italian cuisine,gastronomical varieties from seafood to meat assortment,to the traditional Pizza everything accompanied by excellent local wines in its inviting and cosy restaurant "Ancora" or in its splendid terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Ancora Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing