We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag!”
Review of Hotel Brione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brione
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A mixed bag!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Hotel Brione with Riviera Travel, Hotel clean, room all right (little balcony which was nice for pre-dinner drink) and excellently looked after by the chamber-maid staff. But, no fridge, no coffee/tea making facilities, no spare sockets (only one with the telly). Staff at Reception top notch. The big let-down was the evening meals which were uniformly of decidedly poor quality. The menu (provided at breakfast for one to choose from) looked promising but in the event the food was poorly cooked - I like fish and had it four nights - on every occasion it was over-cooked and had been left to dry out - ditto with the lamb and pork offerings. Good ingredients but badly cooked - mushy veg, greasy potatoes and on two occasions the pudding we had ordered at breakfast had run out - so what's the point of ordering early. I suppose it is only three stars after all - but disappointing all the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
38
103
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Riviera tour. We were in room 416 which overlooks the pool. The room was kept extremely clean by the staff and there was no noise from the road. The carpet could do with replacing as it looked rather tired. A word of warning the shower tray is very slippery, but there was always lots of hot water.
The restaurant staff were friendly but one night we went to dinner early and took ages to get served. People were arriving after us and getting served first. We did eventually get acknowledged but still had to wait. I think the staff work very hard but need to employ more of them. Sylvio the wine waiter deserves a special mention as he was always good fun.
They serve three courses at dinner, usually there is three choices for each course. The food was adequate but not wonderful. The potatoes tended to be a bit greasy and sometimes food was overcooked.
The gala night was interesting, dinner by candlelight with some live music. We were sat at the end so could only hear the music.
The drinks in the bar seemed expensive and we felt it needed to be brightened up, seemed a bit dreary. We tended to go to a bar / ice-cream parlour over the road which was very friendly. The Bavaria pizzeria serve just about the best pizzas we had the whole holiday.
The pool was very inviting but rather cold so only one of our group was brave enough to go in.
The tour we were on included a trip up the Dolomites ( marvellous scenery, not to be missed), a boat trip on the lake Garda, a trip to Venice where are guide Werner managed to organise trips on a gondola. We also visited Verona and Werner organised a further boat trip on the lake visiting three towns. The organisation was first class, our only complaint was we seemed always to be watching the time so we were not late. WiFi is available at 4 euros for an hour.

In summary the hotel's rating of three stars is about right but has a great location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool. Great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new forest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel won't be to everyone's taste, but it felt homely and all the staff are wonderful, except one grumpyish receptionist(male). We were looked after extremely well. The food seems basic but it is typical italian food - soup or past first course and fish or meat with potato and veg for main course, with simple puddings. It is all fresh and you order your evening meal from the selection at breakfast so the chef buys just what he needs that day. No cooked breakfast, a bit disappointing for some. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the bathroom spacious. Lovely clean pool (but cold in May!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jclimecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked a holiday with Riviera Travel, a tour of Lake Garda, Venice and Verona. We looked at reviews for the hotel online but we went with an open mind, And were the type of family who dont have preconceived ideas. We got to the hotel and the reception staff were lovely and helpful.Our rooms were on the top floor at the back of the hotel, Our balconys over looking the pool and the beautiful mountains in the background. Rooms were clean and had Air conditioning.Had a perfect nights sleep every night could not hear any noise from the roads infront of the hotel. Hotel is located in a great area. Not to far from everything you could need. Breakfast was lovely very continental, But what do you expect your in italy!!! Dinner was wonderful three course meals which you choose in the morning at breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful and our tour guide Werner was amazing and full of knowledge. Book your holiday with Riviera travel! This was a holiday of a lifetime. We had such a wonderful time and had the holiday blues for a while when we got back.

Room Tip: Rooms are better at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool and gardens. Very Noisy at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group with Riviera Travel. No complaints about the rooms, very good and very clean. My room overlooked the road so was quite noisy. Pool looked amazing although too cold for me in October! Location good, very close to Lake and about a 15 minute walk to centre. Food average. Continental breakfast, Evening meals ok if you want meat and two veg. Not much Italian food, I suspect they are catering mostly for the older generation coach trippers. Staff average, service average. That's the word that keeps coming to mind - Average!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanti_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in September and were really pleased. Like most 3 stars around this area it was basic clean and very convenient - perfect for what we paid. We were B&B board and were happy enough with that as we found breakfast quite repetitive (cold buffet style). We had a room with a balcony over looking the pool and mountains-it was superb! Tours etc leave from just outside the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly - particularly on reception and will help you with booking tours/excursions etc. This is an ideally located hotel for very cheap - perfect for a low cost trip to Riva del Garda. The main town is a lovely 10 minute walk along the lake from the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coc o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We found the evening meals really disappointing, and would not recommend a half board option at Hotel Brione. The evening menu is acceptable, but do not expect much in terms of local produce. During our week's stay we never saw an olive, pepper or aubergine, and would not have thought we were experiencing an Italian family style meal. In other respects, the hotel is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room, with view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Prince
Hotel Garni Prince
#44 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#46 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brione

Property: Hotel Brione
Address: Viale Rovereto 75/77, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brione 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Brione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brione Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Brione Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing