We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Canarino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canarino
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Dornoch, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week. The staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool which was always quiet, and the location was second to none. Air conditioning would have been a bonus ~(I would have given 5 stars then)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    58
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
27
60
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently returned from a stay here at this very clean, well run family hotel in the center of Riva.

We received a warm welcome (despite arriving just at the moment Italy had lost the final in the Euro cup!!). Our room overlooked the pool and into the mountains beyond, had the room been a little bit larger I would have rated this stay as 5 star, this being the only disappointment we had. Breakfast was good for a 3 star establishment, the hotel was spotless and all the staff friendly.

The Hotel has good parking at the front, whilst at the rear it has pedestrian access directly into the main shopping area of the old town from where it is a 5 minute walk down to the main plaza and the ferry terminal. If you wish to relax, the good sized pool surrounded by mountain views is a little oasis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perkyhythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have read some very bad reviews of this hotel and have to disagree with most of what they say. We found the hotel friendly and relaxed and whilst not 4/5 star quality (as some seemed to expect) it certainly was perfectly acceptable and breakfast was excellent. Yes the rooms would benefit greatly from air conditioning and as in all things in life you get what you pay for so those who wanted 5 star should not have stayed here. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the children playing around the pool area (which they only did in the late afternoon) were delightful as generally children enjoying themselves are ! How sad for those who could not see this. Overall our experience was one of pleasure and we would return without hesitation. I think that some people need to look a little deeper at what they have and not what they unreasonably expect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dermot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed here at the beginning of May before the season had really started. The first couple of days the hotel was quite full, and this lead me to conclude that the sound insulation between the rooms was very poor. I was constantly awoken by other guests knocking at each other's doors and holding loud conversations in the corridors. I also noticed that sound appeared to travel into my room through the electrical conduite. Having so said, the rest of the time with the hotel less than full, it was quiet enough. My room on the first floor (downstairs from reception) was nicely decorated and very clean with a large, modern bathroom.
Breakfast was acceptable (just) but of a rather inferior quality although plenty of choice. Cold meats, processed cheese (yuk), cakes, croissants and a regular offering of lukewarm frankfurther sausages with scrambled or (very) hard boiled eggs. Some fresh fruit. The bread rolls were really quite nasty and the toast bread was very dry - the toaster did not even slightly brown it. Machine coffee which was drinkable, machine orange juice which had little to do with oranges - all in all the best thing about breakfast was the girl who looked after the service, she was really lovely!
The hotel is located just behind the town centre and a short walk down the hill takes you there - if you look carefully, there is an underpass from just next to the hotel car park on the opposite side of the road which provides a neat shortcut to the centre.
All in all, I liked the hotel, but I think they could do better as regards the breakfast and the sound insulation.
By the way, on a health and safety note, I visited the poolside decked area and was worried to see a number of screws that stuck out from the decking - I feel that these could badly cut the feet of unwary guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at the end of July 2011 wanting a relaxing break away from work. Firstly the positives - Riva is a fantastic resort and the hotel is right in the centre but still nice and quiet. The weather wasn't amazing, but we never had to fight for a place at the poolside. That's about it for positives. It's most certainly not a spa hotel, the spa is pretty non-existent. Our room was horrible and I actually cried when we arrived (I was quite tired!). It was tiny, run down, shabby and dirty. Horrible dark blue paint made it seem even smaller. No room to breathe. No amenities, not even a kettle (did have a hairdryer though).
The staff were essentially absent. The poolside bar didn't exist. And if you dared to ask for anything you were made to feel as if you were getting in the way of their family life. It was like being an unwanted guest in a family home, at one point there was a family party around the pool and we received lots of unwelcome looks until we left. I understand it must be difficult for the children, but ultimately we're paying to be there. Also we were woken up early every morning by the staff making noise.
Basically, if you're looking for a cheap base and don't plan on spending any time at the hotel you'll be fine. Don't come here to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors away from the road are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meg27_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is located right in the centre of the town Riva led Garda, which is definitely the best resort at Lago di Garda. The hotel looks good at the promotional flyers, but is managed by people without any style.
The room, actually the suit, was located at the ground floor of the old building in rustic Italien style. The room was very long and narrow with an only one window at the remote end of the room. The window had a view to the narrow street, so basically if somebody looked out of the window at the opposite house, he looked right into the hotel room, no privacy at all. Because the room was called the suit, it had whirpool bath next to the bed. This might sound great, but in reality it looked very cheap and shabby, together with some ugly tasteless accessories, we cant talk about any romance, no way! The walls and the carpet were decorated in dark blue, which makes the room even more claustrophobic. The bathroom looked quite ok, when I don’t mentioned the shower corner leaking out to the door and even more further to the hall. But the bathroom had only a small window with a direct view at the roof with pigeon excrements. Because of that you couldnt get any fresh air into a bathroom.
I tried to stay out of this place as much as possible, because I made me anxious.

Room Tip: Choose the room at newer building,which have a biger window. At least there were the walls decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeggyBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at Casa Canarino because of an offer through Thomson making it a great value for money B & B for this area. The reception area and pool area are lovely and really clean. The breakfast is plentiful and has meats, cheeses, yoghurts, cakes, bread rolls and all the other usual continemtal type breakfast items plus an amazing coffee machine.
Our room was very basic and the furniture was a little to be desired but we did have a good shower room and a fabulous view of the mountains from our window.
We did take earplugs on the advice of a previous review and did sleep well using these.
The only problem was becasue of the heat the room really did need air conditioning and made getting ready and sleeping a sweaty affair.
The location of Casa Canarino is brilliant. The main Piazzas are 5 minutes away. Shops and restaurants are 1 minute away and the Beach area is 15 minutes walk. Getting the ferry around the lake is easy and only 5 minutes from the B & B. The views and journey on the ferries are stunning but slighlty expensive. The day tickets are better value if you want to go to more than one town. The local buses are much cheaper and can be caught at\the bus station 15 minutes walk ish.

Overall Casa Canarino is good value but in summer needs air conditioning. We had a lovely time there.

Room Tip: Ask for room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKerr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Miravalle
Hotel Villa Miravalle
#28 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#46 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canarino

Property: Canarino
Address: Via Monte Oro 11, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canarino 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Canarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canarino Hotel Riva Del Garda
Casa Canarino Riva Del Garda
Canarino Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing