We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills Accommodation But Has Everything You Need.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel Garni
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No Frills Accommodation But Has Everything You Need.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed in the Francesca self catering apartment at Villa Maria for a week. Villa Maria is about 10 or 15 minutes walk from the centre of Riva. It is 10 minutes or so walk from a couple of supermarkets and the bus station is a very short walk away. There is also a convenient cycle shop just up the road from the Villa Maria where they offer a discount to guests for cycle hire.

Villa Maria is run by Marco who we found to be very pleasant and always helpful. We drove to Riva and although the car parking at Villa Maria is adequate, it can be a bit tight. There is additional parking nearby if required however.

Although the decor and fixtures and fittings in the apartment were quite plain and basic, we found it comfortable and well equipped. There is free wi fi, a microwave cooker, induction hob and good size fridge-freezer, although we always ate out at night. There is air conditioning but there were times when for me this could have done with being set to a slightly lower temperature, particularly at night. Not bad though. The bathroom was a good standard. Standards of cleanliness were high with the apartment being cleaned and towels changed at least every two days. There is a lift to the apartments if needed.

Overall we were impressed with the value for money offered by our apartment which enabled us to enjoy a really reasonable, good value holiday. We had a very pleasant, comfortable stay at the Villa Maria apartment and hope to return.

Room Tip: We were happy with the Francesca apartment but have no doubt that others are similarly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
70
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B-7
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I can't even begin to describe how glad we are for staying in this family hotel. The hosts Marco and his wife Franchesca were AMAZING in every way...always trying to help,always with a smile. I hurt my leg during our vacation and Marco gave we crutches!! Only thanks to him i could continue to travel. The location was perfect,ten minute walk from the center...the town is gorgeous! Lots to do nearby...hiking,panoramic spots, shops,bars, restaurants... The appartment we rented was equipped with everything a family needs, dishes, fridge, every little detail is considered. Also the breakfast was nice and fresh every day! If i come back to this place it will surely be in this same perfect hotel!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids better to take the appartment because regular rooms don't have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We are travelling since years to Lago di Garda and have been really impressed by this small city hotel. Villa Maria is run by Marco and his nice family. Perfectly located just few minutes to city of Riva but quiet. Rooms are small but everything is very nicely designed and very tidy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is very modern (2012). It's small but very clean and stylish. Even if it's bed&breakfast hotel, it's much better than other hotels in that city. The owner serves the breakfast by his own. Every morning you can enjoy fresh cooked croissant with a cup of cappuccino! Good location: 10 minutes walk from the city center and 10 minutes walk to the exhibition center.

Room Tip: All the rooms are new, clean and comfortable. Just don't forget that it's bed&breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kTatianaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, practically dont have anything to complain about. The room was clean (maybe a bit small for single), stuff - very helpful, wi-fi was working even on the 2nd floor. They dont have anything hot for breakfast (oatmeal/omlette), but a wide range of yougurt, cheese, muesli, fruits.
It was very nice to find l'occitaine very nice smelling soap and shampoo in the bathroom.
The hotel is located in 10min walk to the city center. I'd definetly reccomend this hotel to others, it's great value for money!

One thing: my room was on a street-side, I couldnt sleep with a window open as it was too noisy outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anastasia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thank you to all other reviewers who recommened Villa Maria. It did not dissapoint. The rooms are very clean with a air con, fridge and safe. The free wi-fi was good. The bathroom is well appointed and the location a mere 5/10 minute walk from the lake.

Room Tip: Dont bother with a car use the busses and boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in the apartment for four nights as part of our honeymoon and it was the best accommodation of our trip. The staff were very friendly (and patient when we were uselessly misunderstanding something relating to payment!), the apartment is modern which normally I'm not a fan of but we really liked the space. It's clean, cool, has a really wonderful bathroom and a lovely kitchen area where I thoroughly enjoyed cooking some meals which we ate on the patio looking up at the mountains. The location is a few minutes walk from the town centre which is more than fine as it's a little less hectic. Overall, we loved our time here and would definitely return next time we're in Riva.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Campagnola
Hotel Campagnola
#25 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canarino
Canarino
#34 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Desiree
Residence Desiree
#33 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#27 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel Garni

Property: Villa Maria Hotel Garni
Address: Viale Dei Tigli 19, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#28 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Maria Hotel Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garni Villa Maria is located a pleasant 10-minute walk from Riva del Garda's charming historic centre. Relax on the hotel's peaceful rooftop terrace and enjoy lovely mountain views.Wake up to the smell of fresh Italian coffee and warm croissants, which you can enjoy out on your patio or in Garni Villa Maria's breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Garni
Villa Maria Hotel Garni Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing