We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara church”

Santa Barbara Church
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The small Chapel to Saint Barbara (m 625 – h 1,45 from Riva del Garda), was built in 1935 by the miners who worked on the conduits of the Ponale power plant. It is placed in a horrid and daring, yet panoramic position, on the slope of Mount Rocchetta near the start of the penstocks feeding the hydroelectrical plant. The Chapel is visible from afar thanks to nighttime lighting.
Port Laoise, Laois, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara church”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

When we arrived in Riva del Garda we couldn't help but notice a light high up on the mountain, enquiries made and we were told it was possible to climb up to it. We set off early in the morning around 9am before it got too hot and it took us about half a day in all. we stopped at the Bastion and had a coffee and then headed on upwards. I would advise sensible shoes as its quite rough and can be slippy in spots. protection against the sun and definitely bring a bottle of water as we had to stop every now and then. The view when we got to the top was amazing and we signed the visitors book. looking down from the church was like looking at lego land. Feel such a sense of achievement having done the climb, a day I will remember for the rest of my life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    67
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of our stay in Riva Del Garda”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you have the energy this is a must do! It looks impossible to reach from the ground but the path is very good and whilst steep in parts is well worth the effort for the brilliant views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ascent!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It's not an easy ascent but well worth it. Don't forget hiking shoes, water and Nordic walking sticks. Then you're perfectly ready. Magnificent views from the chapel down to Riva!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KayKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing place,an amazing view over Lake Garda”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

First of all i will let some information about how can you arrive:

Start: Via Monte Oro, Riva del Garda(you will see indications around the streets,as Riva del Garda isn't a big city,but it's gorgeous anyway!)
Climbing Difficulty: Medium
Distance: 3 km
Uphill : 535 m
Time: 2 h.
Places: Bastione di Riva del Garda
Notes:Bastione di Riva del Garda, panoramic views
Terrain:Dirt


At first i did not think that it will be hard to get there,but it was(at least for me,i do not love sport or climbing).But the panoramic view is amazing,it's really worth it. At the half of the distance there is a bar,where you can get some snacks or something to drink.And there is also a bathroom.
Want a piece of advice?Start climbing in the early morning on summer,because it's becoming hotter and hotter during the day and you will need 2-4 l of water,because you will surely sweat a lot. First you will "meet" Il Bastione on the way to the Church.Stop there:the view is incredible,seems paradise! When you will arrive at the Church,if you are a religious person,you can light a candle or let an object of your own down there and pray. And not forget to take a pen with you:there is a notebook where everybody writes their name down and the date of the arrival.The city keeps it as a memory,it's really cool actually. It's a very simple attraction,but at the same time it's excellent because of the view that you get(take a look at my photos).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Dia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ascent from Riva”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Not an easy ascent, don't forget hiking shoes and water. A great couple of hours with a magnificent view from the chapel

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Church also viewed

Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Santa Barbara Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing