We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOLIDAY”
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Hudds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOLIDAY”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Went on a National Coaches Holiday, travelled throughout France with an overnight stay at the Kyraid Hotel in Metz France. Then the following day continued with our journey to Riva Del Gardi on Lake Gardi staying at Hotel Virgilio about a 15/20 minute walk away from the lakeshore/town. The hotel was very clean friendly and the food/drink really good. We met some really nice people on the coach and ages varied from forties upto eighties and we all got along great. Met two couple Linda and Ian and Margaret and Mike from Hull who made our trip. As you can imagine the trip is quite long so take a book to read to help pass the time althought the scenery is quite beautiful. We passed through France, Switzerland, Germany, and Austria throughtout the trip and also included was a trip to Venice which is well worth a visit. Great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HuddsDebI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    120
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
190
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Riva is a lovely town at the Northern tip of Lake Garda. However, the hotel cannot be recommended for people with walking difficulties - it is a good half hour's walk if you use a stick into Riva town. There are no bars or cafes nearby and the local bus service into town is not reliable. The hotel cannnot be faulted though on its cleanliness and friendliness, its meal provision is second to non but meal times are too regimented. Rooms are small as is the shower room and shower. Balcony only had two chairs and air concditioning not available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaylover0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
na
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

very good holiday with national. they were quick to try and resolve the problem when the air con on the bus broke. the hotel was nice and food was amazing, especially on thursday when it was garla nite. it was nice to sit out in a morning and have breakfast. it was a good walk into town but there was everything you would want around the hotel. the bus drives were very good and made the holiday better with there general banter and jokes. it was annoying when whe were told at the last minute that we were moving buses at the service station. in all the comotion we lost our bags and after a rushing aroung to find it, we found it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEngland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Great holiday with National Holiday.Everyone was so friendly and the atmosphere brilliant.food excellent .Only one problem was the time past too quickly .

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

went by National holidays, to celebrate our Wedding anniversary.
The staff bent over backwards to make our day special.,including a free bottle of wine and a cake made for us.
The hotel its self was very clean and comfortable, and speaking for myself as a chef the food was excellent. we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyonyone

Stan & Eileen Stephenson.....Hull Yorkshire

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StanHullYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in October. It was a brill hotel and a fantastic holiday all round with National Holidays. Hotel lovely and very clean, good food which was beautifully cooked, staff very friendly it was like staying in your own home, nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definately go on this holiday again and to this same hotel. As mentioned iin a previous review it was a little walk into the centre of town (20 mins) but it was all on the flat and elderly people could do it no problem, my elderly mother did it anyway. It is a beautiful resort with lots of sightseeing to be had and an easy base to get around. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Very friendly hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank HilarymManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

just arrived home after a fantastic holiday with National Holidays staying at the Hotel Vigillio absolutely nothing to complain about .Hotel service brilliant ,the staff were brilliant food was exceptional .This is a very caring and friendly hotel beautifuly clean and hmely .Many 5 star hotels could take a leaf out of their book.Everyone on our tour was raving about the service .Kevin the bar manager was brilliant.Absolutely no complaints at all

  • Liked — service cleanliness friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johndkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Virgilio Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing