We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
sunderland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is family run by lovely people, most of whom speak some english. Head bar staff Kevin was really nice speaks good English and has a great sense of humour. We went on National Holidays coach trip and spent 4 nights at hotel, which was clean, good sized rooms, lovely home made food, soup is especially good and tasty. It is a 20 minute walk into town centre and if you go past the small church, have a look in the paintings are beautiful. I would recommend any one to visit this hotel.
Only one thing wrong they had no English speaking TV programmes, not even English speaking news station.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has nice view of the mountains and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dogloverSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    84
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
139
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just got back from spending 4 nights at this hotel. We went on a national holidays coach trip arriving there Monday 11.03.13. The hotel is warm & friendly. Food was suffice , rooms were spacious enough , clean & comfortable.
Yes i would stay here again. About a 20 min walk into the centre from the hotel.

Room Tip: No need to worry as there is a lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bevvy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Virgilio at RIVA is a place that I visit again and again. The warmth one gets there is not easily found.
It is a home away from home with all comforts.
One's needs are very well looked after.
Your likes and dis-likes are very taken note of.
Every aspect is great.
The family running this runs with a passion.
A great Hotel to go again and again !!!

Room Tip: All Rooms are Good try for a Room with the Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank QCINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday with national holidays where we stayed at this hotel for four nights.The hotel is run by the family and they are all very polite and helpful.The food was good and sufficient and the Italian night was great.We could have salad and a bread selection,then canneloni,then pork( with potatoes and veg)which came in with sparklers in it and then a masive homemade gateaux.It was very nice.We also had a free bar for three nights of our stay from 8.30pm to 11.30pm.The rooms were fine nothing fantastic but the Italian hotels don't tend to do fancy.I would recommend this hotel.
On one of the mornings I could hear a dog really howling as if it were really distressed.When we went to get on the coach I could hear them again.I went over to them.There were three really lovely dogs all kept in a kennel.The oldest one looked like it had lost the will to live,I cried because I love animals and to see them shut away like that really upset me and a couple of the other passengers.They all looked healthy and were fed but I suppose you have to accept that some of our European cousins don't treat animals like a member of their family.I expect the family are really busy with the running of the hotel.I did ask the coach driver if I could take them home with us but he said no!!This is the only fault I could find with the hotel but I know it wouldn't effect everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LynBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

nice hotel basic and spotlessly clean,food disappointing only italian food was pasta starter couldnt fault the staff they were excellent .shame about dogs caged all day.driver on coach jerry was brilliant kept us entertained on very long journey

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank princessmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a definite hotel to stay at in the Lake Garda area, everything is first class and the meals are to die for.
We have had a brilliant stay here and would recommend to anyone.
We were part of a National Holidays trip which was superb, brilliant drivers and well organised.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Virgilio, Riva Del Garda as part of a National Holidays trip in early October. The hotel offers an excellent base from which to enjoy the splendours of Riva Del Garda. Our room, although not huge, was clean and comfortable, the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful and the meals were excellent. As a fish vegetarian I thought I might have a problem but they catered for me well. This National Holidays package is an excellent one and I would recommend it for value for money. We even had a free bar each evening after dinner! The inclusive trips to Verona, Venice and the Dolomites were well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. The bus journeys were good, the drivers excellent and other passengers were very friendly. All in all an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MoandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
17.1 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#2 of 6 in Castelletto
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Virgilio Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing