We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aveage Hotel no more than a 3*”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Aveage Hotel no more than a 3*”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Now returned from a stay here with National Holidays, arrived 9 30pm on the Sunday exhausted from a Hellish two day Bus journey from the UK. The staff stayed to serve us dinner which we were all ready for. But the meals through our 5 day stay were not up to much, pretty much Chips/ French fries with every dinner which were hard, a lack of veg was common and when given, was a table spoon full. They were no vegetarian menu and one woman a vegetarian with our party was give cheese cheese cheese.

Our room 105 was a twin and very small and the bathroom was so small one had to come out so the other could go in. The shower was so small that if you dropped the soap you had to crouch down to pick it up no room to bend over and you bashed your elbows on the sides trying to wash.

Location, The hotel is too far away from lake Garda its a good 25 minutes walk

Good points the staff were very efficient and friendly and the cleaners did a good job cleaning the rooms. The Bar Tender Kevin was excellent he was a one man show running the bar

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    108
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
176
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just returned from a stay here with National Holidays and have no complaints at all. Food was excellent with a chioce of 3 starters and main courses, the soups and home made breads are just wonderful. Situated in a quiet residential area of Riva with a Co-op and Lidl nearby which are especially handy if you want to prepare food for the return journey. It is definately no more than a 15 minute walk from the centre of Riva and the walk is on the flat all the way. During our stay the owner opened his cycle museum which is underneath the hotel and I would certainly recommend you visit it if you get the opportunity. This is definately a hotel we would revisit if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holgate86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

went to this hotel with national holidays, food was great. there was three choices of starter and main course. enjoyed them all. hotel a 15 minute from from town but not a problem. the owners and staff at this hotel are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. rooms nice and dining areas nice. pool wasnt open yet but it is big enough. would recommend this hotel. loved my holiday there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sue19127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Took a 9 day break with National holidays - the hotel is just lovely, rooms were clean and well equipped, the family who run the hotel were just lovely and couldn't do enough to make you welcome. Food was great every day. About 15/20 mins walk to the lake shore and town centre. The excursions were also good, especially Venice and the Dolomite Mountains were breathtaking. We are already looking to visit again. (the only downside was the overnight stop over hotel in Metz - we were at the Campanile. At least it was only for 1 night, it was dated, smelt of smoke and certainly not the cleanest room we've ever stayed in!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for a week and was such an amazing place! Rooms were quite large and of a very decen size! The bathroom was more than addequette. Each room had a balcony with chairs, ours over looked a beautiful mountain in the morning this was just breathtaking. The staff and food were just so nice! The location is in such a nice place only a 15 minuite walk to riva del Garda. Definately would reccomend this to anyone looking for a pleasant and lovely stay in the heart of italy's lake Garda xo

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank AmyM254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Have just returned from a 7 day trip to Lake Garda with National Holidays it was the best holiday of my life to date.The hotel is clean food lovely with fantastic friendly staff, special mention must go to Kevin the Italian bar man who made our holiday so much fun. Also special mention to John and Barry the 2 drivers who also helped make the holiday fun. The trips around Lake Garda are a must because the senery is so spectatular. All in all one fabulous holiday. Cant wait to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank callum06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We've just returned from a four day 3 night stay at the Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone with National Holidays. We had a great time and we paid just £99. We can't believe the value for money with this coach holiday company but we would encourage anyone to consider their holidays now. We wish we had done this years ago. Two couples went and the hotel was great, the food brilliant and the trip over to Calais on the ferry was a real bonus. We missed the Canterbury trip because we wanted to stay in Folkestone but these holidays are really worth a try. This is our fourth weekend with National and we're off to Torquay next weekend. Give them a try.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank mthompson522001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
1.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
759 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Virgilio Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing