We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Following on from other reviews, this was our second visit to Riva and the first to this hotel. Reception at hotel was excellent and the booking-in a formality. I did send an 'E'mail prior to arriving to request a high floor with lake view and to mention we would be spending our 38th wedding anniversary with them. We got a room on the second with view of the mountains and vineyards, and nothing for our anniversary. Oh well, worth a try. ( see later in review ) The hotel is situated well away from the main road so there is no noise, except when the locals use the all weather playing field next door. But even then it was fun to watch and not that loud. FOOD, generally good. Had a couple of off nights out of 11 so that was ok. Breakfast was usual Italian. Staff in restaurant were great especially Fredrica, a little ray of sunshine. ( Very Nice ). Only one miserable one and he was in in the bar. Very surly and curt, have recommended to hotel they send him on a personality course. Overall the hotel was clean and tidy and the staff perfect.
So in essence, if you want a relaxing stay on Lake Garda, use this hotel in the north. You will not be disappointed. Senor Tonelli does indeed do most things around the hotel, from watering the plants to cutting the lawns, and always has a word with HIS GUESTS. Oh, that he did trips in his Ferrari. The day of our anniversary the couple next to us for dinner mentioned the fact to our Thomson rep. The next day when we got back to our room after a day out, there was an ice bucket containing a bottle of Prosecco and two glasses. Compliments of the hotel. Thanks both to the hotel and rep.
On the matter of reps, this one was a gem. Knew we had been to the lake before so did not bother us but was there if we needed him. Brilliant, well done Chris. I must say that is not a cheap holiday in Italy, everything seems to have caught up with Britain. BUT it is still worth going. We will be back and may even use this hotel again.
All in all a VERY nice and relaxing holiday. Well done again the Tonelli family.

If I do have a criticism it would be the fact that at 'happy hour' you have to get your own drinks from the bar, yet after dinner the are plenty of waiters trying to get you to order a drink. Senor Tonelli....... think on, 4 star means You come to Us not the other way round.

ps use the buses and not the boats for longer journeys down the lake, cheaper and easier, with some fantastic views.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    346
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
449
591
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

This is an excellent hotel in every way. The situation is tranquil, yet within easy reach of the lake. The bedrooms all have balcanies and are air-conditioned. There are extensive bar, lounge and dining areas and even with 170 rooms everyone has an allocated table, so no queuing. Breakfast is a gormmet's delight with both hot and cold buffets. The fresh fruit is outstanding and what is left is made into a fruit salad which is offered with tea and cake at 1630 each day (free of course).
In our week's stay there were two special dinners where the chefs put on a simply stunning display of food and all stand for photographs in their best whites. These meals are preceded by a complimentary cocktail in the outside lounge area. The hotel staff seem to go the extra mile to ensure guests are happy. Other evening meals start with an extensive salad buffet followed by 3 other courses which are served by a set of cheerful and professional waiters. The served courses do not have huge portions but anyone with a large appetite can have a very substantial salad to start with.The atmosphere in the dining room is cheered along by a very professional keyboard player who moves outside to entertain guests later in the evening.The whole place is spotlessly clean and tidy. The owner was around when I was there and despite owning a new red Ferrari ( which was housed in a glass fronted garage off the main lobby!) he was casually dressed in jeans and an open necked white shirt and was out at 8am watering the many floral displays that surround the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed at the Savoy Palace for a week and had an excellent time. The food was very good; the staff polite and willing to help and the facilities suited our needs. The location is good and the local area provided a good mix of culture and activity. The rooms very adequate for our stay. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runnerbean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceredigion
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Hotel staff are welcoming and helpful. Accommodation is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style with an excellent choice, evening meals (ordered at breakfast) are fine, but the salad is the same every evening. Swimming pool and sun-bathing area is clean and sunloungers are comfortable, although the sunloungers do get booked early in the morning by the German guests. Nice lakeside walk (15 minutes) in to Riva town, the harbour area is lovely with its shops and cafes, and the view from the tower is magnificent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bledduto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We have just returned from a very enjoyable ten day stay at the Savoy Palace Hotel and can only reiterate what other people have had to say in their reviews. The food was good and plentiful but I would not describe it as being fantastic. The staff were all very polite and helpful and worked very hard to make our stay a pleasant one.
Our room was very clean but the mattress I felt was coming to the end of its days. I would only give the room four out of five as there was mould above the shower unit in the bathroom and for some reason the wooden surround at the top of the wardrobe looked like it had been hacked away as opposed to being cut but I could not understand why. The other thing is that the key barrel for the room safe is obtainable from reception I have found in my travels that most hotels use the digital pad room safes, not a complaint just an observation.
One thing that impressed us both was that the owner of the hotel was there from what we could see almost every evening and had a 'hands on' approach to the running of the hotel.
We would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again or recommending it for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markdunlaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We just returned from this hotel. The location is idyllic, as is the garden of the hotel: beautiful trees, flowers and shrubs (including lemon trees). The gardens are not "extensive" however, and the hotel is overlooked by other hotels. Staff are very friendly and welcoming and the free bike service is excellent as there are cycle paths everywhere. The views from the pool area are fantastic but we did not use the pool often as the hotel is so close to the lake. There was not, however, a rush for sunbeds.

With regard to the food I am in agreement with the reviewer from Northern Ireland below. We had one nice meal during our stay - on Italian night. We are both vegetarians and this hotel just DOES NOT cater for vegetarians. The same dishes kept being handed to us: big lumps of cheese with badly cooked aubergine as a main course! Why they don't offer a buffet I just don't know. Breakfast was also not good. Those who did eat meat found their rashers badly cooked and swimming in oil and the scrambled eggs were revolting. Stick to a continental breakfast.

The bedrooms? We had a superior room on the fifth floor with jacuzzi and shower and it was extremely spacious and nice. The air conditioning was another matter, however. I have never encountered such a noisy one. Many guests said they could not sleep with it on full. The balconies were open which was a bit annoying. At the end of the day, with such a glorious view, it's nice to have a bit of privacy and peace and yet one finds oneself being in full view of one's neighbours and unable to fully relax. I would expect a closed balcony at a Four Star hotel. Free beach towels were provided nonetheless, which is really a must.

Other minor quibbles: the corridors of the hotel were ugly, as was the stairwell which had black dirt marks on the walls. (The hotel is otherwise spotless). Again, this isn't what you would expect of a four star hotel.

The entertainment consisted of a keyboard player who could not sing. There were free "cocktails" of various sorts offered on a couple of evenings which were very sweet and sickly.

The walk into Riva along the lake is heavenly. It didn't seem too long for the first couple of days. However, if you are going on trips, doing a lot of cycling and swimming, and walking a lot elsewhere, it becomes tiring - especially as you really do need to go back into Riva at night for any decent entertainment. The hotel is just that bit too far from Riva, imo.

If you are intending to shop, please note that shoes are much cheaper in Limone than in Riva - also noticed leather handbags were cheaper in Malcesine than in Riva. Other than that Riva is cheaper for all else.

If you are thinking of taking the cable car to Mt Baldo from Malcesine be warned: it's expensive, extremely crowded, and there are LONG queues. We were advised not to go on a weekend so we chose a weekday - can't imagine what it's like at the weekend. The car goes in two stages and we did not expect to get off and queue again halfway. The view from the top IS amazing though: sublime.

The daytrip to Venice is definitely worthwhile. Don't be put off by the distance. Yes, it takes three and a half hours on a couch but the drive the full length of the lake is interesting and scenic, and you do get a stop half way there. Six hours in Venice isn't bad and it's beautiful. (Despite the SWARMS of tourists and cheap souvenir shops.)

Riva and Limone are two of the most beautiful places I have ever been to and the local people are just great - as is the local wine. But would I recommend this hotel? Yes, if they only did Bed and Breakfast, and if I knew that those I recommended it to weren't too fussy over their food. But you are obliged to go halfboard as part of a package - so on that basis, no.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreRaphaelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is a lovely hotel with one flaw - the food ! I have stayed 1/2 board in Italy before and am comparing the Savoy Palace to my previous experience. Having booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews promising "gormet" food, we were very disappointed in the quality of the food. We paid brochure price so felt that we had prepaid for much better quality than we got (as did many of our fellow travellers). The hotel focuses on appearance rather than substance. The restaurant definitely looked the part - everything was clean and tasteful, the staff were professional, friendly and courteous and the presentation of the food was beautiful. However, none of this made up for the fact that the food itself was cheap, pre-cooked tat. The seafood risotto didn't have any fish in it (just flavoured with stock), chicken/beef escalope was sliced luncheon meat heated up, meat kebab was frankfurter and sausage etc.... Well, I guess I've made my point on the food... now to the rest

The hotel is set off from the main road so there is no traffic noise and the grounds of the hotel are very pretty. The location is very good (if you don't mind a gentle stroll) with 15mins lakeside stroll to Riva and 25mins to Torbole.

Our room was a good size, the bathroom didn't have a bath but the shower was very good. And the beds were very comfy. TV was not important to us, but if it is to you, the only English speaking channel is CNN (some MTV is sub-titled).

The pool area is quite good (inside of pool is "rough concrete" rather than tiles and many of the kids sported cuts as a result) and there is never any shortage of beds/umbrellas at any time of the day.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are always friendly and will make an effort to make you smile. We didn't need much in the way of help but I have no doubt that this group of people would go out of their way for any of the staff.

Despite this hotel having may plus points, I have decided to not recommend it based only on the price/value for money ratio. However, if you get a price which you believe is fair for OK food rather than 4* (or a B&B price) AND you want a hotel based holiday then please don't hesitate to book as in all other respects this is a good hotel. Personally, I would recommend (especially in high season when there is so much going on around the lake) to go B&B and not be fixed into the restaurant timetable of any hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandSNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing