We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We recently stayed at the Savoy Palace in Riva-del-Garda,what a wonderful week it was! The Hotel was superb with extras courtesy of Mr Tonelli the owner, these included cocktails and nibbles at the bar, afternoon tea and cakes,free bicycles and even a chance to sit in his Ferrari also champagne and caviar at breakfast,the food and staff were just the best!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithB1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Savoy Palace is a lovely Hote. We stayed here for a week as part of a Riviera Travel group holiday. I am Gluten free and nothing was too much trouble for the chefs and waiters. Hotel is beautiful, lovely indoor and outdoor pools. The Gardens are immaculate and the owner Mr Toneli is very hands on keeping everything up to scratch. We had a delux rook with a Jacquzi bath and beautiful views over the Italian Countryside. A lovely week spent in this beautiful resort.
Happy travellers.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel has quieter rooms with lovely countryside views. We were on the fourth floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rampit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A week in Riva del Garda in June, what more could you ask for. Staying at the Savoy Palace Hotel this was my first trip to Lake Garda and one that will remain with me for many years. The scenery is stunning, the weather was perfect and the hotel was excellent. Well I suppose the hotel is what you want to hear about so here goes.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, a tremendous thank you to the room staff who managed to make everything look like new everyday despite my sloppy efforts!. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and have never stayed in one where the staff make so much effort to keep the place looking new. Well done there! The staff in general were excellent. Attentive and helpful, always smiling and nothing was too much trouble.

The room we had was superb, on the 5th floor with views of the mountains and surrounding area (including the hotel next door)

There is a superb pool area should you need it and the outside bar area was great fun. Not quite so sure about Roberto's ( musician) themed evenings as it seemed he played the same music every night but it was gentle and fun and in keeping with the general ambience of the place. There are many places to just sit and drink, watch TV, play games etc. Mr Tonelli was around and was very pleasant, bringing his Ferrari along one evening in a Ferrari themed evening which was good fun. Drinks were on the inexpensive side in fact it was pointed out that our bar bill was the lowest we had ever had while on holiday! Strangely (but quite nice for us oldies) everything stopped at 11pm. All was quiet after that so if you wanted an early night you were not disturbed by the music.

On to the food. Well, for me a bit mixed although I could be in a minority here. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice from the buffet, in fact almost everything you could wish for. You had to choose the dinner menu at breakfast so they could prepare it. As the hotel was pretty full there are a lot of covers to do and the options were, to my taste, a little limited and I personally would liken them to Italian school dinners. You had 4 courses plus a salad selection buffet for starters if you wants. This was excellent for sure, a good selection of meats and salads including fresh salmon one night, Prosecco and pretty much something for all tastes. The other 4 chosen courses I found a little bland on occasions, OK on others but you did not have to have all of them if you did not want to so I guess this suited most people.
There was also complimentary water and a carafe of red or white wine with the evening meal. Not to be sniffed at!

Overall yes. I would go back to this hotel. Perfectly positioned for what we wanted, only a 5 minute walk from the lakeside and a 20 minute beautiful walk along the lake to the old town of Riva. Stunning scenery, excellent rooms, perfect staff. What more do you need. We really enjoyed this place and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor. Much better views. Preferably facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were at this hotel earlier in the month and came with Riviera Travel, Pauline our guide was exceptional and so knowledgeable.
The hotel is set about 5 minutes away from the Lake within easy flat walking distance into Riva. We were given a back bedroom overlooking the car park and mountains, were were a bit worried to begin with in case there was any noise from the coaches starting up in the morning, but they all left about the same time 9am. The room was large with a big bathroom and balcony. The hotel is basically catering for coach tour companies from the UK and Europe so is pretty busy. Meal times are staggered so you can go in any time, we tended to leave it until 8pm in the evening when the rush had gone.
Every night there is a big salad bar to chose from, followed by a three course meal which you chose the night before most meals were very good, with just one exception when I had fish one evening which was very bland. Breakfast again is self service but everything one could possibly want is there to be eaten.
Afternoon tea is served between 4pm and 5pm consisting of cakes and coffee or tea.
We used the bikes that were on offer and managed several times to ride in to Riva.
There is an indoor swimming pool which I used every day, although small I seem to have caught it when no one else was there! A big outdoor pool with plenty of sunbeds.
Riviera holidays laid on several day trips, which we thoroughly enjoyed, seeing Verorna, the Dolomites, Venice and doing a day trip around the lake by coach and boat which was wonderful.
Hotel is kept immaculate as said in other reviews Mr Tonelli the owner was around from first thing in the morning to last thing at night making sure everything was just right. The staff were amazing, so kind and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we all had a super time.

Room Tip: Only the top bedrooms catch a glimpse of the lake, most rooms were good and we enjoyed overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillyc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Me and my partner spent a week at the Savoy Palace in Riva del Garda. The rooms were very clean and the view from our room was very beautiful of the Lake and the mountains. The Staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Mr Tonelli, the owner of the hotel was on hand to make sure everyone had a good experience of the hotel and he never failed to make you feel welcome. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. I have to admit that we weren't satisfied with the first room we were allocated on the first floor - it was long and narrow, was painted a yucky shade of brown and had enough beds in to host a family of 6 (there were 2 of us)! Credit due, without any quibbling they moved us to a much better room on the fourth floor with a view of the mountains - this time painted a sunny yellow colour (it still had a double and two single beds for two of us), but we felt more satisfied that we'd got what we'd paid for. The bathroom was excellent, very roomy with a jacuzzi-bath / shower and very clean. The down side for us was that the food wasn't as good as we expected after reading the reviews beforehand. Granted there was a lot of choice but it wasn't particularly hot and lacked a flavour. They also had a quaint way of making you order your evening meal at breakfast which was reminiscent of being in hospital (but that might just be our age!). To end where I started, Mr Tonelli's hospitality was second to none and I would recommend this hotel (and Riviera Travel).

Room Tip: Make sure you are satisfied with the room you are allocated as they are not all the same. I underst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just spent a week at The Savoy Palace in Riva del Garda through Riviera Travel and would recommend this hotel as an ideal base to tour the beautiful areas around Lake Garda. It is a good quality 4star hotel with excellent & helpful staff. It is kept spotlessly clean and the outside areas are well tended and the outside pool area is very quiet and comfortable - ideal for rest and relaxation when not out and about on tours. The owner keeps a very close watch on the hotel to ensure good service. The scenery is stunning and a short stroll leads to the lakeside where you can walk, sit or eat in one or two nice restaurants.
The breakfast is excellent and plentiful but the evening meal on half board was a bit hit and miss.
Like a previous reviewer we upgraded to a lake view room which was not worth the money. The lake view was restricted/ limited and the balcony rather small which did not encourage sitting out.
The room was disappointingly small and would definitely recommend that you take your own hair dryer as the one available was next to useless. The hotel was let down by small details like plastic beakers and the awful hair dryer in the bathroom but there was a tea/coffee making facilities. Nevertheless overall good value for money. Riva is definitely the best of the resorts around the Lake with great views/gorgeous scenery and useful local shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a room overlooking the pool area and mountains as being the better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
720 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $166 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing