We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and a great location”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Just come back from 10 days at the Savoy Palace in Riva and i have to say this was the best holiday ever. The food was excellent and plentiful, a full breakfast buffet and a choice for the four course evening meal. The rooms were clean, modern and well maintained and we were lucky enough to get a room with a lake view but these are limited as you can only see the lake from the top floor due to other hotels. The staff were always friendly and were always ready to help with any problems.

The location is also great as it is only about 5 minutes from the lake and about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Riva. Plenty of beautiful sites and scenery and some fantastic restaurants. We found an excellent Chinese restaurant just off the main piazza up one of the side streets which made a pleasant change from the excellent Italian food served in the hotel and many of the restaurants in Riva.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Frijmagnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    334
    69
    16
    10
See reviews for
422
554
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harlington, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We knew we wanted to go to Lake Garda but we were not sure which resort to pick,. We are really glad we chose Riva at the north of the lake because of the spectacular mountain scenery and the cool breeze off the lake during the afternoon. Riva is a lively resort with plenty to do without being noisy. It is easy to get around and visit other areas. We visited other villages and although nice we thought Riva was the best. We were also unsure of which hotel to choose but the Savoy Palace, Riva gave us one of the best holidays we have ever had.

We travelled with Thomson Lakes and Mountains and even the connection from the airport was smooth. We reached our Hotel, and the first sight of it was very impressive with pretty flowers on the terrace and a lovely large swimming pool. The check-in was very speedy and the receptionists spoke perfect English and were very welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious, with a view of the terrace and the lake in the distance (500m). The hotel is surrounded by mountains – the views take your breath away. The only slight downside was the 20 minute stroll to the centre of Riva but lots of shops and facilities nearby.

The meals at this hotel were excellent. It is real Italian food (not pizzas) but cooked to perfection and served very well. The breakfast consisted of ham, cheeses, yoghurts, bread, fruit, cereals and in addition to this a full cooked breakfast of bacon, eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes and should you require fried eggs or pancakes the chef was standing by to cook these fresh for you. Each breakfast time you filled in a menu of your choices for the evening meal – this was difficult because we wanted everything!!!.

The evening meals were served to your table. You helped yourself to the salad bar and then the waiter delivered your courses previously chosen. The meal consisted of 5 or 6 courses, (salad buffet, starter, pasta dish, meat or fish dish and a wonderful desert). Every evening we enjoyed half a carafe of free wine either red or white and half a bottle of free water. We also had two Gala Evenings whilst we stayed here and these evenings where rather special and not to be missed. There was music every night on the terrace.

Other nice touches were the free cakes and tea/coffee each day and, of course, a happy hour. The staff were very friendly, helpful and very professional. They do an excellent job and nothing is too much trouble for them. You will even see the owner of the Hotel and he will speak to you all and check everything is fine. All the staff take a pride in their job and customer service to you.

Our holiday in Lake Garda was fantastic, made extra special by the wonderful welcome and service we enjoyed at the Savoy Palace. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — First class food and excellent service
  • Disliked — 20 minute walk to centre of Riva
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Stayed here is July and didnt expect much but to be honest it was a lovely little hotel with nice facilities.
Pool was lovely and food quite good.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trig1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Hotel seems to specialise in tour groups

The staff are management are excellent it is very clean and has good facilities (food 7+ out of 10) otherwise unbeatable.

Our room was exceptionaly good both sizewise and decor

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SK1R1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2008

First visit to Italy, my stay at Savoy was amazing, staff did everything to make the whole experience a fantastic one. Hotel was clean, food good but what made it memorable was the effort by the manager and his team. Most nights they put on various hospitality things to make all guests welcome, including drinks and entertainment, the manager reguarly talked to the guests and all staff worked extreemly hard. One night we had a Gala dinner which was fantastic. I would recomend this hotel to all my freinds and feel the location is the icing on the cake as there is something to suit all tastes, including cycling, water sports, boats, mountains, walking and places of interests to visit. I would have definately stayed longer than the 11 days and would definately visit again.

  • Liked — Attitude Of Staff
  • Disliked — Indoor Pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AMAZINGITALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

arrived approx 9pm but still got fitted in for evening meal-very pleased about that!
Rooms nice and spacious especially for families-carpet in rooms could benefit from update-thats probably my only gripe!
Very friendly and efficient staff in reception,restaurant and room cleaning-special praise to Sebastian our waiter who tried his hardest to accomodate our 13 yr old who is a very fussy eater and couldn't do enough to try and find her something to eat she would like as the menu is probably not best suited to children!
The menu is very "nouvelle cuisine" but plenty of courses.
Our air conditioning broke down on one occasion and the staff quickly provided us with a desk top air -con system until ours was promptly repaired.
Five star outdoor swimming pool with ample sunbeds in lovely garden area and little bar/snack area that do pizzas,chips etc(for fussy 13 yr olds!)
Overall an excellent hotel-lovely and quiet but not a lot to do at this end of the town-walk about 20 mins into Riva for more lively areas.
You have to go to Riva just simply to admire the views and take a tour of the whole lake.

  • Liked — THE POOL AREA/EXCELLENT STAFF
  • Disliked — NOTHING REALLY
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITALIANFANATIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We have just returned from 12 days at the Savoy Palace having had a splendid time. The hotel is about 50 metres back from the main road and consequently quiet. All rooms seem to have a good view here ,from the lovely pool area, the front overlooking the terrace with lake view from upper floors, and our favourite which was the awesome mountain view from the back. It is also quieter round this side. Rooms are spacious and clean with reasonably priced mini-bar but no tea making so bring a kettle. Safety deposit is free.There are two supermarkets within 10 mins and round the corner is a travel agent where excursions can be booked. Food here was excellent, dinner being a 5 course affair served at your table in the superb dining room with garden view. Wine and mineral water were free, as was the afternoon tea and cake. (Along with free bike hire and the odd free glass of Sangria in the evening,we couldn't see how this hotel was making any money) Entertainment was basically a bloke on a synthesiser churning out the bland euro-pop that you hear all over Europe these days. You will hear no mandolins or arias here! The lovely old town is about 25 mins. away, either down the main road or the prettier lake side path although there are a lot of bikes here. In conclusion, for the price, this was the best hotel we haved stayed at in years, it is well run,staff are friendly, owner is about most days and views are terrific. Don't take too much heed of bad reviews, this was a good experience and I would book with confidence.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — proximity from old town
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeffeardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing