We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally excellent but a few improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Generally excellent but a few improvements needed”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from our second holiday in this hotel. The fact that we went back for the second time is recommendation enough as we dont usually do this.
The staff and the food were the usual excellent quality. Great selection of food at both breakfast and dinner time. The waiters were so friendly and attentive and some even took the time to welcome us back as they had recognised us from a previous visit. The pool area is so clean and weel maintained and never too busy. There were always available sunloungers.
However we have a couple of reasons why we would consider a different hotel if we were to return to Lake Garda. Firstly, the day we arrived it was quite warm and naturally I turned on the air conditioning but to find that it was not working. I went to reception to report this but was told that there was nothing wrong with it, but that the air con was not turned on until 15th June! We were not offered a fan or any other comfort measure. Considering it was 29 degrees, the room was very hot and stuffy, even with the balcony door open. And considering we had paid for 4 star accomodation to have the luxury of air con, I do not think it is acceptable to have guests be uncomfortably hot just because it is not yet 15th June. If we had been content enough to have no air conditioning, we would have stayed in a 3 star hotel as we had previously. One of the main reasons we chose to pay 4 star rate was because of the availability of air con. We were also very disgruntled that our travel agent had not highlighted this to us when we were booking. If they have not been made aware of this by the hotel I think they need to know as I'm sure other guests will complain.
The rooms and bathrooms also need a bit of a revamp as they are starting to look a bit shabby and old fashioned. If this hotel is to maintain its good reputation, I think they need to have a look at these points. The evening entertainment is also less than entertaining - a man playing a piano and attempting to sing on occasions!
I would like to stay at this hotel again because the good points far outweigh the bad but I would ensure that air con was definitely in operation and re-decoration had been done before we would consider it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    339
    70
    16
    10
See reviews for
433
567
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a fabulous place. The owner Mr Tonnelli is a real hands on person. He meets and greets , is present every evening, and gets his sleeves rolled up to pitch in with running the hotel during the day whether painting the walkways or checking the garden. He really is a great role model and is very generous with his time and his Hotel provisions. He had no pretensious airs about sharing his Farrari with guests and actiuvely encouraged them to enjoy in its beauty.
Every night his hotel provided some gesture, whether prosecco and apple nibble, tea and cakes in the afternoon, entertainment and cocktails all on the house. We were very impressed with all of the staff who were welconig and when one of the staff was abrupt and did not handle a situation well a note was sent to apologise and a bottle of bubbly. The situation was well received.
Nobody could faullt the choice of food and quite a few of the group who had been on exclusive cruises said it was as good as the best they had had. Always something for everyone, well cooked and a good variety. One of the group was dairy free and they could not do enough to accomodate. Our waitress Patti was brilliant , arriving very late on the first night to a late and limited menu she whipped up some fish for one guest who was a non meat eater, the menu provided was excellent throughout the week. The rooms very clean and bright and daily cleaned and new towels. Well done the Tonnelli family Perfecto

Room Tip: There are few rooms with a view of the lake and that is limited. On the 5th floor. Rooms on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We too have just returned from our first Riviera Travel holiday spent at Hotel Savoy Palace in Riva. The hotel is lovely and we had a very spacious room on the second floor which overlooked the mountains and the car park - stunning and peaceful. The staff we encountered were lovely and helped create the relaxing atmosphere even though some days they seemed to be in short supply and spread a little thin around the bar/pool area. The food was the only area we were not too impressed with but some of that is personal taste however with enough restaurants outside the hotel you can have the occasional night eating elsewhere without too much trouble. Breakfast was the usual buffet with plenty of choice but not always cooked thoroughly and not sure about carrots and broccoli with my bacon and eggs!! As mentioned by another holidaymaker, you had to choose dinner at breakfast time which whilst no problem you don't always know what you might fancy at that time of day. The group we were with for the Riviera trips were fantastic and Jackie, the Riviera courier, ensured a good time was had by all and we were counted out and then in which caused a great deal of hilarity. Riva is a lovely spot for a stroll by the lake into town with good sops for coffee or something a little stronger and lots to see along the way. Overall a fantastic holiday/tour/hotel and would return.

Room Tip: All have lovely views but those overlooking the car park/mountains are very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mininut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived back home having spent a superb week on a Riviera Travel holiday. The hotel cannot be faulted with nice rooms, a great pool area and a clean and tidy appearance throughout. Having travelled a great deal over the last few years we can honestly say that the staff at this hotel are the best we have ever encountered. Every member of staff could not do enough for you.
The food is varied with a great selection at breakfast. We had to select our evening meals from the menu every morning which personally was a downside as I don't usually know at breakfast time what I want at 8pm!! That said there was a large salad bar and soup every evening so if my choice was a bad one there was always a fallback option. However, all the evening meals were well presented with waiter service.
The drinks at the hotel were reasonably priced when compared to other local bars. There was entertainment every night which consists of a guy playing music (we did take a walk into Town most nights) enough said!!!!!!!!
The location of the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the lake where if you take a right turn it is a 15-20 minute walk into Garda town. The walk is along the lake side with stunning views. Once into the town there is a good selection of bars, shops etc which are well worth exploring.
From the hotel onto the Main Street is a 2 minute stroll where there is a good selection of bars serving food, ice cream etc with plenty of choice. There is not a great deal of shops in the immediate area.
The hotel is an ideal base to explore Lake Garda but the vast majority of the guests were elderly so I would not suggest this hotel is for the younger traveller unless you want a total chill out.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Savoy Palace Hotel

We have just returned from a week at the Savoy Palace Hotel in Riva Del Garda, this was our ‘home’ for the week as part of the Lake Garda tour with Riviera Travel. Right from our arrival at 9pm at the hotel on May 27th 2012, the exceptional hospitality of the staff was apparent, we were given our key instantly, no long queue to fill in registration documents, and asked to go straight into the dinning room for dinner.

And what a pleasant surprise the Maitre d showed us to our table which was allocated to us for the week, no searching around night and morning for somewhere to sit. Breakfast is the usual buffet style with something for every taste, dinner was the perfect way to end the busy days, you could, if you wished have all 6 courses, the first three, soup, salad bar and canapés were self service, but the three main courses were waiter service, these three courses you order from an good selection at breakfast each day. The hotel bar prices were not unreasonable, do try the house ‘white’ and ‘red’ wines at dinner, at €6 for 0.5 ltr they were very drinkable. The restaurant and bar staff were unbelievable, nothing was too much trouble, they were friendly, polite and very efficient, if you had ordered something and then found you would have preferred something else, they would offer to change it without hesitation. Every evening was a delight, finished of with a nightcap in the large bar / lounge to the sound of gentle live music.

Two more bonuses worth noting, “Tea and Cakes” every afternoon in the bar or on the terrace (no charge) and happy hour in the bar 5pm-6pm, although the excellent day tours with Riviera mean you don’t get back most days to take advantage of these little extras.

The hotel is Perfectly located just a short walk from the lake side path which takes you to the centre of stunning Riva in a 20 minute gentle walk. This hotel could not be faulted, our room (335) was large well equipped with great views of the mountains. To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Savoy Palace, Riva del Garda - hadn't realised there are TWO Savoy Palace Hotels on Lake Garda, this one at Riva and another at Gardone. The hotel was situated a few minutes walk from Lake Garda, but not ON the lake. Very nice location, hotel was very clean, good choice of food at meal times, and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. The gardens are immaculate, and my room was well appointed and clean. About a 20 minute walk to old Riva which offers boat trips down the lake, and a wealth of shops.

Can certainly recommend this hotel and all the excursions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvieRoseChinnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Savoy Palace Hotel during our holidays.
We've travelled with the Fenn Holiday Agency and we've been really satisfied with it.
We've been pleasantly welcomed by the entire staff. The rooms were very comfortable, just like the wellness area, thanks to which we could have a sauna or an hydromassage any time we wanted.
Breakfast was rich and of high quality.
My wife and I are vegetarians, but it hasn't been a problem, since we have been treated carefully and served with very good and nicely decorated meals.
Waiters have been very kind and always at our service.
We've been really happy about our holiday and we hope to go back there next year. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
608 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing