We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a great week at this hotel. Rooms cleaned and new towels on a daily basis. Food was of an excellent standard. Located about 20 minutes brisk walk from the centre. Although quiet in May there were plenty of bars and restaurants to chose from. Travelling on the ferry is a great way of getting around and seeing the various villages. They seem to always run to time. On arrival we got the shuttle bus from the airport to the bus/rail station which was about a 10 minute ride then from there we caught the 162 bus (6Euros) which was about 2hr15min journey to Rival Del Garda.

Room Tip: We were in room 515 on the 5th floor which had a nice view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enfys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We found the hotel to be clean and in good condition, we had a lake view on the 5th floor,which was rather expensive when you consider the view of the lake is easily 500 yards away, and over the top of several other buildings, so there is a good view but it is rather distant. In addition this side of the hotel gets a very strong and very cold wind from the lake, so we could not make use of the balcony or leave a door open for ventilation. This may improve in the Summer, as our stay was in May. In retrospect a room overlooking the pool would have been preferential, cheaper,and also would have got the morning sun. Our room was large with a nice bathroom, toiletries and bathrobes. There is a large terrace immediately under the room and although the weather was not often warm enough, there was enough noise even from 5 floors down from one or two inconsiderate groups to cause annoyance.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good, plentiful and with good choices, served by waiters in the evening, and with a salad buffet too. Breakfast was also buffet style with a reasonable choice of food. One criticism would be that the plates were inevitably cold, even on the hot breakfast buffet, which meant that the food was cold as soon as it hit the plate. Hot plates would have been a real improvement to our breakfast.
There is complimentary tea and cake in the afternoon,which is a nice touch.
The guests are predominantly mature aged people in touring groups, and the service at dinner seemed quite good if you were in a group. We had travelled independently and were left on two evenings with no service at all until we complained, even after that the service was not really satisfactory, we were left awaiting our main course after the groups had been served deserts and left. As we were on holiday it did not cause undue stress, but was irritating.
After dinner there was usually some sort of complimentary cocktail and a pianist playing in the lounge, a bit samey but the lounge was soon full, so obviously it is popular.
Our room was cleaned well and quickly every day and bed/towels changed daily. We had a minibar and kettle, we had to buy our own milk as only cream was supplied,but we were able to keep it in the minibar after checking with reception.
The hotel is quite a walk from the town, and there is not much else around, we were not able to get a walk near the lake because of the cold wind. The guests at the hotel were mostly of pensionable age, so we had little in common with them, again this could be due to the fact that our trip was out of season. The resort seems to cater for walkers, yachties and cyclists, and apart from a couple of walks and boat trips there was not much for us to do. Not our sort of place but you have to go to know.

Room Tip: If you like morning sun ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidaylover091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have just returned from a great, relaxing holiday booked through Thomson Holidays and found everything to our satisfaction at the Savoy Palace. We had a lovely room on the 5th floor with a balcony view of the lake and snow capped mountains. Our room was quiet, well decorated, comfortable and very clean.

The food was good and plentiful - the staff in the dining room were friendly and helpful especially Gina, our lovely waitress. The reception staff were also helpful and friendly. We particularly loved the free cycle hire and took bikes out almost everyday - we were really delighted with this facility and cycled to nearby resorts along the special cycle tracks.

We liked the position of the hotel being a little out of town in a quiet area. Everything was perfect and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bonnie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent a week at the "Savoy Palace". Booked through Riviera Travel.
We were very happy with the room, the food and the Staff who were very pleasant.
Mr Tonelli (The Owner) was often seen around the hotel and would on most nights
take the floor with the microphone in hand and say a personal thank you to the guests.
I have never seen that before, and this to me shows what a genuine interest he has
in making sure your stay is as perfect as it could possibly be.
The only thing I was a little disappointed in was the fact our room did not have a bath.
I know some rooms do have a bathroom with a bath, so perhaps if we visit again I would
make a point of asking for one.
A short stroll into Riva town was lovely taking the scenic route through the park, I am not a fast
walker but I was able to complete the walk in around 25 mins.
If you do visit Lake Garda make sure you take a trip up the Dolomites, the scenery is breathtaking.
All in all a great week which I can certainly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor with a lovely view of the mountains and surrounding area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gelligirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two weeks in August 2012, we were a group of five adults and two children. Had stayed there before and the place is just great. Brill staff, soooo clean, fab food and lovely pools. Definitely recommend. Happy hour great half price drinks!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel lives up to its 4 star status, the hotel is average size but the grounds are kept perfect and very clean, the food was good half board good location short walk from centre and perfect for a family holiday or couples looking for a relaxing holiday in riva :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited Riva last june, and stayed here half board, the hotel was beautiful, and the food was lovely and plentiful didn't have any complaints! and the free bike hire is great as we are a young couple and very active and got us into the centre very quickly, (the staff didn't charge us when we kept the bikes out a lot longer than we were supposed to!) only one of the waiters was a bit shifty. But thoroughly enjoyed our stay and there is plenty to do!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $151 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing