We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Lake Garda holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Lake Garda holiday”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here with Riviera Travel (Lake Garda, Venice and Verona escorted tour). The staff are very helpful. The restaurant staff are a real asset to the hotel (they're helpful, friendly and cheerful). The rooms are very clean but could do with updating. We didn't get chance to use the indoor pool or sauna as we were too tired from our busy days but it did look very inviting. The buffet breakfast was an excellent way to start the day (there was plenty of choice) and the evening meals were delicious too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WDW_lover_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    343
    71
    16
    10
See reviews for
438
582
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights at the begiining of October with a tour operator.

Location: 20-25 min walk into the very centre of Riva Del Garda alongside the very scenic lake front. I hired a bike on our free days. The hotel is located in a quiet area of Riva away from any main roads.

Hotel: All rooms had a lovely view overlooking the mountains. Some rooms were overlooking the coach park, others overlooked the swimming pool. All had balconies. I would probably recommend a room on a higher floor for the views.

Room: Our room was clean and comfortable.

Staff: All the staff were so friendly and helpful, can't praise them enough.

Food: Very happy with the food. The buffet was so substantial you didn't need the 1st and 2nd course! Although the buffet was the same every night this didn't matter. Some of our group weren't impressed with the food but I think their expectations were too high! Breakfast again was substantial and replenished quickly.

As for the German tour groups...yes there a lot in the hotel 300 or so...and this did not sit well with some people in our group as they felt they had taken over the hotel and dining room. However, they did not receive any better treatment than us, that notion is ridiculous. In fact, they were probably paying much less than us.

This hotel is a great base for tour groups. A comfortable stay, adequate food and lovely staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor. No lake views at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karma_21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport isle of wight
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was very clean but the food was poor, and the bedrooms you could clearly hear your next door neighbour talking and stooring, the hotel seemed to catering for the German visitors rather that the English ones

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not attached to another room or make sure no one is in it while your staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful pool setting. Lovely staff. Half board varied and tasty. Entertainment very dated but if you fancy a boogie with the oldies to the oldies then perfect! Bit of a walk into town but the lake side promenade is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smellymellyjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just spent a week in this lovely family run hotel. It's 4 star and very efficiently run. Food is appetising - we had 3 gala dinners while we were there (and an after dinner free cocktail or wine)! It's a very large hotel so quite busy but there's space to chill out and a great bar serving a range of cocktails. Live music a bit dated. Nice to see the Manager coming around during the meal to make sure is well. Staff are helpful and rooms are comfortable with balcony - not all views are that great but it is only a five minute walk to the lakeside from where you can walk into Riva - lovely stroll that takes 20 minutes). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as a base for a tour of Lake Garda, Venice & Verona with Riviera
Travel.
The hotel is located on the outskirts of Riva, approximately 20/25 minutes walk into the
centre of Riva del Garda.
The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the main road, thus it is nice and quite.
The rooms are an adequate size, there is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for your
clothes, the bathroom is quite small but has everything you need including a very good
shower and complementary toiletries, We had a small balcony overlooking the town and the
mountains. Depending on the room, some seemed to be a bit larger with a lake view and
possibly with tea and coffee making facilities, ours unfortunately did not have either.
They have a fairly good sized outside swimming pool with plenty of sun lounges, as well as
a smaller indoor pool.
As we were in a tour group we had a set menu for dinner with a choice of three starters,
four mains and four desserts which you chose at breakfast time, these were written in
Italian ,German and English, sometimes the translation got a little lost in English so you
may not get quite what you think you ordered. But on the whole the choice was very good
and the dishes we had were very well presented and very tasty. There was always freshly
prepared soup and a salad buffet available for you to help yourself. Also their house
wine was very nice and good value for money.
The hotel also offers free wi fi and they have 3 computers close to reception that can be
used to access the internet, you just ask at reception for a password.

Room Tip: check with hotel direct for lake view rooms and which have tea/coffee makers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mrbnetherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Savoy Palace Hotel in Riva del Garda from 12 - 26 Sept 2012.

Positives:
Excellent staff - probably the best customer service we have ever experienced in a hotel (or anywhere else for that matter). Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. In particular, I would like to mention our waitress, Gina, who had a permanent smile on her face, and the Head Waiter. It was also a pleasure to see Mr Tonelli at the hotel so often, almost every day in fact. He is obviously very proud of his hotel and this is reflected in the calibre of all the staff, from the receptionists to the cleaners to the bar staff. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
Food - the breakfast buffet was extensive and varied (although the hot choices didn’t look quite as appetising as the cold selection); free afternoon tea/coffee and cakes was an unexpected delight and, as for the evening meal, I don't think we have ever eaten as well in a hotel before. It made a very pleasant change from the usual ' free for all' buffet for a waiter-served 3-course meal to follow the self-service first course of salad, soup and/or savoury pastries. The second course consisted of a choice of delicious pasta or risotto dishes (there were different meals on offer every night), followed by a meat, fish or vegetarian option and, finally, an array of fabulous desserts – and all of this accompanied by complimentary house wine and bottled water.
Outside space - compared to most other hotels in Riva, the Savoy Palace had a comparatively large, lovely lawned pool area complete with separate spa pool. Although not enormous, it was more than big enough to accommodate those who wished to sunbathe (as most guests seemed to be on coach tours, they tended to go out most days.) It was a bonus to be able to sunbathe in peace, without any annoying background music. There was also a beautiful, hard-landscaped area at the side of the hotel where afternoon tea could be enjoyed.
Other guests - the average age of the guests was 60 plus. Although my husband and I are quite a bit younger than that, we were pleased to be sharing our holiday with an older age group who enjoyed dressing for dinner, were very personable, polite and not at all rowdy!
Location - the hotel is excellently situated only a couple of minutes from the beautiful lakeside promenade which stretches 20 minutes' walk to the centre of Riva in one direction and to Torbole in the other.
Newspapers - a range of free newspapers was supplied every day for guests to enjoy in the reception areas.
Drinks receptions – a free drinks reception was put on put on almost every other night after dinner. This was usually a glass of prosecco or a cocktail accompanied by biscotti or sweet pastries.

Room for Improvement (I will not call these 'negatives' as that would be far too harsh.)
Decor - the room decor is fairly old-fashioned and the mattress and pillows a little hard, but everywhere was absolutely spotless. Our bathroom had a shower and, although the water pressure and temperature were excellent, it would have been nice to have a bath as well.
Air conditioning - it may just have been our room, but the aircon was not as cool as we would have liked.
Evening entertainment - although my husband and I are not huge fans of hotel entertainment, preferring to go for a stroll or simply read after dinner, the evening entertainment could have been a little more varied, consisting as it did of a solo singer / keyboard player every night. A band or a group of singers would have made a nice change occasionally.

Room Tip: Ask for a (partial) view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ManchesterJapanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
815 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing