We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Garni Prince

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garni Prince
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights (June 2012). Excellent location, friendly staff, very good bfast (compared with many other italian 3star hotels). Ask for 3rd floor lake view (room no. 324 or any other with large terrace – ca. 15 m2). They accepted small dogs. Room ok, shower, bathroom ok, clean = ok. We paid 80 eur/night (incl. bfast, dog, inet, parking.). Great gellateria next door!!! (wifi connection doesn´t reach 3rd floor – must go down, check out time 9.30 – prolonged till 10am; bfast = missing fresh vegetable…; but have wholecorn bread!!!).

Room Tip: Lake view, 3rd floor = 3 rooms have a laaaarge terrace :-) (no. 324 and 2 others)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamatu049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 61 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

Having just returned from our 1st holiday in Lake Garda, and this hotel in particular.I would say that the review's are fair. What they didn't preare us for was the THEFT from our LOCKED security box, We had 380 euro's taken, spoiling what otherwise would have been a good hoilday.The manageress, and rep paid lip service to the problem, but the fact still remain's your safety deposit box, which you pay for the priveldge, is not as safe as you think, so be very aware, because where there's key's there will be duplicates

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 627KevinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel staff are really friendly and helpful - our room was very big a double bedroom (beds a bit hard) and a large lounge area - the view out of the lounge window over looked the garage forecourt but was very good for 'people watching' ,you could see the mountains out of the bedroom window. The breakfast was very good, lots of different breads,fresh fruit,cereals, yoghurts, cakes, pastries etc. The room were cleaned daily and fresh towels were given. The hotel is very basic but the location is fantastic - there are plenty of great restaurants and bars close by - good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Prince Hotel is in an ideal location for the lake. Not the best hotel in the area but quiet and clean. The only complaint we had was no curtesy room to get a shower before departure. Thanks to the two lovely ladies from Belfast ,Edith and Joan, who came to our rescue and offered us their room to get showered and changed before leaving to catch our flight home. Marina on reception deserves a mention as she is friendly and most helpful. Nothing too much bother for her. Had a fabulous time in Riva and would go back tomorrow. Mary and John, Washington Tyne and Wear.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This hotel is very basic. The rooms are indeed like a youth hostel and require refurbishment. The beds are camp bed style in single boxes. The front of the hotel faces a busy road and is above a petrol station, the back overlooks the hotel carpark and bins (if you're on the 3rd floor you may have a partial lake view).

The location is away from the centre but you get used to the walk. The staff really are excellent and try to accommodate any request but are fighting a losing battle with the poor quality of the hotel overall.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone other than students/youth hostel types I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whateverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed at the Prince Hotel and had an excellent holiday as we were just a short walk to the Lake. We booked with Thomson's Lakes and Mountains and the reason we booked this hotel is that it offered accommodation on a B&B basis so we could eat out where we pleased on an evening.

Our room was large and on the back of the hotel so very quiet. We knew we didn't have a lake view when we booked so that didn't bother us. The petrol station also didn't bother us either as that was on the front street. The room was very clean with plenty of storage space, but for those looking to spend time in their room/sit on the balcony it probably wouldn't match their expectation. Plenty of hot water and a fridge in the room. Safe could be hired for 1.50 Euro per day and aircon was 8 Euro per day, although we didn't need it as there was a pleasant breeze.

Continental breakfast was very good: refrigerated meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fresh fruit salad, cereals, pates, jams, bread rolls, melba toast, hard boiled eggs, cakes, croissants and juices. Service was always pleasant by the lady on breakfast duty.

Staff on reception were friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English.

For things to do I'd recommend a walk to the Bastione in Riva del Garda and a bus ride to Arco (90 cents each way) - there's a fabulous castle with stunning views. Torbole is also a pleasant walk. Malcesine is also about 12 Euro on the bus and there's a great cable car ride and another stunning castle to visit. For cyclists/walkers it would be an excellent base.

We couldn't fault this hotel as an excellent base to explore Riva Del Garda and Torbole because it's very close to a selection of restaurants, bus stops and the Lake. OK, so the rooms were a bit 'IKEA' and dated but it suited our needs for the week. After I'd read some of the other reviews I'd considered changing hotel but I'm glad we didn't.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JocastaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Arrival didn't impress. Not friendly. Room small - reminiscent of Youth Hostel accommodation. Bed felt like it was going to collapse. Just not welcoming at all and shabby accommodation. Not at all good value. Don't know who would write good reviews about it. We spent as little time there as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Spiaggia
Residence Spiaggia
#48 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brione
Hotel Brione
#31 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Maso
Hotel Al Maso
#35 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#23 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Prince

Address: Via Franz Kafka 1, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $79 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Prince 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel setting is one of the best in Riva del Garda; near the Saint Nicolò harbor, the Hotel is only 100mt. away from the beach, the windsurfing area and only a short walk from the city centre, near the shopping ways, the Restaurants and the beautiful walk along the lake. Elevator, parking, garage, bar, TV room . Rooms with bathroom, balcony, satellite TV, radio, telephone, safe, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, WI-FI area. Parking-place guarantee at 300 mt. from the Hotel. In Hotel ONLY on request and reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Garni Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing