We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #62 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were put in this hotel under protest by Italian Getaways when we arrived at Lake Garda. We had booked Malcesine so were not well pleased. V clean hotel. We thought food was a bit boring so ate out except for breakfast. Hotel was noisy; we were disturbed by bogus telephone calls at 3am asking us to go to reception. In the morning they denied all knowledge at reception so how do they get to phone your room and disturb you?
The hotel is near the lake but it is a fair walk into the centre of Riva. The Italian Getaways rep did not provide info on the resort; not even a map and the photocopy maps of Venice provided on the trip were illegible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    47
    37
    28
See reviews for
29
73
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went with an open mind after reading reviews. Hotel spotlessly clean but room (326) was incredibly hot with only a fan not air conditioning. Small bathroom but adequate. Think rooms in block behind pool are better. Breakfast okay - exactly the same every day. Dinner variable but as included by Italian Getaways you can eat out. Have to chose at breakfast for evening and would recommend going to dinner early to guarantee your choice. Fish dishes were quite good. Staff all helpful and polite. Very nice pool. Fifteen minute pleasant walk along the lake side to Riva centre but shops and cafes also very close. .
Went with Italian Getaways on last minute offer - they were excellent and we have no criticism of them at all. Local guide Ambrish was brilliant.
Would stay at Centrale if we went again as position is excellent, right on harbour square.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor in block over dining room. Very hot but you could see a corner of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here last minute. There were many complaints about the rooms and food from other guests. Our room was fine. What I expect in a 3* hotel in Italy. Did not eat dinner in the hotel, as a seasoned traveller around the world we have found all hotel food crap. We found staff helpful and polite. A lovely swimming pool very clean. I would say, we got it for £1241, which was good value for money.

Room Tip: you want room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We should have checked the facilities and comments on Trip Advisor before booking instead of accepting what it said on the holiday company's web site We specifically selected this hotel as it was said to have air conditioning as we knew it would be warm and humid at night. None in evidence in any of the rooms of such a facility but we did have a noisy free standing fan. Food was at best average with inadequate staffing and poor quality service although the staff tried very hard. We won't be using the hotel again - it is primarily geared up for short stay coach holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Grandad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Brilliant location, just returned from a week at this hotel, easy short walk to the beautiful Lake Garda.

Rooms very basic but very clean, clean towels every day, always request a room overlooking the pool, we were lucky to be allocated one as its rather noisy is you have a room at the front of the hotel. Food was okay, when we booked we got free half board upgrade so had nothing to complain about except portions were small, good help yourself continental brekkie.

Overall loved the gorgeous Lake Garda and Ambrish Ullal who was our guide on the tours, EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having read a lot of negative reviews on Trip Advisor, we were preparing ourselves for the worst, but it turns out we didn't need to as we were very happy with the hotel. We got the August deal with Italian Getaways (company based on the isle of wight) and with them we got a free upgrade to half board. We decided that if the food was as bad as it sounded on here we'd eat out instead, because that's what we had budgeted for anyway; in the end we ate in the hotel 5 out of the 7 nights we were there.

The meals consisted of three courses, with at least two different choices for the starter and main. The starter was usually something like pasta, soup or risotto and the main would be meat or fish with vegetables and potatoes. There was also a salad buffet and fresh bread available, as much as you wanted, although we didn't need them as the 3 courses were filling enough for us (and I've got a good appetite!). Drinks are reasonably priced too, a carafe of house wine for 8€. One night when we were there, there was a gala night, where the four course meal was set, and it was delicious. Had we paid for half board, I don't think we would have expected more from the restaurant - I've had a lot worse in hotels and the service by the hard working waiting staff was brilliant.

The rooms were also very good - comfortable bed, lots of wardrobe and cupboard space, safe (at no extra cost), powerful shower and nice balcony overlooking the pool, which was well cleaned every day, as was the room.

If you get a cheap deal on this hotel like we did, I'd recommend it but I suppose you might be disappointed if you'd paid a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evandapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We made the mistake of booking this hotel with Italian Getaways and were told the trip from Malpensa would be 90 minutes - almost 5 hours later we arrived "very tired" so not the best start to the holiday. Don't travel here from any Milan airport during the busy season the traffic around the lake is awful and because of drop offs they use the lake road rather than the motorway.

We were then given two of the smallest rooms I have stayed in - at least you could walk round the two beds that were next to each other on both sides and the bathroom you could shower sitting on the loo if you had wanted to as it was directly in front of it. It is a wet room so is flooded if you use it.

Room 317 the door does not shut unless you lock it and if the cleaner leaves it open your room is totally exposed. We asked for it to be fixed but the handyman was unable to reset it. The cleaner did only make the mistake once during our time there.

Please do not shut the balcony door behind you unless you want to be locked out on it - happened to a couple we met.

Having said all of that it was kept very clean, but there really was not a lot to do so it should be.

Food

Breakfast good choice as long as you can live without bacon and accept continental

Dinner we were one of the few who ate in all week - you have a choice of 2/3 choices apart from Gala night where the 4 course menu is set

The starter is normal an Italian dish of pasta or soup - the volume of which was very good but presentation was lacking

Main course involves a piece of meat or fish, one veg and fried potatoes on occasions the food was not edible - kebabs undercooked - fish in breadcrumbs not fully cooked and the menu repeated on one occasion. Again presentation was lacking.

You have to choose your meal for the following day the night before hand which is fine unless of course you run out which happened one night and if you don't like it you are offered cheese (4 pieces of 2 types) without anything else.

There were some good nights the gala dinner main course was very good, the veal was very tasty as was the trout and hake. Overall the food was just let down by the inedible meals.

Dessert varied

One of the big issues is the lack of staff and time to be served depending upon the volume of people in the hotel.

Staff were in general very helpful and in many ways I feel sorry for them as they are being let down by the management not getting the basics right.

Perhaps if they ventured and spoke to guests in the restaurant rather than stood behind the bar ensuring the drinks and most importantly the drinks bills were correct they would learn what the problems are.

We did not starve as the majority of the meals were ok but with a minimal amount of creativity in menu choice, checking on the meals before being served and effort in could have been so much better.

Facilities

Swimming pool kept clean and good
Bar area pleasant
Table Tennis table awful and needs replacing, broken bats, net broken and no ball had to play with a rubber one hilarious, probably made it more memorable!
TV - all Italian (great from a personal view point did not miss it one bit)
Lounges - 2 one in each building - one in the back building is quiet for playing games
Roof terrace on 4th floor - good for cards or people watching
Nothing for the kids bar the pool

Location
The major plus point - If you are staying in Riva chose this area as long as you enjoy walking to the main town in 30 minutes by a fantastic lake walk. There are many other restaurants and hotels nearby so you are not left with nothing to do.

We hope to come back to Riva as the location is great and seeing the whole 52km of the Lake on top of Mount Baldo from the new Malcesine cableway is one of the most beautiful places on earth.

Room Tip: There are 2 sections to the hotel ask for a room in the building at the back of the hotel as the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
22.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#8 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#45 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canarino
Canarino
#36 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Paradise
Residence Paradise
#41 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Prince
Hotel Garni Prince
#47 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#44 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Viale Rovereto 67, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
Hotel La Perla Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing