We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveler rating
463
206
80
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
463
206
80
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated water beds salt grotto lake garda junior suite evening meal booked through inghams quiet location indoor pool four courses lovely hotel waiter service stunning scenery mini bar garden area spa facilities bathrobes and slippers ten minute walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 765 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2017

Only my second review , but wanted to say what a lovely holiday we had at villa Nicolli. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and every member of staff we met very friendly and helpful. The reception staff helped us with travel information about ferries to Limone, Malcesine and more importantly how to get the bus and train to Verona for a great day out. We used the spa areas and had a treatment that although the therapist spoke little English was very relaxing. The spa areas were very clean ( hats and flip flops needed around the indoor pool area) We were half board, with a choice each evening that was never repeated throughout the week. We really liked the food and the dining staff were really friendly and helpful inspite of being busy. On the last day , they celebrated my husbands birthday without us mentioning it . We had a lovely view from our room overlooking the vineyards on the second floor. As I think someone else mentioned, on arrival the hotel didnt look that special, but it's close to the centre of town and the lake and was lovely inside and obviously maintained well. This is a quiet hotel it's no evening entertainment if that's what you like . Our first trip with secret escapes and would use again, everything they promised with the trip happened without prompting . We would recommend this hotel and want to thank the staff for our happy holiday.

Room tip: Second floor overlooking the vineyards
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JayMozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

We are glad that you decided to write a review for our hotel. Thank you very much. We appreciate that because it helps us to improve and it helps also other travellers to make their decision. Thank you for recommending us, we are proud to hear that we contributed to make a happy holiday.
We hope to have the chance to meet you again in the near future.
Best regards
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a week with my husband. On arrival it looked ok but seemed a bit dreary, they did do the garden a couple of days after we arrived and it looked a lot better then. we upgraded to a romantic suite on the 3rd floor. The bed is very comfy the room was very nice with loads of space and storage with a large balcony overlooking the pool and mountains in the distance really nice, but not sure what's romantic about it ! The staff were lovely especially the reception and the barman the night porter even gave us a lift to our pick up when we left Unfortunately there are some negatives. Firstly why only sell bottles of wine in the restaurant ? Why not glasses. Also the restaurant asked us at the beginning of our stay if we wanted to sit at the same table all week then halfway through the week other people sat there then when we sat elsewhere were made to feel uncomfortable by the waiters !
The rule of not using the mini bar but not providing any milk or water for drinks (if you use the minibar you will apparently be charged for EVERYTHING that is in there ) an excuse to overcharge if ever there was one.
The location is brilliant a ten minute stroll and you are in the lovely town of Riva del Garda. There are so many really good restaurants and cafes here you really are spoilt for choice and it's very reasonably priced. The town is full of old interesting buildings and the churches are amazing. A must is a walk up to the Bastion and for the fitter another climb up to the war memorial amazing views. One of the nicest things is to just sit with a coffee by the lake.
On the whole a lovely holiday with only a couple of small negatives I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Buongiorno and many thanks for your review.
We are happy to hear that you liked your room, the friendliness of our team and our quiet location. Sorry if you encountered some small negatives: we would like to clarify that in the rooms we offer a minibar service, not a fridge. Concerning the wines, we also serve the half bottle with the opportunity to drink on the next evening if you haven't finished it.
It's wonderful to know that you are willing to come back one day. We are waiting for you.
Best regards
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Lovely hotel! Such friendly staff, and a wonderful location. The hotel looks 'ok' as you approach, but don't be fooled. It's a lovely place, with attentive staff. We booked the 'Lovers x 2' package, which gave us 2 hours in the private spa. This was a sauna, steam room with salt-scrub, jacuzzi, loungers, a platter of fruit and - best of all - a bottle of Prosecco :) I also booked a candle massage in a double room. Don't be fooled! This is not a massage by candle-light... This is a massage using candle wax as the oil! Such a lovely sensation, no burn at all, just warmth and a relaxing hour-long massage.

The location is also amazing. Just off the main street into Riva means you get no noise form passing traffic or people, but you're still only 10 mins walk into 'town' - and what a lovely town it is. The views from Bastione were an absolute joy, and well worth the climb in getting there. We arrived with no clue what to do in Riva, but the staff were so helpful that we had plenty of options! I just wish we had more time there!

We booked a Garden Suite, which was very nice. Possibly could do with a tiny bit of modernising, but I guess you'd lose any Italian charm if they did that!. We were on the ground floor, so no views, but the garden is sweet and very peaceful. The ONLY problem we encountered was that the shower cubicle is less than spacious (fair to say my wife is petite and I'm about average!). You could choose to not close the cubicle, but then you might flood the bathroom!

We only ate breakfast there, and there was plenty of choice, even with me being vegetarian. Delicious fresh fruit, as well as cheese and pastries. Even the meat looked good :)

Overall, I would highly recommend Villa Nicolli for a few nights of peace, tranquility and a great base to see one of the most beautiful parts of Europe. Grazie mille, e arrivederci!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SimJB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that your wife and you enjoyed a beautiful stay at our Resort. A joy for us reading your nice comments about our special candle massage and the romantic “Love x 2” package, glad that you liked the experience!
We agree with you, our surrounding area is really quiet and there is much to do: please visit us again for other moments of peace, taste and wellbeing. Hope to see you soon!
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Perfect location within a few minutes walk to the lake. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the spa was superb. Hotel was very clean all the staff were involved in keeping it that way. Food was top quality, we were half-board included evening meal set menu but still excellent choices. The lunch menu was also excellent. I would advise booking in advance for any spa treatments as they only had one therapist.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

A big thank you for your lovely review and the kind comments about our staff and the cleanliness. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and the spa. We do hope you’ll visit us soon again.
Best wishes from Riva del Garda
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Riva Del Garda at the charming Villa Nicolli .

Positive aspects :
- Nice ,comfortable rooms - I asked for an upgrade the week before we arrived and upon arrival reception confirmed we had a free upgrade to a room with a lovely view over the mountains.
- Food- both breakfast and evening meal was very nice , we were impressed with standard of food. Other negative comments on here, re food I can't agree with at all , and the amount was ample despite some people claiming they were still hungry - I have a large appetite and was never left hungry.
- Location wise its 10-15 min walk to lake thru town , we found it to be a convenient location.
- Spa was good standard , we had massage and facials we were happy with.
- Lovely people , Staff all excellent from reception , bar , waiters and cleaners all had a smile on their face and made to feel nothing was too much trouble. All were a credit to the hotel.

Minor negatives :

- saunas were not hot enough - so only spent time in steam room #1stworldproblems
- on 2 occasions after waiting for over 5 Mins i had to ask reception if someone could serve me in the bar - I appreciate when busy the staff all help in the restaurant.
- it would be good to have some entertainment n evening - a couple of nights it was a little cold so we didnt fancy the walk into town and it was a little quiet in the bar.
- Whilst I normally laugh when people moan about lack of English speaking channels on TV , on the occasions we were in the room it would be useful to have more than just BBC world news on, not something we would have noticed I expect if we had come at a warmer time.
- at dinner it Would be good to have the option to order wine by half bottle or glass as we would not drink a whole bottle between us but do enjoy a glass of wine with dinner which we were unable to do.

Tips :
- river taxi to Limone and Malcesine (to then cable car up to Mnt Baldo) both well worth it
- visit waterfall - Cascate del Varone , it is a long and pretty boring walk , in hindsight would have taken bus

All in all a lovely hotel , run by lovely people where I would certainly return to should we come back to this beautiful part of the world...

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Buongiorno and many thanks for your lovely words about your stay.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday and would be willing to return in the future. We are already looking forward to welcoming you.
Concerning the minor negatives, we would like to clarify that we do also have the half bottle on sale. In the rooms there is a full list of English speaking channels: our reception team is more that happy to help you with any queries about that.
We hope to see you soon,
Kind regards
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews