We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, but not ideal for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 - one 13 and one 10 year-old - in August. The food is cordon bleu and the service is the best we've had in the last 15 years. Renato is one of the 3 owners and I confirm the previous posts that he is great, also Helga, Vito and Mauricio but my guess is that it is a high standard overall, these were just the ones we got to know best.

For the children:

The pool is great and we're all keen swimmers so spent lots of time there.
The lake is great too and only 5 minutes away.
The spa is great but it is 18+ only.
The meals are too fancy for most kids.

So overall it could be clearer prior to booking that it's not great for kids, a trip to Gardaland rollercoasters - 80 minutes coach trip - was the highlight of their stay. But we'd definitely go back, possibly when the kids are older and more adventurous eaters.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrismac6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Good morning from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
We are happy to receive your feedback about your family holiday in our hotel. Thank you very much!
It's fantastic to read that you had overall a lovely stay and that you enjoyed the food such as our friendly service. We also hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 645 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

The staff here are really friendly, helpful and efficient. Its a great little family run hotel, very clean with lovely food, good wines and cocktails. It is a drive from the airport about 1 hour but a lovely location for the town. ferry and excursions with lots of outdoor activities. The hotel is not really geared towards children and I dont think the guests really want them either as it is a relaxing spar. The only negative is the strict rules here. Swim hats in pool, no robes at lunch even though its outside and you might be spending the day in the spar. No ironing in rooms or use of fridge even though theres a mini bar. It carries a warning that you will be charged for the whole contents of the mini bar if used for own drinks. Also no tea making facilities. All in all a very relaxing holiday, a great 4 star but would have to go alittle way to become a 5 star. The hotel did run a complimentary wine tasting session that was simply wonderful a must if you have the chance.

Room Tip: request a room at the back of hotel with vineyard or mountain views do not have a room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank smartypants08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2014

Good evening from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
Thank you very much for posting your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We truly appreciate all your compliments about our staff, food and service.
We are pleased also to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday and our wine tasting.
Unfortunately we can't give iron and tea making facilities in the room because of safety reasons. We offer to our Guests a laundry and ironing service and our bar is opened round the clock.
We hope to welcome you again to our hotel in Riva del Garda.
Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Fine hotel but it lacks ambiance. Tour bus feeling. Nice staff, big breakfast but without a personal touch. Rooms very good. Good for a stop over.
Wifi: you had to log in via facebook, instagramm or another profile and share your personal info to use the free wifi provided by a third party. I find this embarrassing in a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms were all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergesteijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our first time away for 3 years-so we wanted it to be stress free, relaxing and beautiful. It proved perfect for us. We were concerned that the hotel was a little set back from the lake but this proved an advantage being a nice haven at the end of the day and the walk was undemanding and flat. The hotel also provides bikes! Riva is beautifully located at the top of Lake Garda where an Austrian influence extends to the north in the Tyrol. There is so much to do and see (even with limited mobility) that our 7 days proved insufficient. Swimming in the Lake was a safe delight in dedicated areas. The Hotel provided us with a card for free bus travel and museum entrance which we used to advantage at nearby Arco.
The Villa Nicolli is very friendly and immaculately clean. Sylvia was particularly charming and helpful with any issue. The outdoor pool area is relaxing and tasteful, although a sun shade, or two, would be a welcome addition.( It does have some naturally shady spots however). The indoor spa was also a delight but access between the outdoor pool and indoor area is not easy despite close proximity. They are probably kept so separate for reasons of indoor hygiene.
For us, there is always an inevitable monotony about dining half board as we like to dine out, but here the menu offered interesting choices and the meals were substantial. If being critical, the choice of deserts could be more varied but overall it was an enjoyable experience greatly enhanced by the local wines (thanks Renato). Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone in a very pleasant outdoor setting. Storms affected both or outward and inward flights causing some delay but this was handled well by Ingham's and our experience of the travel/flight/trip arrangements was generally very positive. We joined two of the many trips on offer, a trip to Verona with views of the lake on route, and a trip to the mountains via Bolzano(home of the Ice Man) plus cable car and light railway with views of the Dolomites. The latter was spectacular and memorable.
This was our first trip to the Italian lakes and we were more than impressed. We are hoping to return very soon and would be delighted to return to the family run Villa Nicolli which we would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2014

Good evening from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
It's always a great pleasure to get "wonderful holiday" feedbacks from our Guests. Grazie!!!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and praised our quiet relaxing location so much.
We hope you come back and visit us very soon.. as you say there is so much to do and see!
Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have recently spent a fantastic week at the Hotel Villa Nicolli for our honeymoon. The hotel in general was very clean and tidy and the rooms are cleaned daily if requested. The staff are fantastic, a special mention to Sylvia and Helga and barman Renato! My husband emailed prior to our stay and advised them it was our honeymoon and they gave us a lovely room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the vineyards. They also gave us a complimentary hour in the private spa, containing Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, with a bottle of prosecco and tray of fresh fruit and chocolate! We added on a couples massage which was lovely and good value when using one of the '30 euro off' vouchers we were given at the start of our stay. The food was lovely and included a complimentary lunch buffet; the evening meal consisted of 4 courses, our only gripe was that it could sometimes be a little slow. The hotel stocks a wide variety of wines, some of which they make from their own grapes. We joined in with the (free) wine tasting on Friday evening and then purchased a bottle of their lovely spumante to celebrate on our last evening. The general pool facilities are excellent, lots of sunbeds round the outdoor pool, although you have to wear swimming caps! There is also an indoor pool and Jacuzzi and upstairs from this a lovely relaxation area with sauna/steam room etc. and amazing heated waterbeds! The hotel is in a good location, it is set just back off the front but it's only about a ten minute stroll to get to the centre. It is also relatively simple to visit the various towns surrounding the lake by bus or boat; we hired a moped from nearby Torbele and went the whole way round in a few hours, including a stop for lunch in beautiful Salo. We travelled with Inghams and the very helpful rep Martyn was at the hotel a few times during our stay. We booked one trip through them, to the Dolomite Mountains, which was absolutely amazing, but if you are considering it we would recommend packing some warm clothes as the snow at the top of the cable car was a bit of a surprise! All in all, the hotel is a wonderful family run establishment, well deserving of its 4 stars, and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_Davies14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you very much for posting such a beautiful feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are really proud that you chose our hotel for your honeymoon and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed it so much! The fantastic description, gentle words and your satisfaction make us feel very happy. Thank you again! We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our ? 5th/6th Visit to Villa Nicolli and after a 4 year break the Hotel has retained its high standards. The food is fantastic with a wide variety and choice (thank you Chef Lucca and team).
The choice in wines are excellent and I can recommend all of the white wines from the Trentino Region. (as for previous comments on price, you get what you pay for) in my opinion.

All staff were friendly, without being over familiar,a special thanks to Renato for his hard work in keeping a busy bar going and still managing a smile.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Vineyard and Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HEALTHGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear Eileen & Jim,
Our special thanks goes to you: for your kindness and for the preference toward our hotel!
It's really wonderful to receive your positive comments: your satisfaction and the fact you are visiting us since a long time ago means a lot to us.
We hope you come back soon! Arrivederci,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had just 2 nights at the hotel before we had to cut our visit short due to a bereavement. We found the hotel very comfortable. The staff are lovely and very helpful. it was a special anniversary and we emailed in advance and our request was carried out for a room with a view. The food in the hotel is above and beyond what we expected, even though we had read the Tripadvisor reviews beforehand. The complimentary lunch was also a very nice added touch. We will definitely book to come back to this hotel next year as the location, service was excellent. Thank you again to Sylvia for her kindness and, of course the Inghams rep Martin who helped us get a flight home at short notice.

Room Tip: There are some stunning views over the vineyard and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Good evening from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort and thank you very much for your kind review.
We are sorry that you could stay only some days because of a bereavement at home, but glad to have made such a great impression on you.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back next year. We are waiting for you!
Best wishes,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Via Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $181 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing