We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

There is no way that this hotel is a 4 star hotel. It is dated beyond belief and the place is simply depressing. We never ate at the restaurant in the evenings even though it was includedasthefood was simply terrible. The location is good, but expect something from the TV show 'Benidorm' rather than anything luxurious!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HotelUserLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Good evening from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort and thank you for leaving your opinion.
We are really sorry to hear that our hotel and the place didn't meet your expectations.
Our hotel is renovated and the food in the restaurant is our pride. It's a pity and we are really sorry that you didn't like it.
Best regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 645 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

A nice small hotel in a good location but expensive, a four start hotel charging 5 start prices during off season. The hotel is tucked away from the main road so its quite however there is a 15 minute walk to the town center and restaurants.
We were told that we are getting a Junior suite, however it was just a normal small double room with no sofa, which was disappointing.
On the other hand the indoor pool and spa was very nice and clean, just one complain, that it was small so guest had to fight for the pool side beds. However once we got settled in it was a very enjoyable experience and we wished that they kept the pool open later then 7pm as we could have easily been there for few more hours.
The breakfast was good with enough choices so you did not end up eating just croissants. I would recommend the hotel but would advice to check the prices as you might be able to get another better hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Room on the higher floors 3 and 4 have better views as there are residential properties surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nitin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Mr Nitin,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and for staying with us in a special celebration like New Year's Eve. This, together with Christmas holidays, is not off season at Lake Garda.
There has been probably a misunderstanding because the room we upgraded you in free of charge was a superior room not a junior suite. Junior Suites are our highest category and you booked a standard room. Anyway we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience and you would recommend us. Thank you again & kind regards from Lake Garda,
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Along with my wife and friends , I visited the Hotel Nicolli in August / September of 2013 .The resort of Riva Del Garda is the ideal base to explore the lake and a bus trip to lake Ledro and Arco are highly recommended plus the day tickets for the ferry to explore the lake garda .Hotel Nicolli is the perfect accommodation for your stay with fantastic food and friendly staff ,the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable with very reasonable bar prices for this class of hotel . A big thank you to Ali and all the staff of the hotel and a very big thank you to the Inghams reps for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have fantastic views over the grape vines to the mountains with an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrahamG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Bungiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort and a big thank you from all of us for your lovely comments about your holiday in our hotel. It's with great pleasure that we read your kind words about our hotel and team. We are glad to have been part of a memorable holiday and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon again!
Best regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the 'Junior Suites', which was very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a huge bed! The view from the balcony, however, was less impressive. We could clearly see Riva industrial park, with steam / smoke constantly rising from some factory chimneys. We also saw the nearby apartment blocks. No views at all of the lake. No mention of this in the Inghams brochure! Food in the hotel was reasonably good, but unadventurous for vegetarians. We decided to take lunch in restaurants in Riva, Arco and Garda during our stay, and found the food to be of a higher standard in all of them - perhaps because of tighter meals cost control in the hotel. Wine prices in the Hotel restaurant were much higher than in many lakeside restaurants. Staff were very helpful and hardworking, but maybe more waiting staff are needed to cope with Hotel restaurant peak times - we waited 35 minutes one evening for our order to be taken.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomMiller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Buongiorno and thank you very much for your kind feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that you didn't like the view from your room, but are happy to read that you enjoyed all the rest of your holiday and consider us a good accommodation. Thanks again for sharing your opinion and best regards from Lake Garda,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Nicolli in September 2013 and wanted to add to the majority on here who loved their stay there. We were only there for 5 nights and it wasn't enough. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The breakfasts were lovely and although we only eat in the restaurant once in the evening, the food was excellent and plentiful.
Riva Del Garda is incredibly beautiful. We saw a lot of the little towns perched on the lake and thought Riva was the loveliest. Plenty to do, loads of great places to eat and drink. It was a perfect break and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Mr Matthew,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us.
We really appreciate each single guest review so THANK YOU for adding your lovely opinion as well. The fact that you enjoyed an amazing holiday and time in our hotel, gives us great pleasure.
Certainly we would love to welcome you in our location very soon!
Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Villa Nicolli in July 2013. Weather in Riva was glorious - well into the 30 degs each day. Hotel was nice and clean - we upgraded to a junior suite which was OK - clean but not a suite by any other hotels standards. All inclusive package was great - we even got a free lunch which we didn't expect. Hotel pool was very clean. Indoor pool and spa looked great but we didn't use it as it was so hot outside. I see some people have commented about the distance from Riva centre. It was maybe a 10 min easy walk to the lake shore (a nice walk) and maybe 15 mins easy stroll to the very centre of town. Riva is a really lovely town and we'd like to go back to see more. Decor in the hotel was in good condition but a bit old fashioned for our tastes. Too many drapes and dark walls etc. Anyway, we had a great time - next time I might consider one of the hotels on the lake shore which I don't think are any better but are slightly better located. By the way - the area around Riva is absolutely stunning - so pretty. We took a vineyard tour - really worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the vineyards. We did but they didn't give us one so be insistent. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyonhishols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Buonasera and thank you very much for your kind review.
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and overall had a great time under the warm summer sun on Lake Garda. As you said your room was a Junior Suite, which is in size different to a Suite (we haven't got any Suites). Glad to hear how much you appreciated our beautiful town and the friendliness of the team.
Best regards from all us,
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent two weeks here at the end of August. Lovely hotel in a quiet area of Riva. Our room looked out across a vineyard to the mountains beyond - stunning. We had done some research beforehand because my husband is a Coeliac and they claimed to be coeliac friendly. They certainly were. Every evening we enjoyed a five course dinner (every course with at least three choices). One of the waiters went through the menu explaining which choices he could have and which he couldn't - most nights a special desert was prepared for him to choose instead of fruit or cheese. Breakfast was again a very relaxing meal with lots of options for him. There were several coeliacs staying in the hotel as well as lactose intollerant, vegetarians etc. Everyone was catered for with a smile. In fact over the fortnight, I didn't see one staff member without a smile. It is a truly lovely hotel. Only downside was the price of the drinks - made the cost of the holiday that much higher. Wifi access could have been better and there were an awful lot of midges in the garden - but hey we were on holiday and in the mountains. If we return to Riva, Hotel Nicolli will be our first choice again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the vineyard - its quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience with us.
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoable fortnight in our hotel and that your husband truly appreciated our special little cares in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner time.
Thank you once again for your visit and feedback.
We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to Riva del Garda.
Warm regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Via Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $182 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing