We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Villa Nicolli earlier this summer and it was wonderful. The accommodations were excellent and the staff was very friendly. The food was delicious. I really enjoyed the beautiful pool and spa. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Mr Tom,
We are glad to receive your short and intense review. A big THANK YOU for staying with us and for your kind words - greatly appreciated. We hope you will come back and visit us once again in the near future. Best regards from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 634 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is a pleasure to report on Villa Nicolli for a second year - see our review from 2012. We visited (with Inghams) last year for a week and liked it so much we returned for a fortnight. If possible, the place has improved! The noisy air conditioning is fixed (we asked for the same room). Last year we said that the quality of dinner was variable but that this was no problem because it gave us a chance to eat out some evenings. Here, there has been the biggest improvement. The quality of dinner is now very good indeed - excellent dishes, great variety, well prepared and served with some style. The test would be if they did not repeat the same menus over the second week and they didn't - variety and quality remained high for two weeks. Villa Nicolli have even produced their own good, robust cuvee red wine, blended from five local producers. It was a challenge to resist for one evening to revisit our favourite restaurant, the Leon D'Ora in Via Fiume (book ahead to sit outside in the sloping alleyway) . Well done to all in family Nicolli, especially Allessia and Renato and the waiters, who work with a sense of civility - but not servility - and a dry sense of humour. It's worth getting to know them. Ignore the odd negative reviewer - whose comments tell you more about them than this gem of an hotel. For the life of me I can't see how you can spend as long as claimed walking to the lake and the town, both of which are a gentle stroll, giving this hotel a calm, quiet but accessible location. We will be back I hope.

Room Tip: The layout and size of standard Comfort rooms does vary. Ask for a move if you are not content as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Good evening and a big thank you for your kind words!
We really appreciate that you took the time to write a second review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your second visit even more than the first one. It's a great satisfaction to know that you also found some improvements in our service and in our cuisine. We hope that you will be visiting us for a third time soon again. Arrivederci from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our third visit to this lovely family hotel, and having stayed at a couple of other hotels in Riva we have found it hard to beat.
We would agree with many of the other reviews, the location is quiet, and reasonably close to the centre of town, the rooms are comefortable, the views from many of them delightful and having the spa is an added bonus. Since we were there last they have made internet access available freely throughout the hotel, but if you don't want to carry a laptop there is a computer available for guests to use. The hotel has bikes you can use for a refundable deposit of 50euros, and although these are great for going about Riva, or up to Arco, they do not have gears, so if you are a keen mountain cyclist you may wish to hire from one of the many shops offering this service in the town.
The main gripe in most reviews seems to be the food, and here is where we would not agree with previous reviewers. In many hotels in Italy you choose what you would like for dinner at breakfast, but not at the Nicolli. Each evening you are presented with a menu of two choices of first course, and four choices of the next two courses. Dessert was always cheese, ice cream, fruit salad or some kind of cake. In order to give that kind of choice they would have to buy in fairly large quantities of each option, which could lead to lots of waste. Instead anything they do not use at dinner, they serve as part - but only part - of a buffet lunch, which is served free if you purchase a drink from the bar. If you don't want to take lunch, then don't take it, but we enjoyed our free lunches. found there was a reasonable choice, and in these cash strapped times they also saved us lots of money, after all, let's face it, who doesn't eat left-overs sometimes! We found the food to be good, if you are looking for British cuisine, or fast food, you won't find it, but if you are gluten free, or a vegetarian this is a great hotel for you, as they have a separate vegetarian menu every night, and gluten free options are provided not only at dinner, but at breakfast too. Our daughter does not eat meat, the waiters remembered this, and at lunchtime they offered to grill her some fish in case there was nothing she liked in the buffet. So no complaints about bad service for us!!
The other complaint seems to be about a large number of rules - but apart from wearing a hat (you can buy at reception for 3euros)in the pool, the rules seem to be the same as elsewhere - the mini bar is a mini bar, not a fridge for personal use, and gents have to wear long trousers for dinner. These have been the same on practically all holidays we have been on, so nothing really to gripe about there. Unless of course you are too vain to wear a hat.....
There were one or two families with small children staying, and although they appeared to be made very welcome, there were no specific facilities for children, so if you are looking for a children's club this is not the hotel for you. But as our children were adults the only criticism we could think of is the lack of a table tennis table in the garden!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Good evening from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
First of all a big thank you for your wonderful comments and for the preference you have set in our hotel for years. It's a pleasure to receive such a lovely review from a loyal Guest like you.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and all the previous ones so much. It's our main goal our Guests' satisfaction. We will be really proud if you decide to come back for a 4th visit. We are all waiting for you, see you soon & kind regards from Lake Garda,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having stayed in Hotel Nicolli last week, I can honestly say this is one of the best places & holidays I've ever had - & I've been to a lot of places. The place is immaculate, the décor although a little dated inside is tidy and smart. The staff could not have been more helpful and were considerate, polite and thoughtful at all times. The fact that this is a family owned & run hotel was a definite advantage. There was a good choice of food, and of course practically any drink you could want was on offer. The pool area was particularly lovely, with the mountains as a magnificent backdrop and the pool itself cleaned and maintained to a high standard every day; the sunbeds were in excellent condition and very modern, and there was always some available - never any need to put towels on them at stupidoclock! The towels for use at the pool were also provided. We did not use the spa facility so I cannot comment on that. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough, and cannot wait until I can return for another visit. If I had any criticism to make it would be that the price of drinks was not always obvious, and it was difficult therefore to keep a running tally, as they preferred you to pay at the end of your stay. The travel reps for Ingrams were also really great & helpful, & often chatted to us when they were just passing whichever bar or restaurant we were in during their time off. All in all, this was a totally wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms have their own advantages, whether this is a view of the pool, or the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireT_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Mrs Claire,
We would like to thank you for your positive review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed each aspect of the holiday so much. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience with us and knowing that you are planning a return trip makes us really happy!
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Arrivederci with kind regards from all us,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from the "Villa Nicolli" and my wife and I loved it. We stayed there for one week and we had a nice, clean double room with balcony and we had a great view of the surrounding mountains.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with everything.

The food was brilliant! Breakfast is served in Buffet Style, both warm and cold. So there was lots for everyone. If something run out, they put more out quickly.

The four course evening meal (waiter service) was always delicious and plenty to choose from. My wife is Vegetarian and can't have wheat and they always had something for her as well. We were very pleased and sometimes they cooked especially something for my wife to cater for her needs! Very impressive!

We can recommend this hotel and we are definitely going to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophnavarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Good evening and thanks a lot for your kind review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you loved your stay in our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine and our Vegetarian proposals. It is a big satisfaction for us knowing that you are planning a future visit. We would be happy to welcome you soon again. Arrivederci from Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wonderful location, great service, superb facilities and food - just the kind of place my family was looking for our vacation!
We highly recommend Hotel Villa Nicolli and we are looking forward to going back there in the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Short and brilliant is your comment: short and big is our THANK YOU, thank you for your visit and for a wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you had a fantastic holiday and that we were able to meet your expectations. We are waiting for you at Lake Garda and hope you will visit us in the soonest future. Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a fantastic view out the back of the hotel across the vineyards towards Arco, truly wonderful. The hotel was quiet and well run, being mostly friendly and instantly likeable. I liked the fact that there was a computer available in the hotel, so you could access the internet for free. Waiters were good if a little surly, but polite and hard working. Would probably come back here, although service could be slow on dinner service, would have preferred buffet and self-service as it makes life easier.

Room Tip: We had room 109 on the North side which was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Buonasera from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort and thank you very much for your kind feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room, our quiet location and the friendly atmosphere.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again when you are next in Riva del Garda. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Via Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $111 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing