We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Nicolli whilst on a Inghams two centre holiday. What a treat. The hotel was a 10 to 15min walk from the lake front and might not suit anyone with walking problems but it was very quiet and peaceful. The outside pool was very clean and Spa facilties clean and relaxing. The food was varied and very enjoyable. The staff were friendly and tried their best even when the resturant was very busy. Service could be slow but we were on holiday so not a major issue. We had a room with a bath and shower and balcony overlooking the back of the hotel. It had been refurbished and was very comfortable. Cleaned and towels changed every day. I would definately stay here again. An enjoyable week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaygal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Good morning from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
We would like to thank you for the positive feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to know that you spent a lovely relaxing holiday and that you enjoyed a wonderful time by the pool, in the spa and at dinner time. Thank you again for your kind comments about the staff and our service. It's a pleasure the fact that you intend to come back. We all look forward to seeing you soon again! Best wishes from Lake Garda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    161
    64
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
397
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just spent a great 10 days at this lovely hotel in wonderful Riva. It is a family run hotel and members of the family are always on site. Good sized bedrooms especially ones overlooking the vineyards and mountains at the back. All the staff from the receptionists, barmen and restaurant waiters were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The 5 course evening meals were very varied and catered for my wife who is a vegetarian. Lunch was also provided free as long as you buy a drink from the bar.de Great selection of wines including wines from the area all reasonably priced. Indoor & outdoor pools were always immaculately clean. Dont believe other reports (ie Biasbowl, the whole of this review is so distorted, dont let it put you off) about the hotel being 20 mins from the centre of Riva, we are in our 60's and could walk it in less than 15 mins with both legs tied together. We travelled with Inghams and the reps Becky & Dany were a credit to the company. We did have a hiccup flying home but that was the fault of BA over booking the flight, but the Inghams reps at the airport got us on a flight leaving 1/2 hour later.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castledrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort and thanks a lot for your lovely review. We really appreciated your kind comments and your praise about our hotel which is a great satisfaction for our daily work. It's a big pleasure to hear that you had a fantastic holiday and that we were part of this. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Best regards from Lake Garda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our first time to Lake Garda, loved this hotel and Riva del Garda. Hotel was perfect size and in a good location, very quiet and peaceful. Lovely pool & garden areas, plus a fantastic indoor spa with various treatment rooms, sauna, turkish bath and salt water thalossotherapy pool.

Short easy walk into the old town (less than 10 mins and all flat) either along the main road or by several access paths to the lake front and along the lake shore. We had a room on 4th floor facing the front of the hotel with great views of the mountains. Food was excellent (4 courses for dinner) and hotel provide a 'free' lunch if you buy a drink from the bar. Staff very friendly and helpful. Definitely planning a return trip!

Riva itself is a lovely old town with a great lakeside promenade and stunning mountain scenery. We visited several other locations on the lake, all were lovely, but glad we chose Riva.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMOrmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Buongiorno and thank you very much for your kind review!
We are glad that you chose our hotel for your first holiday at Lake Garda and are very pleased about your positive experience. Knowing that you enjoyed so much your stay and that you liked our beautiful location, Riva del Garda, gives us great pleasure.
Certainly we would love to welcome you again on your next trip. Looking forward to a soon „arrivederci“, kind regards from Villa Nicolli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited Villa Nicolli for three nights, as a friend was getting married nearby. My experience was excellent from start to finish. Staff went out of their way to accommodate my little requests, and even offered to iron the dress I had brought for the wedding. The hotel is immaculately clean, and every detail well looked after. The large spa is relaxing and varied, leaving plenty of things to try even without paying extra (such as the "cromatic shower" (!), the salt room, or the relaxing water beds). The pool is also extremely clean and well looked after, and many hours were spent on the sun beds, only a few steps from the bar. Everything about this hotel made the experience special - my party was so well looked after and every details so well thought out that I would recommend this as a base for Lake Garda to anyone.

Room Tip: If you fancy long soaks, ask for a bathroom with a tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Virginia,
We are proud to read your kind words about our hotel. Thank you very much! We are more than happy that we have succeeded in making your stay a special one and that you enjoyed a wonderful weekend. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel soon again. Kind regards from Lake Garda.
Villa Nicolli & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently returned form a twin centre seven day holiday with Inghams four of which which spent at the Villa Nicolli in Riva Del Garda. The Villa Nicolli is a fifteen minute walk from the lake and town. It is a family run hotel with basic but clean decent sized rooms and functional bathrooms. There is a nice spa with indoor and outdoor pools. The free bike rental is great for getting around the area. The reception staff are friendly and efficient. What really lets this hotel down is the very poor quality food and the miserable unhelpful restaurant staff. We ate out two of the four nights we stayed due to the bland tasteless food. The salad buffet was the same few items every night and the starter dishes were a warm up from the previous nights main course. The sweet consisted of a piece of stale cake or the same fruit salad offered at breakfast. With the exception of head waiter Renato who was pleasant the rest of the staff were rude and extremely unhelpful. As an example, on one evening we simply asked for the apple strudel to be warmed only to be told that this was not possible.
If you are looking for a base in Riva Del Garda and have no sense of taste and are thick skinned then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the back overlooking the car park you can't open your patio doors at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Visistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Proprietario at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort.
Sorry to read so a bad review : it is always a shame to receive such a feedback.
I remember you and I thought you had a nice holiday by us: this is also what you told us.
I am happy you appreciated all our service even if you rated us with only 2 points.
As regards the food, once again I apologize if you did not like it but we truly consider our food as the best service provided by the hotel. All is fresh, homemade and we are really proud of it.
If you have told our Maitre Renato that you maybe did not like something in the menù he is always available to propose you another alternative.
Sometimes not Italian people do not like our cuisine because it is very different of what they usually eat at home and food, in general, is always very subjective and the risk to travel abroad.
Our cuisine is ligh and healty.
We always try to do our best, with hard work and a smile on our face and this is how we will go on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a two week, two centre holiday with Inghams, and the Hotel Villa Nicolli was the base for the first week. The weather was hot and sunny, and we were given a room on the south side overlooking a vineyard, so the room enjoyed shade for most of the day.
So, what was the hotel like?
PROS.
It is a clean, well kept hotel, in a very quiet, residential part of Riva.
CONS.
The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Riva(not 10 minutes as indicated by Inghams), and a 15 minute walk to the Lake.
The room was small, with good storage facilities, but had a tiny bathroom with poor shelving and storage.Everything had to be put on the floor!
The balcony had two small, upright, uncomfortable chairs but no table on which to put drinks etc.
The room had a Mini-Bar, but according to the rules of the hotel, if it was used for anything other than the drinks supplied, a charge would be made for the whole of the contents.
Rubbish! I used it for storing water in the hot weather which was necessary.
The air-conditioning did not work throughout our stay, despite numerous complaints to the Inghams Rep. Apparently if the Hotel management decree that the weather is not hot enough, or they wish to save money, the air-con is turned off throughout the hotel at their discretion.
Breakfasts turned into a steamy experience.
The Breakfast buffet was adequate but not exciting, and we constantly had to ask waiters to replenish trays that were empty.
The Evening Meal was a curates egg. The Salad Buffet was poor, with a limited and same choice very night, and only Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar as dressings.
The first course was usually very good as it consisted mainly of cold meats or fish dishes that did not have to be cooked. The second course was usually Pasta or Soup (catering pack) and was OK. The main course was invariably poor as it was cooked by the staff. Dry overcooked meat or poultry, with ONE potato or mash, and a small vegetable portion.
Dessert was always the same choice - a dry piece of cake, Fruit Salad, Ice Cream or the Cheeseboard.
Wine was expensive. A bottle of Bardolino, produced 15 miles down the lake was 23 Euros,
£20.00., and they even charged 3.5 Euros (£3.00) for a bottle of water!
Waiter service was slow as they had too few for the number of guests, and to get a smile from a waiter was a great effort.
Coffee was not included, and cost 2.60 Euros for a small and lukewarm cup in the bar afterwards.
We did not use the pool or the Wellness Centre so can't comment.
To sum up then. Location poor. Room small. Food average. Prices high. Service poor.
Would I stay at this Hotel again? Definately not!

Room Tip: In hot weather, request a room at the rear overlooking the Vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biasbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Proprietario at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review even if is so bad.
I am sorry you did not like ANYTHING of the hotel.
I probably think you choose the wrong place for your holiday.
I am sorry but we are not a ALL INCLUSIVE Resort and are not able to give all FREE of CHARGE.
This is a hotel where drinks not included but with a free light lunch OFFERED by hotel by booking on hal board.
Anyway we will consider your opinion and we will do our best to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of May as part of Inghams Northern Highlights Tour. Very friendly staff and our room was spacious and well appointed - we had upgraded and it was worth the small extra cost.

The restaurant breakfast was reasonable, good choices but limited range of cooked items. Dinner was excellent - inventive menu's and a nice selection of wines to complement. Spa facilities a real bonus and the indoor pool was fine for a quick swim, didn't get in the outdoor pool as it was still very early in the season and cold.

Enjoyed Riva and if you have the energy it is well worth walking up to Saint Barabar on the hill side, it looks steep but the path is easy to follow and the views are amazing.

Acro was an interesting place (3km walk) and the castle well worth a visit. The nearby waterfall was not value for money but pleasant enough.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading for what little extra it costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently. It gives us a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time with us, as well as our accommodation and service. We are also pleased that you liked Riva del Garda and the surrounding area with plenty of nice paths in the mountains and superb views over the Lake.
It would be an honour to welcome you back again, hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Property: Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Address: Via Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing