We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
425
198
77
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
198
77
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated water bedsprivate spalake gardaromantic roomjunior suiteguest cardsteam roomevening mealbooked through inghamsquiet locationindoor poolbathrobes and slippersfive courseswaiter servicegarden areamini barlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 715 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just got back from Riva and this hotel which is good but could be better. Comfort rooms are a little on the small side but well equipped with a great shower. Views out of the back are of vineyards and mountains,pretty but partly obscured by large cranes. Food was average for teh first 2 nights but picked up oberr the weekend when the hotel was full of "shoe people" at large international convention. it certainly livened up the hotel but meant some variance in service at the evening meal. And we agree about the head waiter who favoured the groups over normal guests. perhaps they spent and tipped better but it left a nasty feeling. Renato, the owner's brother, was everywhere and so helpful; he desreves special praise as do most of the other waiters. Generally the hotel a very good 3* but not as good as other 4* hotels across the world. The pool and spa were excellent but had a silly rule about swimming hats which 50% of people ignored.
Riva is very nice but a good 10-15 minute walk away so be prepared for lots of walking if you want to get anywhere. Ferry services and local buses were good and the Varone Cascata is very well worth a visit. The trip to Verona was spoiled by a very poor city guide whose english was not good an who showed no real enthusiam for her job. Why not try to go by yourself and hire a guide once you get there. Would we go back. Probably not althought the area is very pretty and the hotel fine. But I missed the sea and a beach; a lake,however big is not the same.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the lake pick another hotel and don't go when there is a convention in town.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Owner at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
All feedback - positive and negative are essential to the success of an hotel, allowing us to see which areas need improvement and taking the necessary steps to solve any problems. However I am disappointed that we did not deliver our goal of 100% guest satisfaction on this occasion.
I would only underline that WE DO NOT MAKE ANY DIFFERENT with our guests: we do not have preference in having business men or couples or families.
I read you wont come to Riva del Garda anymore but if you will change idea, one day, we would pleased to welcome you again and try to satisfy your needs and expectation.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We can agreee with most other reviews, the Villa Nicolli was a great hotel, nicely located in a quiet area less than 10 minutes from the Riva town centre. Staff, accommodation, customer services, food were all top notch. Very highly recommended within a great little town and plenty to do

Room Tip: All rooms seem good, the ones on the back are quiet and overlook a vineyard and stunning mountains
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbySunshine-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
Thank you very much for your kind words and your feedback.
We are very pleased to know that you had such a memorable experience here with us and sincerely hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Riva del Garda.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for a week back at the start of the season in mid-May - we travelled with Inghams direct from Glasgow. We got an excellent deal with Travel Zoo which included a free upgrade to half board. The hotel is in a residential part of town, but it's a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the start of the old town, which although is touristy, has enough locals to retain some decent restaurants/cafes. In the past we've stayed in Limone and Malcesine and although we enjoyed these stays, I would return to Riva first.

The hotel has a fabulous new spa, which includes a steamroom, bio-sauna (naked Germans aside), salt room, special showers and water beds. There is also an excellent indoor pool with jacuzzi. It was too cold to use the outdoor pool, but the weather was pleasant and we used the terrace. The other hotel facilities were as expected.

The food was decent. Breakfast was buffet style mainly continental and was as good as you would expect in these parts. A buffet light lunch was free if you purchased a drink, the offerings at lunch were again as expected. Drinks were not too expensive, I think a glass of cava was e3.5 and a bottle of water was e1.50. Dinner was all table service, which makes a nice change from buffet offerings. With four courses on offer, some of the portion sizes were small, particularly the meat/fish course - this is typically Italian and after adjusting to this, it suited us perfectly. On average there were 3/4 choices per course and if you had special requirements, they would try to accommodate within reason. Wine was expensive e20+ per bottle, we tended to have beer. There was also a decent local cheese trolly which.

On arrival we were upgraded to a mini-suite which was located on the top floor in the corner, I presume was because we were travelling with our 5 month old! This was kind as it provided us with a small lounge where he would sleep, allowing us to sit on the balcony in peace with a glass of wine after dinner. The bathroom was modern and large with a shower only. The room itself could have done with some modernisation but it was functional and suited us.

With having the baby we did not travel too far, but we did manage the following:
-Trip to Arco. The market was there during our visit, which detracted from our view of the town. The gardens are said to be nice, but this is exactly where the trailers were located, so did not get to appreciate it. Also my wife's jacket was stolen at the bus stop when we waited to come back. Thankfully nothing in it, but this clouded out view of the small town.
-Walk along the front to Torbole. Very pleasant 1 hour walk each way along the shore, which should be tackled in the mornings as the winds get up in the afternoon and make it more challenging.
-Walk up to the Bastion. This starts off the main the road around the lake, up behind the main square. I managed the buggy up to the view point was hard work at points, but worth it. The cafe at the top is reasonably priced.
-Boat trip to Malcesine. We were married here back in 2007, so a trip back to the castle with our son to relive the experience was good.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor are best for views. We stayed at the front of the hotel, 3rd floor in older building and 3rd/4th floor in new building should be decent.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AlwaysOffSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Manager at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort. We are happy to know that you liked the surroundings of Riva del Garda and that you enjoyed our spa most of all. Regarding the food we trustly consider our cuisine very fine and Italian which is somenthing good because we are in Italy and we love Italian food starting from breakfast to Dinner time!! :)

We are pleased that you appreciated the special upgrade to a Juniorroom in order to give you some more space with your baby.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Spent a week here - late booking in August 2011. Riva is a super destination - despite the large number of tourists it still feels a 'lived in' town.
Easy to get about - the whole town is easily walkable and local buses can take you to nearby gems such as Arco and Roveretto.
The hotel was very friendly , the food excellent with the addition of a 'free' lbuffet lunch in the garden (Compulsory drink purchase).
Wine was expensive with little under E20 a bottle.
If you ate later, as we did , you were at the mercy of the Head Waiter for the length of wait to order and get your food - he heavily favoured some guests and ignored others. Super service on his night off.
The hotel is situated in a quiet residentail area , those at the back of the hotel have views accross vineyards to the mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have good views and are quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Passenger809713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelRivaDelGarda, Manager at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor!
We are so happy and pleased you enjyed you stay by us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
As regards the head waiter of 2011.. . he does not work by us anymore!!!

We look forward to see you again in Riva del Garda.
Have a nice summertime,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Hotel Villa Nicolli booked with Inghams.What an Excellent Hotel this isl! All the staff were very good,nothing was too much trouble for them,the rooms were spacious and kept spotlessly clean,the food was very good with lots of options on the menu.We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Riva.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank roseynosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort! Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found every aspect of the hotel to be so positive.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future for another wonderful stay in Riva del Garda.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews