We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Miravalle
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Can't praise this place highly enough. Fantastic value for money, spacious room, squeaky clean, great facilities and super friendly staff. Definitely recommend and can't wait to return to the beautiful Riva del Garda - magical!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 234 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

We met a couple on another vacation and they recommended Riva on Lake Garda. We found this hotel on Tripadvisor and thought it was perfect. We has a great view of the lake, a short walk to the Piazza and shops. The room was comfortable with lush featherbeds. Breakfast is included; they have the best bakery and a nice buffet with a wide variety to choose from.
There is a lovely pool but we were there to early in the season to enjoy it. We felt very relaxed staying here. We will keep it in mind if we get to this area again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators. They ding very loudly on arrival on your floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I am an elderly lady who travels solo and I recently returned from a 3 week holiday in Italy. I saved my favourite town, Riva del Garda, for my last four nights in Italy. I first stayed there in 1998 when by chance I selected a family-run hotel named Miravalle, from an Internet listing. As I walked up the drive way of Hotel Miravalle on that occasion, I immediately loved the plants and garden along the drive and the hotel's pale pink exterior walls. The receptionist at that time was wonderful and the family managers were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them, so I left there with very good impressions.

I have travelled back to Italy several times since that occasion and I always stay for awhile at this hotel, now named Hotel Villa Miravalle. One family member has now retired, but I was delighted to find that all the hotel's appealing characteristics have been maintained by Michele, his father Paolo and also another young man, Damiano, who was previously unknown to me. The ladies who were in charge of the breakfast area were efficient and helpful, likewise the staff who were involved with evening meal in the Restaurant.

On that first stay at Miravalle, my room was upstairs and I loved looking up at the mountains, which were so close, some with snow on the top. My home State in Australia does not have snow. The paintings on the walls were very appealing to me and I have loved this hotel, ever since my holiday there in 1998. The present out-door eating areas and their surrounding garden plants are beautiful and a swimming pool has been an additional attraction. Over the last few years an elevator has also been installed, which is a welcome asset.

This year my bedroom for the four nights that I was there, was especially lovely. The furniture was cream and in traditional Queen Anne style. The patterned curtains looked just right, the bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size and sparkling white. Watercolour paintings of roses on the main wall were perfect additions. A small balcony overlooked the front carpark, but it caused no noise problems and I could also admire the mountain scenery in the background. Staff members who attended to the bedroom were unobtrusive and efficient.

The self-serve buffet breakfasts near the open area, are very generous in variety and quantity. The dining area/restaurant has an intimate atmosphere, with subtle lighting and is very attractive. The food is top class and well presented, so I enjoyed indulging myself by dining there on the last evening before travelling back to Australia.

From the hotel it is a very short walk to the shops in one direction and in the other it is downhill to the lake, its ferries, town centre and buildings. I spent my days walking around these areas, eating gelati and noticing all the upgrades which have been undertaken since my previous visit and always finding something new.

I can happily recommend Hotel Villa Miravalle as a perfect base for a lovely holiday and I hope that one day I shall be back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank deput2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a lovely Hotel everything was spot on.
Breakfast was included which was fine.
We liked the free Car Park.
We stayed for two nights and it was just enough .Sept 27th 28th.
Location just a 5 minute walk to the Harbour and Restaurants.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which they provideed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OMG744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I travelled through Italy by train so we need to plan ahead. We booked in to this delightful hotel without much prior knowledge of what to expect. We were so pleasantly surprised. The hotel is ideally located to the lake, the shops and restaurants. We had a Junior Suite on the ground floor which was excellent value. The breakfast was included, free wifi and all the staff were most helpful and friendly. It was April and too cold for the pool

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brighton-Boomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the centre of the town. The pool and garden area are very cosy. We were assigned a very comfortable junior suite. The restaurant has a magic atmosphere, the food is good and the price correct. The breakfast also is good and well supplied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YdeGomera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The best things about the Hotel Miravalle were the location, the wonderful restaurant and the lovely pool. The grounds were very nice and added to the experience. We also had a small view of the lake and a tiny balcony, which were great.

The room was good, but not great. We had to do a little rearranging of the furniture to accommodate our two carry on bags and two roll aboard bags. When I asked the desk person for a folding luggage rack to place one of our bags on, we told me that the hotel had no such thing. OK then.

When we walked in to the room the smell of cigarette smoke was obvious, but the desk came immediately and ascertained that the AC was blowing in the smoke smell from outside, and they did a few things to mask and eliminate they smell. I was satisfied.

Linens and towels were nice.

The food in the restaurant was utterly delicious, and breakfast was good. The dinner was a bit on the high end side, but certainly worth the price. Very good food.

The restaurant and bar had a bit of a clubby atmosphere and if you like that sort of thing, it would be a bonus. We are quiet and shy so it didn't mean much to us, but outgoing or returning guests seemed to really enjoy it all.

Good hot water and good water pressure in shower.

Good parking arrangement.

We found both young men who worked the desk for the three nights we were there to be adequate. They could have been friendlier, and during our arrival, the young man at the desk told us to come back at three, but he did not offer to take our bags, which we were obviously carrying. We locked them in the car until we came back, but felt this could have been handled a lot better. However, that's travel and it didn't spoil anything for us. Just a hint for the future if management is reading this.

At that point the young man did recommend a good restaurant for a casual lunch, so we were happy enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WesternPADebkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
#19 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Paradise
Residence Paradise
#41 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Miravalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Miravalle

Address: Via Monte Oro 9, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#27 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $107 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Miravalle 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Miravalle, My name is Michele Marchi Vidi, and I am the owner of the Hotel Villa Miravalle. It is with great pleasure that I recount the centuries-old tradition of this hotel, which for four generations has been managed by my family, having been created in the early 1900s by my great-grandparents. Time has not eroded the antique fascination of the late nineteenth-century villa nor the enchanting beauty of the gardens, with their centuries-old palms and olive trees, or the elegant comfort of the spacious terrace dotted with citrus trees and climbing plants in a variety of hues. The imposing building nestles undisturbed among the ancient medieval walls which surround the historic centre of Riva del Garda, giving splendid views of the placid waters of the lake, known in ancient times as Lake Benaco. A similar spell is cast by the works of Aldo Raimondi, a distinguished painter who was a regular visitor to the Villa during the 1940s. His works are displayed in the Hall of the Hotel, and document many of the aspects of life in the Villa, and offer glimpses of the building from different perspectives. The long history of the Villa goes hand in hand with another splendid moment: the opening of the Villetta Annessa restaurant, which was modelled on the famous "Girarrosto" restaurant which in the 1960s was awarded a Michelin star. The recent renovation of the Villa underlines a passion that has never abated and a strong desire to create an atmosphere of serenity in which guests can enjoy the familiar smells of meat grilling in the enormous fireplace and the delicate scents of the flowers wafting in from the gardens. The Hotel is close to a number of sporting facilities in the Basso Sarca valley for the delight of cyclists, climbers and other sporting enthusiasts. The Villa has its own vital energy, and its long history and unique atmosphere are jealously guarded as if in a casket, which we will be delighted to open for our guests so that they can add their own memories. I hope to see you soon! Michele ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Miravalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miravalle Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing