We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We had a great holiday in Riva and our stay in this hotel added to the experience. From our arrival at the reception everything was excellent. We were half board and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The head waiter and his staff were friendly and ensured your requests were catered for. It was refreshing to have your meal served instead of self service. Our room was clean and spacious with a lovely view of the surrounding hills and a partial view of the lake. Although it was facing the main road the double windows ensured that we were not disturbed at night. The swimming pool area was clean and a great place to relax. The hotel is well placed for all the local amenities. Only thing I would change is air conditioning in the rooms it was on at set times and I would have liked to have some control over it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parrot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Good afternoon,

we write only now to this old review because in the past was not a rule
from us to give a reply.

Years are passed and a lot is changed in the Liberty.
This winter we will refurbish some rooms, please
keep in touch with us on our website.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    438
    201
    76
    40
See reviews for
120
634
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have just returned from a great trip to Riva. The hotel is in a great location a short walk from the shops and restaurants, the pool area was lovely - though not serviced by any staff for food, drink or life guards.
I used the Spa on a number of occasions and it was Fabulous!! Excellent treatments by professional staff.
The rooms were very spacious if a little outdated and the aircon was on all the time. The standard of cleanliness was high throughout the hotel.
the only problem really was the food - the breakfast was bland with klittle choice and the evening meals reminded me of school dinners - needless to stay we just ate out!
All of the staff in the hotel were pleasant, courteous and would help you in anyway they could.
We would stay there again on a room only basis.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marjandhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Good afternoon,

we write only now to this old review because in the past was not a rule
from us to give a reply.

Years are passed and a lot is changed in the Liberty.
This winter we will refurbish some rooms, please
keep in touch with us on our website.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Having been to Italy many times we knew that 4 star Italian was not going to be 4 star UK standard. This is a typical Italian ' Grand ' hotel. Would have been a palace 100 years ago. The main hotel spaces are very nice indeed. High celings with chandeliers and obviously recently decorated to a high standard. Spotlessly clean everywhere. The bedrooms are spacious but are lacking in hanging space and in particular drawer space. Having paid for an upgrade we were very dissapointed with our 1st room. No view worth looking at, 3 small drawers for 2 people and twin beds, having asked for a double. A quick moan to reception and we were shown a very similar, but slightly larger room. We declined this as it was not worth moving everything , having unpacked. 10 minutes later we were shown to room 103....different class. Huge room with much more in the way of hanging and drawer space. In addition, a massive balcony with 3 sunbeds and a table and chairs. Sorted.
As stated previously everything in this hotel is spotless, even high up top shelves in the bedroom passed the old dust free finger test.
The staff are fantastic. They would literally do anything to make your stay pleasant. Nothing is too much trouble.
The location of this hotel in Riva del Garda is unsurpassed , a 5 minute stroll takes you into the centre or to the harbour area. This is a real bonus.
Sadly the only let down was the food. We were booked 1/2 board. B/fast was ok despite stale bread being mixed in with the daily fresh bread on the buffet table.
Dinner was very poor in our opinion. Luke warm soups followed by some very dubious dishes usually coated in thick congeeled cheesy substances or if you were really unlucky cheese sauce which was actually no more than a tasteless corn flour goo. The menus lacked any imagination and in general the food was poor. Deserts with fruit salads from a tin....why ? This is Italy !!!! To add insult to our injury, after day 1 everyone on half board is asked at b/fast to choose what they are having for dinner that evening from a menu placed on your breakfast table. What a silly , cost cutting and pathetically stupid idea. Who wants to decide at b/fast time what they fancy for dinner.
Despite having booked half board we ate out on our last 2 nights and had fabulous inexpensive meals down at the lake harbour.
Food aside, this is a great hotel to stay at in Riva....just book bed and breakfast and you will be happy .
Riva del Garda itself is a most wonderful place and we will return B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Good afternoon,

we write only now to this old review because in the past was not a rule
from us to give a reply.

Years are passed and a lot is changed in the Liberty.
This winter we will refurbish some rooms, please
keep in touch with us on our website.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Hotel is beautiful. The SPA is very good.
No free Internet. The paid WiFi is only in the lobby.
Breakfast is OK. But not thrilling. One of the staff members was very unpleasant upon my arrival, but the rest were very helpful and kind. There are indoor and outdoor small pools.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alantl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Good afternoon,

we write only now to this old review because in the past was not a rule
from us to give a reply.

Years are passed and a lot is changed in the Liberty.
This winter we will refurbish some rooms, please
keep in touch with us on our website.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We visited the Grand Hotel Liberty Riva del Garda on june 22nd 2010 for a week with The Travel Department. This gorgeous 4* Hotel in the picturesque town of Riva del Garda lives up to its promise. Two beautiful 1910 buildings with a wonderful pool and garden in the centre - we stayed in a superior room - upgrade was only €39 extra per person for the week - fantastic value considering our room was huge with two big windows overlooking the pool and the beautiful terrace where we had our breakfast. The staff are fantastic - nothing was too much trouble especially Sammy who looked after our room - customer care is obviously a priority in the hotel. It's situated 5 minutes walk to the waterfront, where, to the right is the centre of the town and to the left is a beautiful park and beach area for swimming. the food was very good, we were on half-board with breakfast and dinner. The pasta was sensational. We rate this hotel as being one of the very best we have ever stayed in - it possesses ' OUR WOW FACTOR '

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanDublin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Good afternoon,

we write only now to this old review because in the past was not a rule
from us to give a reply.

Years are passed and a lot is changed in the Liberty.
This winter we will refurbish some rooms, please
keep in touch with us on our website.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

On the ground floor this hotel is very nice and modern and is up to the 4 star rating, on going to the first floor the carpet in the corridor is old and worn threadbare in places. The staff at this hotel are extremely polite and endeavour to help in any way they can, especially the dining room staff. The food quality was poor initially but improved daily to a good standard at the end. The bedrooms while clean are small with no tea / coffee making facilities, the chairs are dining room type and dont offe rany relaxation, for this it is necessary to go to the foyer. The price list on the notice board puts thes rooms at 180 Euro! The air conditioning was off until our last day but it went off that night, requests were made to staff but I was told policy was to start it on the 15th. despite daytime temperatures of 29/30C. On the second day I was moved to a slightly larger room, it was looking onto a block of offices. Windows had to be open to stay cool at night, on one night late music from the bar could be clearly heard after midnight in this room, reception improved the situation by getting the bar to close their windows. Hotel rules state there should be no noise after 10pm The shower in this room had a mind of its own,water temperature would go from very cold to comfortable, to scalding hot several times during a routine shower, reception we told on a number of occasions but no action taken. Despite being close to the lake I dont think any rooms have a lake view.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corkmicheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Good afternoon,

we write only now to this old review because in the past was not a rule
from us to give a reply.

Years are passed and a lot is changed in the Liberty.
This winter we will refurbish some rooms, please
keep in touch with us on our website.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed in this hotel last week on package holiday via The Travel Department. We are in hotel business ourselves so were on a busmans holiday! Hotel was spotless. Beautiful hotel with lovely features re high ceilings cornice etc. Excellent location close to lake and shops. Had a very quaint attic room with beamed ceilings and low double aspect windows with a view of the pre alps from all windows. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly with special mention for the dining room waiters who always gave us a warm welcome morning and evening, especially Kaman and 'George' (George Clooney double!!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Good afternoon,

we write only now to this old review because in the past was not a rule
from us to give a reply.

Years are passed and a lot is changed in the Liberty.
This winter we will refurbish some rooms, please
keep in touch with us on our website.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#3 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Property: Grand Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing